Life & Travel

Happy New Year & A Peek into My Room

happy-new-year-peanut-frodo

Hello from Peanut Frodo

If I were one of those think-ahead bloggers, I would have set this to auto-publish at midnight.  As it is, I dragged myself out of bed at 2:30 in the afternoon today, only to realize it was the start of a whole new year.  Wonder how long it’s going to take me to start dating my papers correctly (last year it took a good 4-5 months, let’s see if college has made me learn faster).

I hope 2013 brings you good health, happiness, and new opportunities.  If you have resolutions, beauty-related or otherwise, I’d love to hear them.  As for me, I’m not bothering with any.  Last year, I made a resolution to wash my brushes, and we all know how that one turned out

One thing I have been trying to do lately, and no this is not a resolution, is use my camera more.  I’ve been shooting some images around my room here at home, before I go back to my cozy little dorm again (not for awhile, but ohgod the thought of re-packing all these things is making my head hurt).  As you can see, my approach to room decor can be summed up in 2 simple steps: 1. candles candles candles 2. shamelessly display the shiniest things you can find, such as perfume bottles and jewelry, and then open all the windows so they appear even shinier.

Enjoy the pictures (behind the cut), tell me your principles of room decor, and ah yes, happy 2013!

happy-new-year-room-decor-candles

I bought this candle for the picture and the name.  Who’s surprised?  No one.

happy-new-year-room-decor-daisy happy-new-year-room-decor-elie-saab-le-parfum

Elie Saab Le Parfum, my favorite

happy-new-year-room-decor-tocca

Tocca rollerball set, a wonderful gift from my friend.  Thank you, L!

happy-new-year-room-decor-jewelry

jewelry trays here

happy-new-year-room-decor-jewelry-2

27 thoughts on “Happy New Year & A Peek into My Room

  1. Happy New Year MM!! I have no words for your Peanut Frodo except to say I WANT ONE TOO!!!! In fact, I may have to make the entire cast! Tracy aka: my Lil Sis, is too freakin’ talented! May 2013 be full of excitement and amazing things for you! xx

  2. You have the cutest rings!! I think we might be ring-style soulmates.

    As for resolutions, I have goals but I don’t consider them resolutions. Like, I plan to take a picture every day of the year. One that represents what I did or a cool thing that happened that day. I’m using that as a way to stop just sitting around the house doing nothing every day. Yesterday, it was a picture of me at Ross with a new rug I bought for my kitchen. I’m so adventurous!! ;)

  3. Ah yes, a little peak into the hobbit hole, hehe. Your rings are so cute. I have to say my room is a disaster area right now. A black hole. I really need to clean it (a resolution)…by Chinese New Year, yeah!

  4. Ahhhh yes–Peanut Frodo. I missed seeing him around :P

    Nice little peak into your things, MM! Love the pretty jewelry all arranged so neatly (mine is such a disaster area!) and those super-cute sunglasses! Where on earth did you get them? I just broke my pair last week so need some new ones and those are TOO darn cute!

    • Perhaps I should let him lurk around in my reviews more often hahaha. Forever 21! They were something like $6, definitely a steal. I break sunglasses ALL THE TIME, so I try to get the cheapest ones possible.

  5. Happy New Year to you and your family ♥ I should make a resolution to wash my sponges after each use? God knows how disgusting they can get hahaha

  6. Hehe….peanut frodo is almost as good as stick figures :)

    I always make resolutions, though this year for the first time I’m kinda ho-hum about it. But I used to do this with my grandma every year till she died so it’s sort of tradition, ya know? I’m keeping them simple this year – the overarching principles (in both life and beauty) are essentially: be in the present moment (aka hold up on the multitasking!); be more adventurous; be more authentic (and voice my opinions rather than being such a damn Gemini and being kinda wishy-washy); and pare down. Doesn’t sound impossible, right?

    Happy 2013 MM!!

    • Perhaps a Peanut Frodo x Victory Lunge Stick Figure post is in order….trying to figure out exactly how I would work that in right now LOL I’m sure I could find a way. Ah, that’s a good tradition then. And good resolutions as well, I wish you the best in keeping them :) Happy 2013!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

