Beauty News

First Glimpse: Illamasqua Generation Q

Awhile back, I talked a little about Illamasqua’s ‘Beauty Before Age’ competition.  The winners of this competition are also the faces of the brand’s upcoming A/W collection, Generation Q.  It launches September 6, which in the beauty world, means that we’re already talking about it mid-July.  Makes perfect sense, doesn’t it?  :P

The first unveiled winner is Evelyn, 72, spotted at the Selfridges counter in Manchester:

I am originally a country gal, born in Dorset in May 1940. I was not academic or sporty at school and would gaze out of the window and dream of the bright lights and big cities. I have always loved make-up; from a small girl using Mother’s lipstick. I loved those beautiful women in the 1930s and 1940s films and tried to copy the looks. I get such pleasure every day from just putting my face on, and even more so now – thank you, Illamasqua! 
 
I have always been an advocate of using real women for these campaigns and never imagined it would happen. Hooray for real younger and real older women who give the real picture of how we can be transformed as opposed to model girls and actresses, who are the faces of most trading brands.
 
I feel definitely that if you love glamour or care about your appearance then be empowered – let’s believe in ourselves and go for it! I never imagined I would be wearing false eye lashes or red lipstick again and am thrilled to re-find the sense of fun that making up can give you with the promise of endless possibilities in new looks.

I’ll be sharing more about this collection before the launch date, but so far, it looks promising.  I love Evelyn’s memories of makeup, who else used to use their mother’s lipstick?  Oh god, I got into so much trouble for that one…

Images courtesy of Illamasqua.
14 thoughts on “First Glimpse: Illamasqua Generation Q

  1. I really love that she is one of the faces for the campaign. It’s so classic and beautiful, and I also have memories of getting into mum’s lipstick :P

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

