EOTD (Eye of the Day)

A Weekend EOTD with the Urban Decay Ammo Palette

ud-ammo-eotd

I’m battling some kind of cough/cold hybrid right now, but thought I’d post this eye look before I pass out for the night and sleep for a delicious 12+ hours (oh yes, you heard me.  Twelve).

As part of their Spring 2013 collection, Urban Decay relaunched their Ammo Palette ($34) in a brand new formulation.  I remember eyeing this palette back in 2010 when I was trying to choose my first eyeshadow splurge.  Hmm, something tells me my definition of splurge has changed quite a bit since then.  Beauty blogging will do that to you.

I was lucky enough to get my hands on the reformulated version, which I’ll be reviewing shortly.  While the majority of looks I’ve created with this palette have been variations on the colorful nighttime smoky eye, I recently decided to play with a few of the lighter shades for a daytime look.

What I’m wearing:

  • From the Ammo Palette: Grifter all over the lid and into the crease, Chopper patted onto the center of the lid, Last Call in the outer corner and smudged along the upper lashline
  • Other: Urban Decay Primer Potion*, KATE Super Sharp Liner in BK-1, Annabelle Le Big Show Mascara

ud-ammo-eotd-2

By the way, do any of you find EOTD shots creepy?  My roommate walked in while I was editing these photos, and freaked out.  Apparently 400% zoomed in eyes that stare at you as you enter a room are kind of scary when you don’t look at them all day every day.

And with that, I bid you good night!

Full Disclosure: The Ammo Palette was submitted by PR for editorial consideration and review.  All other press samples have been marked with an asterisk (*).  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

14 thoughts on “A Weekend EOTD with the Urban Decay Ammo Palette

    • Sauron with eye makeup! :P

      I think UD does quite good palettes for value and color selection. Sometimes they can get a little overwhelming (Book of Shadows comes to mind), but this one’s just right.

  1. I see nothing wrong with editing up close eye shots at 400x zoom…but my brother does haha! Lovely eye look! I have the original Ammo, but their new formulations are hard to beat!

    • hahahah, right? I’m so used to it that I forget it might look a little weird to other people. I think they did a good job reformulating their eyeshadows! I haven’t encountered any of the problems I heard about with the original Ammo palette.

    • Unfortunately, I don’t have the old one to compare. From what I’ve heard/read, though, this new one has much less fallout and applies more smoothly/better formula overall. The colors are the same, though.

      *Just spoke to my PR contact, and apparently the colors are not the same. The color scheme is very similar to the original, but the shades themselves are new.

  2. Me likey! I’m sort of ‘off’ UD but maybe one day I’ll get back into ‘er! This pic is going to be part 1 to my ‘mish-mash of MM’s face’ project, just so you know.

  3. Hahahaha, creepy close-up eyes, *giggle* And I feel you on the whole splurges-no-longer-being-splurges front: $25 for a lipstick? Why, that’s practically a steal! And I really like this look––subtle, but the gradation between colors is so pretty!

    • I know there was a time when a $14 lip balm made me cringe, but I really don’t remember what that feels like LOL. And I’m the same now, it’s terrible! $25? Oh, that’s half the price of those Guerlain lipsticks, totally fine! Thanks Amy :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

