My Favorite Things

Traveling Tales: Flight Favorites

Greetings!  In case you’re wondering where I’ve run off to, I’m halfway across the globe, sitting underneath an air conditioning vent and guzzling water like a…I don’t know.  What guzzles water?

I’ll be in Taiwan until the end of June, and as you can probably tell from these pictures, I’m still trying to figure out my photo setup here. It should be my priority, right? But in the past less-than-24-hours, I chose to go a-hauling instead.  In my defense, I packed for this trip in an hour and forgot a huge chunk of essentials.  More on that tomorrow.  Today is all about my beauty routine on 12 hour flights.

First off, credit where credit is due.  I wouldn’t have thought to do any of this without this video from the brilliant Lisa Eldridge:

 

If you haven’t seen this video already, you must watch it.  Considering the fact that my skin almost always reacts negatively to plane travel, I was very pleased to find it glowy and practically flaw-free this morning (I’ve finally gotten it to revert back to its normal state.  Only took two months…grumble).  I won’t go into all the products that I used, but for the most part, I stuck to her routine and swapped in things I already owned.  What I will do is tell you my top 5 products in this super secret bag (my absolute favorite GWP from Lancôme, über-cute and playfully chic).

There’s the requisite pack of Colgate Wisps, which I talked about here, the next best thing to brushing your teeth when you don’t want to deal with the hassle.  Keep your lips hydrated with a good balm when you’re done, and keep reapplying throughout the flight to prevent them from drying out.  I’m partial to a generous coat of Shiseido Therapino Oil Balm.  Then, and this is the best part, bring your favorite sheet mask in a ziploc bag (TSA guidelines and all), then bust it out on the plane and enjoy your 20 minutes of blissful relaxation.  I have no idea whether or not people were staring at me seeing as I took my glasses off, but that was the only time in my life I have ever fallen into a spa-like trance on a plane.  If you’d prefer to be less obvious, go the Lisa Eldridge route and use a gel/cream mask.

As the plane prepares to descend, I brace myself for more weird looks and sprinkle some Not Your Mother’s Girl Powder* on my roots.  A few finger-fluffs, and my formerly squished hair suddenly has new life.  And finally, lipstick.  Now, I know what you’re going to say, is it really necessary to bring a red lipstick?  Yes!  Well, maybe.  If you’d like to emulate my crazy ways, slick on a coat of Kate Moss for Rimmel 01 as you touch down, and dot a tiny bit onto your cheeks.  Now you’re ready to go fight the crowds at baggage claim.

Off to visit my cousin now, she’s one month old and they named her after me!  I have high hopes, shall we call her mini-MM?

Love from Taipei,
MM

Full Disclosure: Asterisks (*) indicate press samples.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

31 thoughts on “Traveling Tales: Flight Favorites

  1. I love reading about other people’s in-flight beauty routines. It almost makes me want to get on a 12-hour flight so I can spend the whole time primping and relaxing! I’ve never been on a plane longer than 6 hours though–and the last time I was on one was years and years ago, before I would have even thought to do such a routine mid-flight. You’ve got a good one going though–next time I’m on a plane, I’m bringing some of your essentials with me!

  2. OH MY THEY NAMED YOUR COUSIN AFTER YOU? THAT’S SO CUTE!!!! :)

    Great flight favourites. When I watched Lisa Elridge’s video when it appeared on YT I was dumbfounded about how this had not hit me earlier. I used to fly to and back from Shanghai 4x a year and just put up with having dry skin, dry lips, dry hands and horrid hair and couldn’t be bothered to do much more about it. D’oh! Although it’s not like I needed to impress anyone when I arrived since my own parents didn’t even come and get me from the airport as they were at work…I just got picked up by our driver and delivered home where I would shower and then snooze until my brother came back from school! LOL

    I am definitely packing some things to pamper my skin this time I am going home though…

    Have a good time in TW! You utterly deserve this break! I demand food pictures. And haul pictures. Please. XD

    • dude I know, I was totally kidding when I said they should name her after me, but apparently they did LOL. I know! I’ve flown to Taiwan so many times I can’t believe I never thought of anything like this, especially after I started beauty blogging. I definitely don’t have anyone to impress, but when it just makes me feel good to look good hahahah, vain like that. Yes, I think you should, let me know what you pack :) And thank you! Food and haul pictures coming soon…

    • Yeah, it feels good to be back even though it will take me awhile to adjust again! Oh god, I know the feeling. Never again! :D Should I propose that we call her mini-MM? hehe I’m sure the rest of the family will just be like…what…?

