Food Features / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana?

This Dark Chocolate Orange is one of Trader Joe’s holiday items, most of which seem to be on sale right now.  There’s also a milk chocolate version, but I prefer the less sweet dark chocolate.

To eat, simply take the whole thing, and smash it (gently) on the surface of your choice.  This breaks up the orange into 20 individual segments.  Think of it as $0.49 anger management.

I love the detail on the wedges.  The outside has a honeycomb pattern that I’m assuming is meant to look like orange peel.  It looks nothing like orange peel, but I appreciate the effort.  The wedges themselves look reasonably realistic, although one side is left completely smooth.  I’m assuming this helps the pieces break off evenly.

For $0.49, the quality is excellent.  It’s got a good snap, isn’t too sweet, and is shot through with an unmistakable citrus flavor.  Plus, I get a kick out of breaking the orange.  When I was in preschool, one of my classmates handed this to our teacher, and said, “You sit on it with your butt to break it.  Ha ha.”

Oh, the things my mind chooses to remember.

~Makeup Morsels

14 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana?

  1. I had one of these as a child, but I’m just not good at breaking them. Plus there’s the whole don’t like chocolate thing, so I guess these just aren’t for me :P

  2. I like oranges and I love chocolate but cannot stand the two together, isn’t that weird? I get that way with other things too…like bananas. I love them and cannot get enough, but flavor something with banana (candies and such) and I hate it. These are a cute idea though. If they could make one that looked like this minus the orange flavor for us freaks I would totes buy them, ;)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

