Drugstore / EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Eyes

L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Sahara Treasure: Review, Swatches, EOTD

I normally don’t do full-blown reviews on gifts, but I was so amazed by the quality of this eyeshadow that I had to grab my camera, and snap some pictures.

Before I get into this, I would like to thank Jian for sending me this UK-exclusive shade, along with other beautiful things and an impressive handmade card as a late birthday-Christmas/early Valentine’s day gift.  Initially, I hesitated to share my thoughts because I know that most of my readers are from the US, but I think the formulation of the product is very similar across the board.  It’s only the shades that differ from country to country, so I hope my review will still be helpful for those of you eyeing the L’oreal Infallible eyeshadows.

Infallible shadows are a cream-powder hybrid, with a texture between a loose and a pressed eyeshadow.  Make sure to keep the plastic stopper that comes in the jar, as it helps compress the product, and keep it from crumbling.  I assume these were created as a drugstore ‘answer’ to the Giorgio Armani ETK and Chanel Illusion d’Ombre shadows.  I don’t have those to compare, but I’d urge you not to view the Infallible shadows as dupes, but as products based on the same idea.

Sahara Treasure swatched dry

Sahara Treasure is difficult to photograph, and even trickier to describe.  It’s a cross between gold, taupe, and champagne, sometimes cool and sometimes warm.

It’s a beautiful shade, a ‘lid wash’ color if I ever saw one, although I’m sure it would be equally gorgeous paired with other colors.  Over the weekend, I wore it with a flick of shimmery olive winged liner, and mascara:

L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Sahara Treasure, Urban Decay 24/7 Liquid Liner in Smog, Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus Mascara

Plus a pale pink lip:

Prestige Lipliner in Silk, Rimmel Vinyl Lipgloss in Eastend Snob

These are best applied with a sponge applicator or clean finger.  I’ve misplaced most of my sponge applicators (in the menacing shadows of my trash can.  Don’t worry, I got as much use out of them as I could), so I use my washed-and-dried ring finger, patting the color on.  It’s incredibly smooth, nicely pigmented, and buttery.

Prices range from $7-10, depending on the store.

A beautiful everyday shade, drugstore pricing, lovely texture and pigmentation.

On a sidenote, various reviewers have said that the shimmery/metallic shades tend to apply better than the matte ones.

The fact that this particular shade is not available in the US.  US drugstores, you need to rectify this.  Or can every country just carry all of the colors?

Marry me, Sahara Treasure.

Highly recommended.  US ladies, which shades would you recommend?  Must work extra hard on finishing 3 eyeshadows so I can go get another one of these.

26 thoughts on “L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Sahara Treasure: Review, Swatches, EOTD

  1. Why have I still not purchased myself an infallible eyeshadow (or 3, or 4)? This shade is gorgeous! Perfect with a jet black, winged liner. <3

    Also, I used to own East End Snob! I think it was one of the first glosses I've ever used :).

    • You need to get on top of that Dani! And then report back with your findings :)

      I think this is one of the first glosses I ever used as well. The color and finish are pretty, but the scent makes my head hurt o.O

  2. That’s a very pretty shade! I usually avoid L’Oreal products because they are quite expensive here but you’re tempting me to try one of these eyeshadows. They sound really good.

  3. This shade is PERFECT. I think it’s called something else here and I might have seen it but it looks much nicer on the skin than it does in the pan! I’m definitely going to scoop up a few more of these when my shadow ban lifts. :)

    • Agreed! I wouldn’t have been drawn to this if I just saw the pan color on a display shelf, but it’s a whole other story on my lids. Can’t remember the last time I was this tempted to buy more eyeshadows, I think you need these in your life! Post shadow ban, of course.

    • I think it really depends on the shade. People seem to have the most luck with shimmery neutrals, so I would go for one of those. Let me know how you like it if you end up trying one!

  4. I am glad you like it! :D It’s my favourite everyday neutral! I thought I’d pick you and Maggie up the one which is super wearable, AND not available in the US…just for fun! XD Ahahaha

    Oh, and I also sported it today with a flick of eyeliner and neutral Jill Stuart balm-ed lips! :D

  5. Ahhh it’s so pretty! :D
    I’ve been itching to get one of them lately — the one in Iced Latte! Need to get on that soon before they’re all gone xD

    You finish those eyeshadows, gurrrlll, I know you can do it!!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

