Beauty News

Monday Morning Beauty News | Oz Meets Urban Decay

Thank you for all your suggestions on my last post!  I’ve got my calendar all filled up with planned posts, but since they require a more than just an idea (pictures, first of all.  And then words, can’t forget those either), I thought I’d start Monday morning with this new release from Urban Decay.

And yes, I’m allowed to say it’s morning because I just rolled out of bed.

ozpalette_theodora_alt2

I’m sure most of you have seen Urban Decay’s latest launch by now, but you guys, these are just too pretty to stay in my inbox.

What they say:

Urban Decay launches two insanely gorgeous limited-edition palettes that tie in with the live-action film release of Disney’s Oz The Great and Powerful. The film precedes L. Frank Baum’s beloved book “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” and tells the backstory of the wizard and the witches. Inspired by the movie’s enduring theme of good witch vs. bad witch (and the good witch/bad witch dichotomy in all of us), we created two collectible palettes loaded with beautiful, never-before-seen shades you’ll want to own. The Glinda Palette and The Theodora Palette will enable fans to recreate makeup looks from the film step by step. We spent HOURS obsessively staring at images from the film (and not just the ones featuring its hot male lead, James Franco) to carefully craft the perfect mix of shades for these palettes. Get Michelle Williams’ ethereal, spellbinding look from Oz The Great and Powerful with The Glinda Palette or copy Mila Kunis’ captivating, edgy onscreen look with The Theodora Palette.

What I say?  Holy cannoli.

Check out the palettes below:

ud_ozpalette_theodora

What’s inside the Theodora palette:

  • Broken – pale cream satin
  • Beware – warm brown matte
  • Bewitch – dark charcoal brown satin
  • West – deep metallic brown shimmer
  • Spell – 2 shades in 1: black satin with green and gold shimmer/gold metallic with tonal glitter
  • Jealous – 2 shades in 1: pale green pearl/dark green pearl

Also includes super-saturated high Gloss Lip Color in Theodora (bright red cream) and a travel-size 24/7 Glide-On eye Pencil in black.

ud_ozpalette_glinda

What’s inside the Glinda palette:

  • Tornado – vibrant deep purple shimmer
  • Aura – 2 shades in 1: iridescent white with blue shift/iridescent white with red shift
  • Magic – pinkish purple with a golden shimmer
  • Illusion – pale peach satin
  • Oz – 2 shades in 1: gold with gold glitter/silver with silver glitter
  • South – warm pale gray shimmer with silver micro-glitter

Also includes super-saturated high Gloss Lip Color in Glinda (light sheer nude) and a travel-size 24/7 Glide-On eye Pencil in a deep eggplant hue.

Both palettes retail at $49, and are available now on Urban Decay’s website, and in store starting 2/1.

And just in case you haven’t seen the trailer:

Will you be springing for either of these palettes?  I’m usually all for intense neutrals, but strangely find myself more drawn to Glinda’s palette, especially after reading Temptalia’s review here.  As for the packaging, I do wish they’d done one of their pop-up palettes (think Alice in Wonderland), but I admit these look much more practical and easy to store.  Plus, the designs are still plenty gorgeous!

Images courtesy of Urban Decay.

14 thoughts on “Monday Morning Beauty News | Oz Meets Urban Decay

  1. I don’t know why but I’m not interested in these at all! Oh wait, I do know why…..I’m scared of palettes! It’s getting to the point now where I totally skim over reviews of palettes altogether (like Christine’s review – didn’t even read it. However, I don’t comment on her blog – if YOU reviewed it, I would comment, of course ;) I need to get over this fear methinks, I’m probably missing out on some awesome-o stuff. But the last (and only) real palette I bought was Urban Decay’s BoSIII and it scarred me for life. I use like four shades out of the entire thing, and not even regularly. Ooph.

    • hahahah I get it, I was getting palette fatigued awhile back, but then I found Guerlain and now I love them again (New Zealand is to your blog as Place Vendome is to mine LOL). I think the problem with huge palettes like that is there’s just so much going on that it becomes overwhelming. It’s great for collectors, UD enthusiasts, and beginners, but not so great for travel or daily makeup. So I do like how they downsized these, much more workable IMO.

  2. Totally want…no NEED Glinda, but I am not crazy about the lip color for me, I prefer a bolder lip so I am still trying to decide if I it is worth it, but I will probably cave in,

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

