"Best Of..." / My Favorite Things

The 12 Best of 2012 | Beauty Edition

Here’s a rundown of my top 12 (because it was impossible to narrow it down any further) can’t-live-without-’em products of 2012.  In no particular order, the following are my most-used and most-loved from this year:

1. Kate Moss x Rimmel Lipstick in 01 (review)

i-will-fight-you-for-these-kate-moss-x-rimmel-lipsticks

You know what beats finding the perfect red lipstick?  Finding it at the drugstore at a seriously good price.  With Kate Moss’ signature on the tube.  ‘Nuff said.

2. Dior Addict Lipstick in Diorkiss (review)

dior addict lipstick product shot

While I was somewhat undecided on these lipsticks at the time of the review, I’ve grown to love them.  True, you can find a similar formula at the drugstore (Revlon’s Lip Butters, which I do like a lot, are the most popular), but don’t be fooled into thinking they’re the same thing.  Dior’s version is smoother, more moisturizing, and um….comes in far more attractive packaging.  Diorkiss, the perfect everyday pink, has probably been my most-worn lipstick this year.

3. Ellis Faas Creamy Eyes in E118* (review)

ellis-faas-spring-set-product-shot

Honestly, I’d go ahead and choose the whole Creamy Eyes range if I could (and Lights for good measure), but if I absolutely had to pick my favorite, it would be this lovely shade of pale gray-blue.  It’s utterly gorgeous, the formula is the best I’ve tried, and despite the astronomical price tag and frustrating packaging, it’s a must have.

4. L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Sahara Treasure (review)

loreal-infallible-sahara-treasure-swatch

And now we come to my most-worn eyeshadow of the year.  While the Infallible range can be hit and miss in terms of formula, this one’s a gem for sure.  The color is a cross between champagne-tinged gold, and pulls both warm and cool.  The perfect lid wash.

5. Illamasqua Liquid Liner in Wisdom* (review)

illamasqua-wisdom-eye-swatch-010

2012 was the year I finally, finally figured out how to do a proper flick with my liner.  And there’s no liner better suited for the job than this beautiful, blackened greenish-gold from Illamasqua.  P.S. Urban Decay makes a liquid liner in this shade too.

6. Annabelle Le Big Show Mascara

satin-taupe-eotd-2

It’s so good it ousted Senna Voluptulash as my mascara of choice.  Why don’t I live in Canada?

7. Everything Liz Earle* (a few favorites here, here, and here)

liz-earle-supserskin-concentrate-review

I have yet to come across a Liz Earle product I don’t love.  While I used to be a French/Japanese skincare kinda gal, this British brand has won me over.  So I supposed I should change my previous question to why don’t I live in the UK?

8. E.L.F. Concealer Brush

I’ve probably collected about 10 of these by now, at their unbelievably good price point of $1 a piece.  They’re too small for undereye concealing, but they make excellent spot concealer, eyeliner, and lip brushes.

9. Elie Saab Le Parfum* (review)

elie-saab-le-parfum-023

Almost half a year later, I remain obsessed with this fragrance.  It’s a gorgeous honeyed floral, warm and sweet without being spicy (I don’t do florientals).  It smells like a big, expensive hug, and I love it.  It’s my most-worn pajama perfume (what?  It’s a thing!), followed closely by Diptyque Philosykos.

10. Urban Decay Primer Potion*

Despite all the gripes about the packaging (and continued gripes about the repackaged version as well), I’ve remained faithful to UDPP all year long.  Keeps eyeshadow and liner in place all day long, and believe me, that’s not an easy job when it comes to my lids.

11. Slatkin London Calling Candle

Remember when I couldn’t stop talking about Slatkin’s French Baguette candle?  It’s been ousted from its former place of honor in my candle drawer (don’t worry, I still love it) by London Calling, which I somehow haven’t reviewed yet.  It smells of black tea and sugared lemons, and I somehow went through my first 3-wick in less than 2 weeks…  a result of burning it in the morning, deciding to relight it a couple times throughout the day, and then burning it again as I was drifting off to sleep.  I’m savoring my second one right now, but the SA at my local B&BW told me they’re probably not bringing these back after they clear out the Christmas scents.  I don’t know if I can wait that long, you guys.

