The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.63

1. High/low of the week:

My high was finding an adorable, affordable ottoman from Target (love that place).  It’s going to be my new makeup table chair.  My low was not having as much time to exercise as usual.

2. What’s your favorite season and why?

My favorite season has always been winter, although I have to say I’m hating summer a lot less than usual this year.  I just love the festive spirit in the air.  And then there’s the weather.  Cold days just me feel so awake and happy.

3. What’s the last book you finished?  Would you recommend it?

Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov.  I’ve been chipping away at this one for awhile now; I’ll read a huge chunk and then forget about it for months.  I think Nabokov is brilliant and this book is well worth the read, but be prepared.  It’s a bit tough to get into in the beginning, as you’re essentially reading pages and pages full of annotations.

To take part in TWW, copy/paste the questions and answer them in the comments below!

1. High/low of the week:
2. What’s your favorite season and why?
3. What’s the last book you finished?  Would you recommend it?

Love,
MM &

30 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.63

  1. 1. High/low of the week: The best part of the week was the entire weekend. I got to spend lots of time with friends and even made a few new friends. The low was the days my daughter didn’t nap. She always ends up having a melt down later that evening.
    2.What’s your favorite season and why? Growing up it use to be summer, because of summer vacation. Now I prefer fall. Here in the pacific northwest we get some of our best weather in Sept/Oct. I also love when the leaves change, halloween, and sweaters.
    3. What was the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    I just finished the second Julia Grey mystery book. Theyre a series that take place in nineteenth century England, and the main character, Julia, solves different crimes. I would recommend them. Theyre not the best books I have read, but theyre very enjoyable and well written.

  2. 1. High/low of the week:
    High: Not sure. Posting twice yesterday, I suppose. I’ve been lazy. :P
    Low: Doing absolutely nothing on Monday. I mean, it was nice to relax, but it also felt like a waste of a potentially productive day.

    2. What’s your favorite season and why?
    Well, if we got any seasons here in Hawaii, probably fall. I like the cooler weather and layering clothes, and of course, BOOTS.

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    I… don’t even remember. Hunger Games? But I want to say I read something after that, but I don’t know. D:

  3. 1. High/low of the week: Uh. This week has been junk. Low: most of it. High: Discovering this song: Minus the Bear, Knights, P.O.S. Remix. Listen to it.
    2. What’s your favorite season and why? Fall. I like the weather – boot season!
    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    The Magic Thief, by Sarah Prineas. It was good! A fun fantasy romp ;)

    • Sorry to hear that :( Hope things start getting less hectic soon. Will definitely listen to that song, the title alone has got me interested LOL. I’ll add that book to my library list, thanks for the recommendation!

  4. 1. High/low of the week:

    High: It’s the last week of my internship! Low: It’s the last week of my internship… :(

    2. What’s your favorite season and why?

    WINTER and Fall, hands down. I’m a winter baby and will always love the cold crisp air. And the snow, yes, THE SNOW. Nothing beats bundling up in a nice chunky sweater and a big ol’ scarf. Summers are so sticky and uncomfortable. You should come to the Northeast some time and experience our winters, hehehe ;)

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?

    The Stranger by Albert Camus. A thought-provoking, yet not thought-provoking book! It made me feel terrible, but it also made me feel content. It’s an existentialist book, so I guess it would be depressing but not really but kind of. I don’t know, one of those books, man. I liked it though, so I would rec!

    • It sounds like your internship has been a really amazing experience! Yay for people who love winter. And yay for snow! I saw that on your blog, will definitely check it out thanks!

  5. 1. High/Low of the week: High- Blueberry cheesecake cupcakes and WhatsApp, which you need to get as soon as you have wifi on the phone so you can have happiness on the go. Low- the rest of the week. This weekend better be effing awesome.

    2. Favorite season: Beginning of fall. Still warm enough to be cute.

    3. Last book: Artemis Fowl The Last Guardian. I know, wtf, but I’ve read this series since I was 12 and the final book just came out. Unlike JK Rowling, however, the writer seems to assume his readers regress instead of progress, and this particular book is sorely in need of an editor. I was angry half the time reading it because the man is making basic writing mistakes.

    My next book should be The Things I carried by Tim O’Brien. Have been itching to read it since I read an excerpt in sophomore year.

      • Blueberry cheesecake cupcakes…I want one NAO. Hope this week is effing awesome indeed. I loved those books! But I agree, it was definitely a series that started out stronger than it finished. Haven’t read the last book yet, but I think I read the one right before. omg read it! And tell me how you like it :)

  6. 1. High/low of the week: My high was to visit my parents for holiday :) God, I miss them so much I only get to see them for 10-15 days a year. My low was the huge argument/fight I had with my boyfriend which was about to lead to a break up. It was extra overwhelming because I had the fight through the phone while I was having a good time with my family…
    2. What’s your favorite season and why? It used to be summer. Because I was a student and I get to spend my whole summer in our summer house. Now, as a working girl, it is definitely spring with its lovely vibe around :)
    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it? Starter for 10, David Nicholls. I am very neutral about this book. If you have time, and want to just read something light it is a good book. But it won’t take you too far.

    • Wait which holiday? I’m so sorry to hear about that :( Are you guys ok now though? I would love to love spring, but allergies kind of destroyed that for me LOL. Hmm if you’re neutral on it I think I’ll give it a pass. Too many good books out there to read the meh ones!