  3. Haha, a mini MM!

    And oh, hell, I can’t be bothered with beauty products on a plane. I travel fairly well (S is restless, so I suppose there’s balance) but I travel with glasses and a fresh face – usually just moisturizer and sunscreen and uh, maybe lip balm. My hair gets flat but since it’s short it actually looks neat that way, haha!

    • You’re very welcome! And I have to thank Lisa Eldridge LOL, perfect timing on that video. I know ahhh, she’s so cute too so it’s fitting hehe. Maybe I’ll call her that secretly and it will be our code when she’s older.

  4. Hahaha love you for face-masking (I don’t know the term…) on a flight! I know I would probably stare at you in curiosity. Mini-MM sounds so cute, hehe! :)

  5. God I love that video by Lisa Eldridge and can’t wait to try her routine on my next long haul flight come July. My eye area always turns crepey (if there is such a word) and dry…I literally look 5 years older…so I have high hopes for this airplane beauty routine.

  6. I have a love/hate relationship with Lisa Eldridge’s long haul flight video. I hate that I can’t mimic her regime because I don’t go on long flights but I also love the fact that I have something to mimic for the (very distant) future!

    P.S. I love the Lancôme GWP bag, so cuteee & chic! And I think it’s so cool they named your cousin after you!

    • hahaha well good to keep on mental file anyways! And oh my goodness, I know. I’m a sucker for anything with Parisian vibes, so I love this one. I thought it was quite cool too :P

  7. Wow, I wish I’d thought of this when I had to fly to Germany…or even just cross-country (spent a lot of time flying from coast to coast for college, blegh). I always make sure to have deodorant and perfume handy, for those times when airports/airplanes are too hot, and lip balm and hand cream are also necessary. Blotting sheets, concealer, and a pretty lip color round out my travel arsenal. I *never* wear mascara when flying, though, because the altitude changes make me yawn like crazy and mascara would just end up all over my face! I hope you’re having an awesome time in Taipei, and I can’t wait to see what all you’ve picked up! :)

    • Oh right, forgot to mention I don’t do her going to the airport all made up bit. I travel bare-faced with glasses, couldn’t bear having mascara on during long flights either. Thanks :D That’s coming soon~

  8. Aw I’m so jealous you’re in Taipei right now! About those Colgate Wisps, I packed them in my bag yesterday and thought of you. No joke. :D

    *sending you hugs from L.A*

    • hahaha that’s awesome. How do you like them? Thanks for the LA hugs girl! I could really use some In-n-Out right about now…which I know is definitely NOT what should be going through my head while I’m in Taipei but…that’s me

  9. Have fun in Taiwan! So awesome!

    I love that Lancome GWP bag. And your routine is so nice and simple! I found Lisa E’s to be a bit much. My routines are quite different. For short flights from one fashionable city to another, it’s regular makeup on my face all throughout. For long flights (like to Asia), it’s screw makeup and just wet wipes and a tooth brush. The masks are a good idea and I’m cracking up here at the visual of you chilling with a sheet mask listening to Eminem while the other passengers are either confused or totally jealous. LOL

    • Thanks Liz :D I never wear makeup on flights, with the exception of lipstick once I…de-plane? Get off the plane LOL. Ohh ya I knew they were wishing they thought ahead like me. bahahha

  10. Okay, you should have told me about a flight regimen BEFORE I got back! Man did I look like hell when I arrived in Vancouver, but good thing my dad was picking me up. Anyway, I am SO jealous that you are in TPE! I really miss it. Really really do. Or maybe I just miss my bf. What have you been doing? Where are you staying?? Tell me everything. I want to hear Taipei things. I’m going through some major withdrawal. So PLEASE, talk Taipei to me!!!!

    And drink lots of bubble tea, stuff your face with shaved ice and night market everyday!! BTW, have you gone shrimping??

    • LOL bad timing. Well, there’s an excuse for you to travel to Taiwan again! I’ve been night market shopping, Watsons shopping, generally eating a ton of food…very productive I am.

      Oh, and you must answer my shrimping question please! I’m so intrigued.

  11. I can’t remember what blog I was reading that also mentioned to check out that video of Lisa’s, but you’re right – it’s PURE GOLD! I’m going to use her tips for sure when I head to New Zealand. I can’t wait! It sounds like it worked well for you too MM – love the visual of you with your sheet masque, that’s priceless :P I think you probably looked like a superstar or something; they probably wondered which famous person they were seeing! LOL! Have fun on your trip my dear!

  12. Hello,
    this is my first time visiting your blog and I like it.
    I was in Taipei for few days and I like it so much. The false eyelashes are just great and they have lots of varieties :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