12. DHC Cleansing Oil (review)

I buy this stuff by the truckload.  I’ve heard there are better cleansing oils out there, which I plan to try in 2013, but I can’t even tell you how many bottles of DHC I went through in the past 12 months.  Once I figured out the correct method of using this (first gently rub into dry skin, then wet hands and continue rubbing, then rinse off), I stopped using anything else.  It removes everything in one go, and that includes waterproof mascara.

Those are my 12 beauty favorites of 2012!  What about you?  Share your must-haves in the comments below, and do let me know if you’ve tried any of the things on my list.

Full Disclosure: All press samples have been denoted by asterisks (*).  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

20 thoughts on “The 12 Best of 2012 | Beauty Edition

  1. I got Sahara Treasure, mostly because of you and Danielle! And the Kate x Rimmel lipstick escapade made me laugh again (in relief now because #2 is now gone from here) and I’ll have to give London Calling another chance even though I’m drowning in candles right now. Nice roundup, MM!

    • I LOVE hearing that I’ve inspired lemmings. Especially a lemming in you, since you’ve enabled me to buy so many candles o.O Hope you like London Calling! It is quite lemony, so I’m not sure that you will, but maybe you will suddenly decide you love lemons? One can dream~

    • I will check that out shortly :) Right after I finish sorting through comments on my end, which somehow I let get backlogged again LOL groan. Yes, omg you NEED to try that, it’s fantastic.

  2. I love your taste MM as usual. Love the Kate Moss lipstick (have it, love it) creamy eyes, and the candles!! I bought baquette and went crazy in the store telling my mom…”Mom, MM has this, I MUST I MUST”, but wait, is London Calling coming back or not?? I need that!! AHH

    • Aw, thank you! I’m glad to hear it. hahahah the thought of you using me as a reason to buy a candle warms my heart :P It is! According to my SA, it’s coming back along with all the other ‘city’ candles as soon as they clear out the Christmas stock. I sincerely hope she’s right about that.

    • mmhmm not a huge fan of that packaging. I don’t hate it per se, but I don’t find it as cute as everyone else seem to. It’s definitely worth a look, I’ve worn it so much I might actually empty this tube soon.

  3. Sahara Treasure is gorgeous! I love the ELF concealer brush as a cuticle brush for manicures, and hurrayyyyyy London Calling! I just want everything tea-related, ever.

  4. I really want to try the Annabelle mascara, more Ellis Faas and the DHC Cleansing Oil…gotta get on it! You know, I really like Wisdom a LOT, but it’s a fall liner in my head, and since I was gone for most of fall…I’ve barely worn it :S It could also be a spring liner though too, right!? YES IT WILL GET IT’S CHANCE.

    My faves list is small, because I’m terribly fickle and get bored with things too easily for any to become faves! But Illamasqua’s Unrequited is like No. 1 on my list, I still use it constantly…loving the Clinique Uplighting now that I’ve rediscovered…love the Hourglass No. 28 primer and the Immaculate foundation (which somehow now matches my skin almost perfectly)…and I’m still LOVING MUFE’s Rouge Artist Natural lippie in N46. And, um…that’s about it! I do like the Hourglass mascara too, but when its done I won’t purchase another, it’s just my way. Maybe 2013 will bring me some major loves! :)

    • I have an extra bottle of DHC I can send over if you DM me your address :) Always happy to enable! And oh man, I wear that as a year-round liner. Except when I decide to give my UD liner some love….the one in the same shade hahaha. Just love that color so much. Maybe it will!

  5. I really need to get more into lipstick. I think that your number one just became my number one thing to buy next! (: I also love that e.l.f. has some pretty quality products for so cheap!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

