College Beauty / Randomly Beauty Related

How to Prettify Your Dorm Room: The Makeup Table

Is this going to be an actual series?  Who knows?  I just felt like making a banner.

Moving is hard.  I didn’t even do any of the lifting, but somehow ended up with lower back pains from walking around.  I think I need to see a chiropractor.  But that’s not the point of this post.  The point is, especially for those of you heading off to college in the coming weeks, dorm rooms are meant to be customized.  You’re living here for the next year, so you want a space that creates happy feelings, am I right?

If you’re a beauty junkie like me, the quickest way to achieve these happy feelings is with the makeup table, also known as the vanity.  Now you may think you don’t have the room for one of these, but you are wrong.  Use the end of the bed if you must, and sleep curled up into a ball.  It’s worth it.

Of course, you could also go the less drastic route, and use your dresser.  As far as I know, almost every college room comes with one of these.  It might be tucked under your bed or hiding in your closet, but no matter.  Pull that thing out, even if it takes up the last bit of standing space on your side, and go to town.  Here’s what mine looks like, and here are the six simple steps I took to transform it:

1. Find a space for your dresser.  Mine is located at the foot of my bed.

2. Get an ottoman or footstool.  This will serve as your chair, because who wants to do their makeup standing up?  Too much effort.  I’m using this one from Target.

3. Cover the dresser with a white towel.  This will catch any makeup residue, and also give the (flimsy) illusion that this is a fancy dresser.

4. Get a box for your makeup, so as not to waste valuable drawer real estate.  I’m using the 5 drawer acrylic cube from MUJI.

5. Get thee to your nearest office supplies stores, and buy a rotating desk organizer.  This is perfect for storing brushes and various odds and ends.  I suppose you could also use a cups or candle jars if you wanted.  Add any other decorations you might want.

6. Plop a mirror in the center so you can stare at yourself all the livelong day.  And you’re finished!  Enjoy your new vanity.  Soak up the happy feelings.

Oh, and don’t forget, you’re also supposed to be there to learn.  And meet new people.

How do you store your makeup.  If you’re a fellow college student, what does your dorm room look like?  Have you made space for a vanity?

MM

29 thoughts on “How to Prettify Your Dorm Room: The Makeup Table

  1. Ahh how exciting! I’m helping my brother move into his dorm next week (he’s a senior, so he gets a fancier apartment-type dorm or something). It’s always so interesting to see how people personalize their dorms. This is a smart trick! Hope you’re settling in well. :)

  2. Nice job! I actually didn’t really get into makeup until after I moved out of the dorms in college, so I never had a dorm room setup. When I very briefly stayed in grad housing my summer after graduation I moved my little vanity table into my room (sadly it had to stay there when I moved to SF), and I haven’t had space for a separate vanity table since then! That said, I’m pretty happy with what I’ve done with my new desk haha. I moved to a new place in SF about a month ago and just got furniture earlier this week!

    Best of luck for your first year of college! :)

  3. I like! I never made an effort to create a vanity when I was in college as there never seemed enough time to beautify. Or maybe I was just too busy/lazy…haha :P. Good luck! Freshman year is always an eye opener. ;)

  4. I’m not in a dorm but use the top of dresser as vanity as well. Thinking of using the top drawer as a products drawer now actually. :)

    When do classes start? So excited for you! And how are the roommates? Do Xiao and I have to fly over and keep them back from your beauty stash??

    • Great minds! Ohh that’s a good idea. Except mine is filled with clothes and spare bedding so I can’t really do that…hmm might have to do a little rearranging. They already did! They’re really nice, I think it’s going to be a good year. No need for you guys to fly out hahahha, although I would have liked to see that :P

  5. Wow so neat and nice looking, your dresser in the dorm reminded me of my dorm room freshman year of college! I think they look identical in fact. I also did my makeup on top of the dresser but I rem the routine was sooo simple back then, a tm or foundie plus blush and I’m outta the door lol, that was also back in the time when I actually managed to hit big pans on blushes lol, that will never happen again as my collection grew :p enjoy your college life!!!

    • haha thanks Lulu! Yeah, I think they’re standard issue, so I wanted to personalize mine a bit. LOL I should try simplifying. I either sit down and do my makeup or walk out with a bare face though, no in between for me! Grr I have not hit pan on anything in a long time, must try to do better. I will!

  6. That is so neat and tidy and everything my room at uni wasn’t :) Enjoy your time in college MM Oh and if I may add, for your stool, see if you can get something with storage space if you remove the seat. That way you get some extra storage for things like sheets or towels :)

  7. Nice! Simple, yet functional! Hope college is a blast and not too much homework haha! And I hope you find some fellow LOTR geeks to befriend!

  8. Yay dorm room! I’m so excited for you!!! And yet you seem so calm….when I started Uni I was a ball of ridiculously giddy energy! This clinches it – you are far too cool for me.

    I have my makeup in my little pink train case from Sephora with a few sprinklings in a drawer and on the countertop in my bathroom. BOOO!! I want a vanity! *Bonus of a breakup/new living alone situation – I CAN FREAKIN’ HAVE ONE IF I WANT NOW!! :D So I just might!

    • Thanks Toya! Is that reading as calm? It’s actually EXHAUSTION hahahah. I am definitely not too cool for you. If anything, it’s the other way around. Get a vanity! Decorate it! Go Toya go!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

