Skincare

Skin Rules: A Brief Overview & Summer Skincare Tips

This is a guest post plus a brief overview, so what do I call it?  Monday mish-mash? just kidding, it’s Tuesday.  And I have no excuse for not knowing that, what with my 3 calendars.

I already talked about Dr. Jaliman and her book, Skin Rules, here.  But I’m going to talk about it more, because guess what?  Skincare is awesome!  And people should talk about it more because good skin instantly makes you feel ten times more wonderful.  At least it makes me feel ten times more wonderful, I don’t presume to speak for the rest of the world…

Below are some summer skincare tips from Dr. Jaliman.  And I’m also including some of her winter skincare tips.  Obviously, it’s not winter, but I think most of this is just good information to have on hand year-round.  Plus it’s always relevant to those peeps with dry skin, or those extremely lucky individuals (like me!) who got stuck with dry/combo skin.

Summer Skincare Tips from Dr. Jaliman

The sun’s UVA and UVB rays penetrate deep into the scalp skin damage the collagen and elastic tissue, especially in the area of the part where the hair is not protecting your scalp. I recommend that my patients use a spray sunscreen on that area. Another good option is to wear a hat with SPF 30 protection. I have found skin cancers (especially squamous cell carcinoma) on the scalp many times during my 27 years of practice as a dermatologist. The UV light also damages the hair. It breaks the chemical bonds and causes split ends and makes hair more susceptible to breakage. It causes loss of pigment and luster, fading both natural and chemical hair color after long periods of sun exposure.

Winter Skincare Tips from Dr. Jaliman

Start coating your skin with a protective cream, lotion or oil now, before dry patches start to appear.  There are some extremely effective and inexpensive products that work just as well as the pricey ones. I always tell my patients to get a big tub of Aquaphor Healing Ointment for their bathroom cabinet, plus a smaller tube for their bags. It does an excellent job of protecting the skin barrier, and, by the way, it’s just as good for preventing dry, chapped lips.

Two other top-notch products in the drugstore are Aveeno Active Naturals Stress Relief Body Moisturizing Lotion and Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy Skin Protectant Lotion. For those who want the simplest possible approach and don’t mind smelling slightly like a good salad, extra virgin olive oil left on overnight on the body and the lips also  works. If you have very dry skin, ask your doctor to prescribe Hylatopic Plus emollient foam and start applying it now. I particularly recommend it for anybody with eczema or very sensitive skin. It has no steroids, so patients can use it as long as they like.

Ditch the scented and deodorant soaps which tend to dry the skin and use superfatted soaps or moisturizing body washes instead. Avoid prolonged baths and showers and don’t towel off completely. Make sure to apply all creams and lotions while the skin is still damp to bind the water to your skin.

Gentle exfoliation removes dead skin and allows moisturizers to penetrate better. Those cheap, ruffled nylon poufs sold everywhere are useful things to have in the bathroom for body exfoliation. For the face, gadgets such as the Clarisonic skin cleanser machines and Olay’s Professional Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System are nice to have, but you can also exfoliate with a gentle cleanser and a cotton pad.

A humidifier is one of the best investments against dry skin. One caveat: humidifiers have to be cleaned regularly and without fail, I’d say every couple of weeks. People who have radiators can use a safer and cheaper method: just put a bowl, freshly filled with water, on the radiator every day.

Pretty useful tips, no?  I brought her book with me to Taiwan, and learned some very useful things.  It’s broken up into small, easy-to-digest chunks of information.  Get your hands on a copy if you can, there’s some good stuff in there.  Although I do wish it had been longer, my thirst for skincare knowledge is unquenchable.  Maybe we can have a sequel?

How many of these tips are new to you?  Are you going to incorporate any of them into your skincare routine?  I love the idea of exfoliating my face with a cotton pad, as no-duh as that seems, it never occurred to me before.

Full Disclosure: A copy of Skin Rules was provided for editorial consideration and review.  Stock images courtesy of PR.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “Skin Rules: A Brief Overview & Summer Skincare Tips

  1. Since I have eczema, I think a humidifier would be wonderous come winter. My skin doesn’t flare up too much since I became ultra-regimented, but winter is still rough on me. Sticking to a simple routine is my best bet for my skin overall!!

    Thanks for the tips my dear, I always like to learn more about good skin care habits :D

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

