Base / Eyes / Mid End

Senna Gets Sultry This Season with Their Haute Nudes Palette

senna-sultry-product-shot-2

I never did a post properly announcing the advent of December, so I’m doing it now.  It’s almost the end of December!  And this is highly exciting because 1) I love cold weather, 2) THE HOLIDAYS, 3) THE HOBBIT!!!, and 4) Holiday Makeup, which yes, deserves a category of its own.

love holiday makeup.  Despite the fact that everyone starts rolling out the press releases in July (something I still don’t understand) and despite the fact that they all look more or less the same (red lips!  glowy skin!  gold/smoky eyes!), I will forever have a soft spot in my heart for holiday makeup.  Remember Clarins Barocco from 2010?  Now that was a holiday collection done right.

This year, Senna’s offering two Haute Nudes palettes to celebrate my favorite time of year.  Of the two, I have the warmer rendition, Sultry.  Do check out Beautezine for a comprehensive review and some lovely pictures of both.

So, before we get into this, I do have to say that I don’t think this is really a Holiday palette so much as it is a palette that happened to be released around the holidays (after my whole spiel, I know.  I just had to get it out).

Sultry features a matte peach blush, glowy highlighter, and six warm eyeshadows:

senna-sultry-product-shot-3

This picture is excessively warm.  I need to stop photo-editing half asleep.

The blush and highlighter are both smooth, finely milled, and contain just the right amount of pigment.  While I don’t wear blush, even I can appreciate the quality of this one.  The color is a gorgeous peachy-pink, and it blends into the skin beautifully.  The highlighter is perfect for the holidays, iridescent and a little bit more shimmery than your everyday illuminator.  I’ll be wearing this one all winter long.

senna-sultry-swatches-blush-highlighter senna-sultry-swatches-eyeshadows

Meanwhile, I have mixed feelings on the eyeshadows.  While the bottom row consists of three beautiful, buttery-smooth browns, the top row left me feeling a little meh.  I have no complaints about the formula, which is exceptional as usual, but the shades simply weren’t for me.  I actually think they would have translated better (on my skintone, at least) as shimmers.  I often complain about too many shimmers and not enough mattes in palettes, and this one was all matte, with the exception of one shade.  While Senna’s matte formula is one of the best I’ve encountered, I feel that this set could have used at least one other shimmery shadow.  It is the holidays, after all!  

I’ve tried a variety of looks with these eyeshadows, but my favorite consists of the shimmery brown smudged all along the lashline, and then topped off with olive green winged liner.  It’s quick and simple, plus the two sort of melt into each other and make my eyes light up.  Perfect for finals week (which now that I think about it…is really more like finals month).

senna-sultry-review-eotd

senna-haute-nudes-sultry-review

eight-fifteen-final-decision

There are times when I stay away from palettes because when a brand puts multiple products in one case, the quality occasionally suffers.  Luckily, that’s not the case at all with Sultryand each shade is a pleasure to use, formula-wise.  I do have to say that I’m not entirely sold on this because some of the shades just look wrong on me, but if you enjoy wearing these kinds of colors, I’d say it’s a worthy purchase at $48.  The packaging is functional and just weighty enough, while the brushes are good enough to take on the go.

How do you feel about palettes?  What’s your favorite one?

Less than a week until I’m done with finals, back in my room, and finally watching The Hobbit!

MM

Full Disclosure: The product featured in this post was submitted for editorial consideration only.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

19 thoughts on “Senna Gets Sultry This Season with Their Haute Nudes Palette

  1. So pretty!! I love this!! I don’t think I have a favorite palette yet but I agree with you about holiday makeup. Good luck with finals! One more week!

  2. I really like the look of these palettes. I think they’re gorgeous! I don’t know that I have a favorite palette, though, and I usually don’t like the combination ones. Just eyes or just cheeks, you know?

  3. I still haven’t seen The Hobbit yet – gotta wait till my geek-in-crime friend comes back from the holidays! :S – BUT! I am *thisclose* to finishing book 3 of The Lord of the Rings. Anyone who said that all these books were hard to read are…well, kinda right if you’re not into that type of thing, but overall TOTALLY crazy. I loved them all and had no problem getting through them! And now I am a better person in life. The end.

    Also…cool palette! LOL. I’m not much into palettes but if I were, I imagine I’d get a ton of use from these neutral shades!

    • doitdoitdoit. And yayy! I know right? I guess the language can seem a little dense and wordy at first, but once you get into it it’s super quick going. Uhh, except that Taming of Smeagol book in Two Towers LOL, every time I reach that part I’m like ohh man this again, pages and pages of Frodo/Sam/Gollum walking through rocks. Geez. But so glad to hear you’re almost done with ROTK! Now…you just gotta reread the whole series ASAP :P

      Really? I love palettes hahah, they’re just super easy to travel with.

  4. PREEEEEEEETTYYYYY! Love your extra dramatic eyes, MM!

    I used to always wear a lot of makeup to exams for some reason. I don’t know why, but it was oddly calming on nerves. At the same time, once I started to pile things on, I couldn’t stop, so I’d show up to write the final looking like a completely different person. LOL Not sure why I’m telling you this but I feel like this story will make perfect sense to you.

  5. Oooh, so pretty! I don’t think all the colors would work on me, either, but I definitely want to try something from Senna after all the good things I keep hearing!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

