EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Let's Talk Tolkien / My Favorite Things

Arkenstone Inspired EOTD & Tutorial

lash stamps via obsidiandawn

It should come as no surprise that I documented the step-by-step for this EOTD.  It’s Tolkien-related.  It’s glorious.  Granted, I have no idea how many of you will actually try this, given that a) it’s neither office nor classroom-friendly and b) I’m 99% sure it’s not even eye safe, but one does not simply post an Arkenstone-inspired EOTD, and leave out the how-to.  Agreed?

Products used:

Steps:

1. I start off by priming my eyes (to be honest, just eye, singular) with UDPP.  Using my ring finger, I pat the white shade from Electric Pop all over the lid.

2. Still working with my fingers, I blend Sahara Treasure on the other third of my lid, and into the crease.

3. With an eyeshadow brush, I pat Kiwi Rose onto the middle of my eyelid.

4. With the same brush, I apply Secret Weapon on the inner third.

5. Now for the highly questionable and please-do-not-try-this-at-home part.  To get that iridescent flakie effect, I applied Fairy lipgloss on the crease.  Now, let me say this again, this is almost certainly not eye safe.  Here, I applied the product over several layers of eyeshadow (so that it wasn’t in direct contact with my skin), and removed it promptly after snapping a few (ok, 50) shots.  My eyes were fine, but I still do not suggest that you attempt this at home.

Less hazardous ways to add sparkle to your eyes include cosmetic (and eye-safe) glitter, rhinestones applied on top of lash glue, or perhaps some metallic liquid shadows such as these.

6. I was tempted to reach for black liner, but this look needed something sparkly.  I lined my upper lashline with my gold Liquif’eye Eye Pencil.

7. Finished off by curling my lashes, applying a coat of Majo Majo mascara, and tacking on my favorite false lashes in Photoshop.

lash stamps via obsidiandawn

“The Arkenstone!  The Arkenstone!” murmured Thorin in the dark, half dreaming with his chin upon his knees.  ”It was like a globe with a thousand facets; it shone like silver in the firelight, like water in the sun, like snow under the stars, like rain upon the Moon!”

-J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

Hope you enjoyed the look!  Do you think you’d ever try this?  I imagine it would be perfect for  the midnight premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.  Or even better, a weekend trip to the grocery store!

Much love from LOTR-land,
MM

Full Disclosure: Any press samples used in this look have been marked with asterisks (*) under ‘products used.’  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

18 thoughts on “Arkenstone Inspired EOTD & Tutorial

  1. I really love this! It would be fun to try with eye-safe glitter, I think, but yeah, where would I go??? I love that you did this though :)

    • Gotta be the midnight premiere of The Hobbit LOL. That’s all I’m coming up with at the moment, although this is also great just for prancing around the house and scaring the UPS people.

  2. love your LOTR posts, they make me smile and shhh….don’t tell anyone but I use lipgloss on my eyes all the time. I know it is bad but I love the wet look for photoshoots! Keep it up, this was a great tutorial

    • Aw, thanks! And oh dear hahaha, please don’t think I’m condoning frequent use of lipgloss on eyes, although it does look amazing in photos. I think Vaseline is safe though, have you used that?

      • Oh don’t worry I know you aren’t condoning it! I am just saying that I am bad and sometimes break the rules haha. I have recently switched to Vaseline though so yes, I’ve tried it!

  3. Whoa, you used lipgloss!? That’s badass, and also highly creative – great work MM! I couldn’t tell in the shots at all, that’s sweet (and also maybe not eye-safe, but still super-cool). Those are also great false lashes – very real-looking. I’m glad you posted the how-to; you’re right, you really can’t flash that awesomeness and then fail to explain how you made the magic happen :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

