Home Fragrance / My Favorite Things

Tart Warmers: An Overview & My Favorite Scent

I had originally planned a fragrance review for today, but somehow forgot how difficult they are to write.  Certain scents require long hours of sniffing and a lot of hyperbole.  I will try again another day.

For now, I think I’ll share my room’s signature scent (yes, my room has a signature scent when I do not) as well as a brief overview of tart warmers.

For those of you who have not yet fallen into the home fragrance trap, this is what a tart warmer, also known as an oil warmer/tart burner looks like:

You deposit your wax tart or home fragrance oil (usually diluted with water) into the little depression on top, light a tealight underneath, and enjoy the fragrance.  These are also great for leftover candle wax; just take your wax chips and put them where the oil or tart would go.

I’m not huge on gourmand candle fragrances, but my room smells of Yankee Candle Good Morning almost every day now.  It’s the sweet, warm, spicy scent of baking cardamom muffins.  Then there’s that slightly sharp note of freshly squeezed orange juice.  Always present, wafting through the air, yet never overpowering.

Oh, and as my luck would have it, it’s discontinued.  Yankee Candle brings their discontinued items out several times a year at special sales though, so watch out for those.

I light candles on leisurely afternoons, and tart warmers when I’m pressed for time.  I tend to burn tealights 20 minutes at a time, which is just long enough for a full tart to melt, and keep my room scented for a full 24 hours.  Afterwards, I let the wax solidify, freeze it for 5-10 minutes, and pop the wax disc out (one gentle nudge is all it takes).  Tarts can be melted again and again until they lose their fragrance.

Similarly, I could also fill the bowl with 15-10 drops of home fragrance oil (and a bit of water), and wipe it clean when I’m done.  With oil warmers, I also have the flexibility to mix scents together, which would be quite hard to do with candles.

There is of course, also an electric version, which looks something like this.  It’s probably the safer and more convenient method of doing things, but you lose the magic of the process.  Sometimes I’ll light the tealight and leave the top empty, just to watch the swirling shadows slide across my walls.

Pricing & Such

Yankee Candle Wax Tarts: typically $2 a piece, but you can score them for as low as $0.50 when the semi-annual sales roll around

Tart warmers: I buy mine from B&BW.  The acorn one is from their holiday collection, but they do have some spring offerings here ($7.50) and here ($9.50).  Again, if you wait until the end of the season, the price will probably drop.

Home Fragrance Oils: B&BW, $5 per bottle

Tealights: Again, bought mine from B&BW.  Apparently, they reformulated the old ones (which everyone loved), and I can tell you right now that the new ones have failed to impress me.  I’ll use up my pack, but would recommend that you buy your tealights elsewhere if you can get them at a better price.  Just make sure they are the kind that come in small metal containers.

8 thoughts on “Tart Warmers: An Overview & My Favorite Scent

  1. I was just going to stick with basic candles for room fragrance but passed by a flower store the other day that smelled incredible. It wasn’t just the flowers but mostly due to the scented oils they were using. I’m going to go back and pick up a few. I think my room’s signature fragrance for winter is BBW Warm Vanilla Sugar and for spring/summer something more flowery. :)

    • Scented oils + fresh flowers sounds incredible, I probably would have stood there forever just inhaling the scents :P Sadly, I find Warm Vanilla Sugar a bit too sweet and sugary. But I can definitely see the appeal!

  2. I love making my apartment smell like food. I have some warmers similar to the Yankee Candle one, but by Better Homes and Gardens. I’ve been using one lately that smells like mint chocolate. It’s delicious.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

