Life & Travel

3 Days in PA

Last week, I took a short trip to the East Coast to visit schools.  Ironically, I left my camera at home, and yet this is one of the few times I’m doing a travel post.  I had my camera phone, but it’s really not the same.  I always prefer to shoot with a bulky DSLR if possible, the camera phone gives me so little control.  That being said, it’s also very convenient, and I suppose that makes it easy to shoot shoot shoot.

So I thought I would share pictures from my trip today!  In the back of my head, I originally planned a pictures-only post, but you know me…I’m not likely to stop talking anytime soon. Because there were so many pictures, I left these unedited (with the exception of the food pictures, couldn’t help myself there).

Do you know what confuses me?  They don’t feed you actual meals on continental flights, even if you’re flying from breakfast time to dinner time.  I’m bringing a lot of snacks if I ever do this again.

At least I had SkyMall to tide me over.  This is where Sauron really got his ring:

Landed in Pittsburgh:

I bunked at the dorms, while my parents checked into a historic b&b:

The best meal I had was at Mercurio’s.  Meals actually, since I ate there twice.  They serve delicious Italian food that seems very reasonably priced from a SoCal point of view.

Everyone at the table was going crazy over the Caprese.  I’ll be honest, this was good, but not great.  It’s pretty difficult to mess up Caprese.

The Salsiccia Pizza, on the other hand, was the best pizza I’ve ever eaten.  The thin crust had the perfect chew, the sauce didn’t overpower the other flavors, and the cheese was delicious.  In the back is an arugula and portabello salad.  I thought it was the only overpriced dish…for what it was.  Everyone loved it though.

They had lots of different gelato flavors lining the front of the store.  The pistachio gelato, to die for.  Very nutty, not too sweet.

I saw this gorgeous cathedral on one of my walks around town.  Must have snapped a thousand pictures.

And one of its reflection.  Probably my favorite shot of the trip:

I have a serious thing for fine art museums, and was looking forward to visiting one while I was in town.  But after walking all the way there:

I did get this one shot of the interior:

And as I was leaving, I spotted this sculpture outside.  I think this is one of Henry Moore’s works, at least that’s what it reminded me of.  Anyone know who the artist is?  There was no plaque, so I really have no idea.  But I’m going with Moore:

And that was my 3 days in PA!  I had a great time there, although I was flat-out exhausted by the time I got back.  Hope you enjoyed that (or at least didn’t fall asleep somewhere in the middle).  Also please let me know if you’d like to see more travel posts in the future :)

Hope your week is off to a fantastic start!
MM

19 thoughts on “3 Days in PA

  1. AH! This post made me so happy! How did you like the schools? Two weekends ago I flew back east to look at grad schools, so from one so cal girl to another, it is a different but awesome thing right? I love the part about the museum, I love art (art history major/nerd). And your food pics are simply gorgeous! Fabulous post :)

    • It was really nice getting to see the East Coast for the first time! I’ve never been, and it was GORGEOUS. I was looking out the plane window and flipping out over all the green trees. Did you have a good trip?

      That’s awesome! So would you happen to know if that sculpture is by Henry Moore? I’m so curious LOL. Thanks :) Had some help from trusty old Photoshop.

  2. OOOOOooo! That must have been fun for you! I love travel posts! Hit us with them!!! :D

    I do love good italian food!! Thin crusted pizza with a perfect sauce topping + yummy other toppings is the beeesssst!!!!! My favourite still had to be in Geneva in switzerland…

  3. Yes to more travel pictures in the future! Eating delish meals is definitely one of the things that must not be left out when we travel! I feel hungry now, no thanks to you!

  4. Haha, S. is actually from PA and did his undergrad at Pitt…is that one of the schools you’re looking at? I’ve been to Pittsburgh a couple of times now, though I haven’t explored too much of the city. S. said he’s never eaten at Mercurio’s though!

  5. All I can talk about are those drool-worthy food pics – OMG!! That pizza looks insanely delicious. Why is it that I always seem to be hungry when I read these posts of yours!? Damn….

    It sounds like Pittsburgh was fun – if you’re going to study there, it sounds like a major plus that you liked the city, and are loving the East Coast!! That’s exciting that you’re going to travel to go to school – I always wished I had done that, but instead I went to school right in my town :( Good for you, how fun is that!?!

  6. MOAR travel posts! Moaaar I say! Nothing is more exciting than hopping on a plane & flying high up in the air only to land a few hours later somewhere completely new & exciting!
    Like Latoya, I’ve also wanted to study out of the province or country even but I held back and I regret it all the time. I want the dorm experience, dang it!! ><

  7. Hi MM,

    So I’m just catching up with your posts right now because I got my APs done with and I GOT MY INTERNSHIP AT A DESIGN FIRM THIS SUMMER!!!! :D EXCITING THINGS!

    But anyway, back to the point. I’d like to inform you that I think we were in the same city at the same time. I WAS VISITING CARNEGIE MELLON MYSELF AHHHHHH WHAT IS THIS. I WAS THERE WHEN THEY WERE GIVING TOURS TO ADMITTED STUDENTS! I toured their Design/Architecture school. But dude, we breathed and walked in the same air what the heeeeeeeck!?!! Oh my dear Buddha.

    I must admit, Pittsburgh is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! The city, the buildings, the cathedrals man omg, the museums, the EVERYTHING! CM is actually my dream school…so uh,….if you’re going there….and if I get in next year……………….holy crapolla sugar cubes what am I even saying? Oh wait…I just read the comments. Oh well, WE BREATHED THE SAME AIR AHHHHH and I’m taking Art History next year too! I’m excited! :D

    Besides my immense life update, I hope you’re doing well too! :)

    • Congrats Maggie, I’m so excited for you! Sounds like you have a fabulous summer planned out. And hahahah I am enjoying this comment so much. We breathed the same air! And we didn’t even know it! I was completely in love with the campus, sadly I don’t think it was quite the right fit for me even though it’s a wonderful school. Wish you the best of luck in college apps next year, and hopefully you will LOVE Art History. Right after taking this AP I decided to minor in it, that is how amazing Art History is.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

