Beauty News / Fragrance / High End / Mid End

Spring Scents From Victoria’s Secret

It seems like the most pointless thing ever, but I always light scented candles and wear perfume when I’m sick.  But why, you ask, you can’t even smell anything.  Yes, that is definitely true.  And I’m rarely cognizant enough to appreciate pretty scents while I’m battling a cold anyways, so really, why do it?

Because….because…somewhere in the depths of my poor muddled mind, I associate pleasing scents with blissful relaxation and health.  Don’t even ask me why, I have no idea.  I’m sick right now, and am having trouble forming coherent sentences, in case you couldn’t tell.

What I’m trying to get at is that scents are total moodlifters, even when you can’t smell them.  And here are some brand-new, happy-making scents from Victoria’s Secret.

One thing I like a lot about VS fragrances is that the fruity-florals never come across as overly fruity.  They always choose fruit accords that highlight the florals instead of overpowering them.  Love is Heavenly is described as ‘romantic’ and ‘fresh,’ with notes of Kiwi Splashes, Dewberry, Orange Zest, Mandarin Flowers, Water Lily, Freesia, Peony, Exotic Orchids, Sandalwood, Luminous Musk, Mahogany Wood, and Ebony Wood.

If you’re in the mood for something slightly more evening appropriate, Very Sexy Touch might be more your speed.

It’s also billed as a fruity floral, but the notes lean toward a heavier fragrance (although I doubt it’s cloying, as every scent I’ve tried from VS sits firmly in the easily wearable category).  Very Sexy Touch starts off with Juicy Red Pear, Honeysuckle, Gilded Apricot, and Fresh Citrus.  The middle notes are Vanilla Orchid Blossom, Blooming Magnolia, White Peony, and Italian Iris.  The dry-down consists of Vanilla Bean, Creamy Coconut, Clean Vetiver, Amber Wood, and Musk.  I haven’t sniffed it in person, but I freely admit to loving the bottle.  It’s so bright!  And eye-catching!

And lastly, something which I don’t even think is available anymore (it was LE for Valentine’s Day), but is currently my lifting-spirits-fragrance-of-choice:

I have a cute little sample of this sitting on my desk right now, and it’s such a people-pleaser scent.  Which means people tell me I smell good when I wear this.  If Bombshell in Love were a stick figure, it would wear a bright, cheery smile on its face and carry a floral arrangement with fruit kebabs.  It’s got tart citrus, watery florals, and a creamy-clean drydown.

So, what do you think of my theory that scents make you feel better even when you can’t smell them?  And which spring fragrances have you been loving lately?

MM

Full Disclosure: A sample of Bombshell in Love was provided for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

All images courtesy of Victoria’s Secret.

6 thoughts on “Spring Scents From Victoria’s Secret

  1. Love the packaging of Bombshell in love, it’s so pretty! But the scent doesn’t sound like something I’d particularly like. Very Sexy Touch is more up my alley..

    • Do colds have a smell? Have I been living under a rock this whole time? o.O
      Yeah, they really do. They have their VS Beauty line and their Beauty Rush line and all their fragrance stuff.

  2. I once bought a VS conditioner and hated the smell SO much…seriously, it was the WORST. So, I bet these smell lovely but I’m pretty much scarred for life against any VS scents. The snarky side of me thinks it’s probably good you can’t smell these right now :P Though, I am sorry your sick, dude!

    • Aw, that does tend to wreck the experience. hehe snark Toya snark! I am sorry too…if I don’t start miraculously healing soon I am going to go on a rampage. Or something.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

