Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Chocolate Chip Lava Cookies

I recently found myself in the possession of one nonstick muffin pan.  After spending a good long week rejoicing, I decided to do the logical thing, and make lava cookies.

“What are lava cookies?” you ask.  Well, they’re muffin-like chocolate chip cookies with molten chocolate centers, delicious warmed up in the microwave and topped off with a scoop of French Vanilla ice cream.  The best thing about this recipe is that it’s seriously easy-peasy.  There’s no need trying to figure out how to scoop your cookies evenly (I have such issues with this.  Mostly because I don’t have a cookie scoop and am lacking in the hand-eye coordination department).  And you’re left with 10 comforting cookies, some of which you can then distribute to your friends and family, who will in turn shower you with love.  It’s a great day for everyone.

Chocolate Chip Lava Cookies, adapted from Kevin & Amanda

Ingredients

10 cupcake liners (optional)
1 Ziploc bag
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar (instead of two half-cups, I used 1 cup Turbinado sugar)
1 large egg
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups (210 grams) all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used semisweet chocolate, use whatever type of chocolate you prefer)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  If you have cupcake liners, use them.  If not, use cooking spray on your muffin tin.  Seal 1/2 cup chocolate  chips in your Ziploc bag, and microwave for approximately 30 seconds.  Flip and microwave for another 15 seconds, then set aside to cool (but not all the way).

2. Cream butter and sugar in a bowl.  If you have an electric mixer, you are one lucky baker.  If you’re in my situation, use a spoon…I promise it’s completely doable.  Add your egg and vanilla, and mix it all up.

3. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl.  Add to your first bowl, and mix until just combined.  Stir in your remaining chocolate chips.

4. Fill the bottom halves of 10 cookie tins, pressing the dough down.  Cut a small hole in the corner of your Ziploc bag, and squeeze a small amount of chocolate on top of each cookie.  Cover with remaining dough, and bake for 15-20 minutes.  If you didn’t use cupcake liners, run a knife along the edges to loosen the cookies while hot.  Let cool completely, and enjoy!

Let me know if you try these cookies, they make delicious treats in times of stress.  Or, you know, weekdays.  And weekends.

TGIF!
MM

12 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Chocolate Chip Lava Cookies

  1. Never heard of or seen these before but I am utterly convinced that they are delicious! That said I have managed to eat a box of 8 huge *almost the same size as my face* chocolate chip cookies I made last week……………… ugh. I am avoiding all chocolate chip things for a while I think. I’ll give this a try when I’ve recovered from chocolate chip overload.

    • I’m trying to picture a cookie as big as a human face and failing. Well…there are those cookie pies from Mrs. Field’s, but do those even qualify as cookies anymore? It’s a tough question.
      ANYWAYS, where were the cookies from? I’m curious hahaha

  2. LOL I would also like to get on this cookie smothering :P

    Those look stupid tasty (as in, you’d be stupid not to eat them all!). I made molten lava cakes once and they were NOT as easy as this, so maybe I’ll do this next time and still reap the gooey rewards =D

    • hahahah you’re perfectly welcome to join! Yes, I suppose that makes me stupid, but I am slightly scared of devouring 10 of these…I’m not exactly health conscious but man that can’t be good for you LOL. Anyways, make these Toya! As a birthday treat to yourself, you know you want to :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

