Eyes / High End / Mid End

Recent Occurrences in my Sad Little Life: Illamasqua Precision Ink in Wisdom is My New Best Friend

Ah Wisdom, how you glimmer and shine, like a sparkly river of liquid intelligence.

Oh my, that was teeth-clenchingly bad, wasn’t it?  You’d think that after spending an extra couple of hours in bed after my alarm went off (what?  It’s been a long week!  And Monday isn’t even over yet…), my brain would be ready to write this review with poise, but apparently that’s not the case.  Let’s start over.

For those of you who are new around here (or have been waiting a billion years for me to claw my way out from under this pile of work, which continues to grow), let me quickly give you the rundown on Generation Q.  It’s Illamasqua’s A/W ’12 collection, which I have been anticipating for months after seeing their super cool campaign.  Read up on that if you haven’t yet, because I’m convinced that the models are the coolest people you will ever meet.  And the products?  Let’s start with the Precision Ink in Wisdom.

Remember when I called these Urban Decay liners liquid fairydust magic?  While it’s not the easiest thing in the world to top that, Wisdom definitely gives my 24/7’s a run for their money.  It’s got a felt tip applicator that makes drawing flicks and smooth lines a breeze, plus it can hold a good amount of product with just one dip.  

Liner tends to smudge all over the place on my lids, so while I love the ease of a pencil liner, I prefer liquids which wear like steel.  Wisdom does well in that respect, latching onto my lashline the whole day with minimal fading.  The formula is smooth and opaque, as long as you remember to shake the tube before using it each time.

As for the color, where do I even start?   Blackened, olive green shot through with gold shimmer.  Sound familiar?  I thought so too.  After pulling out Urban Decay Smog, my all-time favorite liquid liner, I swatched the two side-by-side to confirm my suspicions.  Just as I thought, the two are dupes.  Wisdom has just a touch more gold, but on the eye, the difference is indistinguishable.  I can’t really recommend one over the other because both are pretty stellar, so it comes down to whether you prefer a felt or brush tip applicator.  Me?  I’m just happy to have two of my favorite shade tucked away in my stash.

Illamasqua Precision Ink in Wisdom retails at $27.50.  If I had to pick one must-have item from the Generation Q collection, this would be it.  I don’t think any of you need convincing that this color is gorgeous, do you?  Wear it winged out with mascara (my favorite) for a 2-minute makeup look, or get inventive and do something crazy, like drawing garden gnomes on your nose.*

*this should never be done in place of studying for your midterm.  Just throwing that out there.

How would you wear Wisdom?  Have you checked out any of the Generation Q products yet?

Full Disclosure: The product featured in this post was submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

21 thoughts on “Recent Occurrences in my Sad Little Life: Illamasqua Precision Ink in Wisdom is My New Best Friend

  1. For a second there I totally though Wisdom and Smog were the same liner! The color really is gorgeous. It’s a lovely twist to the usual basic black. I’m due for a new liquid liner too. ;)

    But hey, garden gnomes on the nose are cool all the time.

  2. Pretty pretty pretty!! Though you’re absolutely right and the difference between the Illamasqua and UD one are hardly discernible, I do prefer the slightly more golden hue of Wisdom. I also think I like felt-tip applicators better than brush-tips…but I say “think” because I HARDLY ever wear liquid liner. I am willing to make an exception for this one though–it’s too pretty to resist!

    Oh, and I want a tutorial for the gnomes-on-nose look! :D

  3. This is such a pretty color – and it looks like a great alternative to basic black or brown eyeliner. Wish Illamasqua were more readily available in my country!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