      • Ah it was Ramadan and I was with my family for 4 days :) I believe we are, things are a bit chilly still but we’ll see.. Yes allergies are mostly terrible I don’t have any allergies so I am kind of selfish about that but also I do love Fall too.. I hate cold weather, I am a Mediterrean girl I can’t stand cold weather so everything is OK for me accept winter, lol!

        • ahh I see…I was definitely like, did I forget about a holiday? I’ve always wanted to go to the Mediterranean even though I’m totally a cold weather girl. It’s so gorgeous there.

  7. 1. High/low of the week: high of the week was getting to hang out with my sister and cousin visiting from out-of-town and having a super girly weekend. Low was probably circling campus for almost an hour this morning looking for parking. Grrr….
    2. What’s your favorite season and why? Spring!!! It’s nice and sunny and warm–not too cold to where I have to bundle up and cover up my cute tanks and freeze my toes off in my flip-flops that I wear year-round but not too hot that I’m a sweaty, cranky mess
    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it? I just finished the 15 book in the Stephanie Plum series. It’s a fun series and I would recommend if for some easy reading–but I’ve mainly been reading these because I’ve really been too busy lately to get into anything more “substantial”

    • Yay for fun weekends :) Yikes! Are you a commuter? I think I’ve read a couple of those books before! The author is Janet something right? Maybe I’ll check out a few more of those.

      • Yes I am–I’m hoping that things on campus will calm down after the first few weeks and there will be more parking, cuz that was ridiculous!!!

        And yes, the author is Janet Evanovich! How far did you get in the series?? I think it’s a cute, fun series. I’ve been thinking of re-reading the LOTR series after I’m done though–but I’m not sure I’ll have time. When I read those, I get super into them and start staying up til like 5 AM reading because I can’t stop–which would be bad now considering I’m back in school and busy busy busy :P

        • I think I read a couple of her books, but out of order hahaha. DO IT. Although I definitely have that problem with LOTR too, so I won’t be opening those during the school year. Maybe over break!

  8. 1. High/low of the week:
    The coming weekend! Am going to the outlets!

    2. What’s your favorite season and why?
    Fall. Love the smell, weather and everything about it!

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    Nope! Horrible horrible horrible, am not even revealing the title/author =.=

    • Have fun at the outlets! Get good deals lol. I love fall smells too, the Leaves and Fireside candles from B&BW are my absolutely favorites. Ok wow…that bad? Will be avoiding this unknown book LOL

  9. 1. High/low of the week:
    The high will be this Sunday. It’s my birthday and I will be turning 30..
    The low is the terribly hot weather we’re having at the moment.

    2. What’s your favorite season and why?
    It used to be summer but at the moment it’s spring. It’s sunny and hot without being too hot and you can see nature coming to life again, which is just marvellous.

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    Murder is easy by Agatha Christie. It’s a good story even though it’s quite easy to guess who the murderer is.

  10. 1. High/low of the week: High:Fall makeup collections! LOVE. Low: Feel so busy this week!
    2. What’s your favorite season and why? Fall-boots, sweaters, coolness. NO SNOW. :)
    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it? Mmmm, Abraham Linoln Vampire Slayer. Yes! I loved it. Loved the way he writes.

    I can hardly wait until Target open up here. I’ll be there every day haha!

  11. OMG YOU READ PALE FIRE. *bows repeatedly* I could NOT get past the opening pages. Been stuck in the pre-Victorian era too long and completely lost touch with modern/contemporary. Since I own the book, might attempt it at some point.

    1. High/low of the week: Terrible week overall, perked up on Thurs night when I began a long weekend. High point: sister came back from the Philippines on Fri and our house is so full of extra things and more laughter. :D

    2. What’s your favorite season and why? Used to be summer but am so confused now. :s Maybe it will be fall this year!

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it? I haven’t read anything for leisure since that Trollope course ended. But from it, the last book I did finish was The Small House at Allington and I would recommend it if you like quiet, long-winded Victorian family dramas.

    • Dude I didn’t think I was going to make it through when I first opened that thing, it’s not easy to start. But you should read it if you get the chance! I’m glad to hear your week is looking up. Fall is a good one, although fall here is sweltering and i do not like it. Will add that one to my list, thanks!

  12. 1. High/low of the week:
    Erm…I don’t even remember what’s happened in the past week. That’s probably a low, huh?

    2. What’s your favorite season and why?
    Spring! Because it’s not yet too hot (I HATE THE HEAT), and the trees and flowers are all starting to bloom, and at least around here the appearance of sunny days, rare as they may still be, brings out the best in everyone.

    3. What’s the last book you finished? Would you recommend it?
    Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen (HP 1, in German), in an attempt to keep up my German skills somewhat. I’ve read the English version, like, a bajillion times, which made it a lot easier and also helped me learn some vocab (I now know how to say “the suit of armor” in German! It’s ‘die Rüstung’, in case you ever need that for trivia night). I’ve read 3 pages of the second one (HP und die Kammer des Schreckens, which is literally “HP and the Chamber of Horrors”, which is SUCH A BETTER TITLE than the original), but decided I needed a break from foreign language children’s books and have instead been reading Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors by Carl Sagan and Ann Druyan, about the history of the world, basically, which has been really interesting! I picked it up for $2 at a library book sale, which is always fun :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

