Beauty News

It’s Update Time! Here’s More from Illamasqua

It’s been awhile since I last did a post on Illamasqua’s awesome campaign, so there’s a lot to catch up on!  Here are three more models from Generation Q.

First up is Patricia, 55, who was nominated by her son!

My son entered me in the competition and I thought it was very funny but I didn’t think I would be one of the winners. It is a huge compliment and I am flattered, but I am still very surprised.

I felt very privileged to have Alex Box do my make-up. I have seen some of her work in her book with Rankin – she’s an incredible artist. She me feel comfortable and confident; she made it all look so easy.

Next, we have Karen, who makes rocking pink hair look every so effortless.

I LOVE MAKE-UP!!! It brings me to life! I love to experiment with colour especially and personally would NEVER EVER wear “natural” make-up. It cheers me up on the dark, miserable days (that everyone gets) a bright fuschia pink lipstick and gloss… hey presto… Smiley face and ready to take on the world”

I’m past 40! Life is for living and if I feel happier by surrounding myself in bright colours and sparkly things then I WILL. I often get stared at when I walk round towns, shops because I am a little OTT, distinctive hair and make-up and I do WANT to stand out in a crowd. So each time someone stares … I smile at them because I’m happy with my individual look and 99% of the time they smile back.

And last but not least, the dapper Ian:

I turned forty this year so being asked to be a part of the new campaign was a flattering soft pillow to my joining a new decade. I’m a writer and director.

The team from Illamasqua made me feel very relaxed. I walked into a nice family atmosphere, very chatty and there was a cat at the studio the size of a lion which was getting all the attention, so I managed to stay under the radar until it was time to shoot.

Now I know I’ve been going on and on for weeks about wanting to see these products already, so I’m happy to report that they’ll be up on Illamasqua’s site starting Tuesday, August 21.  You won’t be able to purchase them yet, but it’ll be nice to see what the brand’s cooked up for this campaign.

Ah yes, and one last thing.  I bring you Illamasqua’s Fight for a Fair Beauty Price campaign:

We are making a stand against the global giants of cosmetics, who force Australian customers to pay up to 61% more than UK prices. We think it entirely unjust that someone in the UK pays just $24 for a lipstick, while a man or woman in Australia has to pay $40 for exactly the same product… in the short time we’ve retailed in Australia, we’ve heard time and again the frustrations over the inflated pricing of cosmetics compared to the rest of the world.

We have listened and want to slash our prices across our range in Australia. But first we need you to demonstrate to the industry that if we can make this change happen, you’ll commit to buying our products. Even if you’re not Australian, and you don’t buy cosmetics in Australia, you can still help our cause.

We’ve received over 10k votes in 10 days from the Australian community but we want to hit 20k votes by the end of next week… so we are calling on you for support! Please help us make this change for our fellow beauty lovers in the Australian beauty community.

You can add your name to the petition here.

That’s a lot of information, I know!  I’ll give you a minute to digest, and then we can talk about it in the comments :)

What are your thoughts on Generation Q?  Are you as excited as I am to see the collection?  Opinions on the Australia campaign?  How’s your weekend going?

MM

Stock images and press information courtesy of Illamasqua.

6 thoughts on “It’s Update Time! Here’s More from Illamasqua

  1. I saw that fight for a fair price thing and i think it is a good idea… i think was almost perfectly done but something about it (maybe the tone at the end of it?) just doesn’t feel quite right from a marketing perspective. I do hope they are successful! I think this campaign is great too, but sometimes illamasqua is a bit too over the top for me haha.

  2. It’s about time a company got the ballz to take a stand. I hope it works out-there’s no reason that Aussies need to be paying that much more for cosmetics. In this age of globalization it doesn’t make sense. Companies act like Australia is on another frieakin’ planet. I always feel so sorry for them, so I hope this works! Kudos to Illamasqua! Now how about them selling their products IN CANADA huh? :) We want you here too! With counters!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

