Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Pear Butterscotch Pie

One day over spring break, my friend called me up and asked if I wanted to bake a pie with her.  “I surely do,” I said.  After all, you don’t turn down pie-baking offers!

This butterscotch pie tastes like a very delicious apple pie.  But with pears.  Please don’t use store-bought crust for this, the homemade crust is what really makes the recipe.  Also (and I say this because we learned the hard way), remember to double the crust recipe.  We only realized we were one crust short when, staring at the dough disk, I briefly voiced my concern that it looked awfully small for two crusts.

“How are we getting the top crust?”  I asked my friend.

“I don’t know,” she replied, looking bemused, “Magic?”

I didn’t bring my camera, so I resorted to drawing our pie.  Hope you don’t mind.

Pear Butterscotch Pie, adapted from Epicurious

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 pounds firm-ripe Bartlett or Anjou pears (about 5), peeled, each cut into 6 wedges, and cored - we used 6 pears
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Double recipe all-butter pastry dough (recipe linked)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into bits
  • 1 large egg beaten with 1 tablespoon warm water
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
Directions

1. Make and chill 2 rounds of dough.  Preheat oven to 425°F.

2. Mix flour, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon together in a large bowl.  Add brown sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla, whisking until smooth.  Toss your pears in this concoction, and let it stand for 15 minutes so the pears can macerate (we actually let our pears macerate for a much longer period of time, while we scrambled around making and chilling a second round of dough.  It was fine).

3. Roll out your first dough disk on a lightly floured surface.  It should fit a 9 inch pie plate, so make a 12-13 inch round.  Transfer the dough to your pie plate, and fill with pears (concoction and all).  Dot your pears with butter.

4. Take out your second round of dough, and place it atop the pears.  Crimp the edges together with a fork, and cut slits at the top.  Brush with an egg wash for that nice blistered look.

5. Bake pie at 425°F for 20 minutes, than reduce the temperature to 375°F, and bake for another 40-45 minutes.  Cool for about 2-3 hours, and enjoy!

Happy Friday!
MM

6 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Pear Butterscotch Pie

    • You should have S do a miniseries on dinner cooking on your Pie Bird blog hahah. I was surprised at how well the pie crust turned out! I think I’m done with pre-made pie crusts. Unless I’m feeling lazy and/or short on time.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

