EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Eyes / Mid End

Victoria’s Secret Come Closer Quad: Review & EOTD

I have to admit, I was astounded by how many of you gravitated to the Victoria’s Secret Come Closer quad in my Summer Collection preview post.  I’ve been so busy falling in love with the bronzers (they impart an unbelievably pretty sheen to my skin) that I may have abandoned the eyeshadows altogether.  Sacrebleu!

Luckily, I finally came to my senses and pulled out Come Closer for today’s EOTD.

The quad comes in a sleek, copper-colored case that practically screams ‘summer!’  I’m not sure whether it’s made of light metal or heavy plastic, but it definitely looks lovely on my vanity (which if you think about it, is really the only thing that matters).  Like all shiny things, the surface is prone to picking up fingerprints.

Inside, there’s a champagne pink, robin’s-egg blue, taupe, and soft white.  The eyeshadows are all shimmery, perhaps not as finely-milled as a high-end palette, but still fairly smooth and subtle.  They’re slightly sheer when applied, but can easily be built up over primer, or when foiled.

swatched dry on bare skin

swatched over primer (Too Faced Shadow Insurance)

swatched over Pixie Epoxy (similar effect to foiling)

I was in a summery mood this morning, with visions of sparkling light hitting rippling pools floating through my head.  The champagne pink went all over the inner half of my lid, while the blue blended nicely into my crease.  Since I was headed off to community service, I toned everything down, making sure to blend everything out.

I finished the look with a thin stroke of L’oreal H.I.P. gel eyeliner in Eggplant along my upper lash line, and a quick coat of dejavu Lash Knockout mascara.

Each pan is marked with a designated eye area, but I’ve never been one to pay much attention to those.  You could apply the colors as instructed, of course, but there are so many other combinations.  I’m thinking blue on the lids, smoked out with some taupe in the crease, and a dab of the champagne pink on my inner corners.  Perhaps the shimmery highlight on the lid, plus taupe in the crease for a lovely smokey eye.  Or the champagne pink all over the lid, and smudgy taupe eyeshadow as liner.

For $16, you simply have to give this a try.  It reminds me a bit of the much more expensive Clarins Blue Sky palette; obviously, it’s nowhere near a dead-on dupe, but three of the shades are vaguely similar and they both have that don’t-you-want-to-get-your-fingerprints-all-over-me shiny packaging (I’m so observant).  The shades go well together, and could easily work for both daytime office looks, as well as night-out smokey eyes.  And then there’s that irresistibly fun pop of blue.  I think I may try a bolder look with this next.

So, who else loves this quad?  What’s your go-to summer eye makeup?  Anyone else getting Blue Sky vibes from this, or am I just being crazy as usual?

MM

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

20 thoughts on “Victoria’s Secret Come Closer Quad: Review & EOTD

  1. Woweee it looks so much better on top of primer! Especially the taupe! Eggplant as eyeliner was a nice touch — me likey! I actually gravitated more toward the neutral quad. Will you be doing a review/look on that one too? :D

    • Yup, amazing what a little TFSI/UDPP can do isn’t it? I love that L’oreal liner so much, I should really wear it more. Uh huh, haven’t touched that one yet (seriously what is wrong with me), but I will put that on the to-do list. Just for you, Maggie :P

    • Yes, the summer collection is available both in-store and online, so you should definitely give it a swatch if you have a VS store nearby :) Let me know what you think!

  2. Lovely palette.

    Your suggestion of blue on lid and taupe in crease is lovely. I just tried the combo using some Missha eyeshadows last week.

  3. I love the way this looks on you, MM, the blue and the way you applied it is so darn summery! I’m not sure this palette would be for me, it’s more cool than I normally wear and the aqua shade would probably look gaudy on my darker skin – but I can totally see why everyone is loving it! It’s got a great mix of shades, and for $16?! Why not!!??

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

