Eyes / Mid End

The New Urban Decay Ammo Palette | Review & Swatches

ammo-palette-cover-023

All week, I’ve been asking myself, “Is it Friday yet?!”  And today, it finally is which means it’s time to break out the Urban Decay eyeshadows and do a party-worthy look (just kidding, it’s going to be a mellow and well-behaved CNY weekend for me).

If you’re a regular reader, you may remember this recent eye look featuring the relaunched Urban Decay Ammo Palette.  I don’t have the original on hand to compare, but if you remember it, you’ll recognize the very similar color scheme (but brand new shades, I’m told).  One of the reasons I passed on the old Ammo in favor of my Deluxe Palette was its reputation for overly chunky glitter and fallout issues.  I’m happy to report I experienced none of those problems with the reformulated version.  There are quite a few shades which contain ‘micro-glitter,’ and one which contains chunkier glitter, but none gave me significant problems as far as fallout were concerned.

And speaking of the shades:

ammo-palette-shades-021

ammo-palette-shade-descriptions-009

Each vertical duo pairs two colors which can be worn together for a simple look.  Of course, you should all know by now that I tend to ignore premade pairings, but…know that they’re there!

The top row consists of rich, jewel tone colors that remind me strongly of fall.  That is, if fall was shimmery and contained micro-glitter, which I don’t think is ever happens outside of my head.  Out of the first five eyeshadows, my favorites were Last Call and Chopper.  Last Call is a burgundy shimmer, with undertones that shift from rust to plummy depending on the light.  It’s got too much red to wear all over the lid or anywhere near my crease (perhaps bolder and more talented makeup junkies will succeed where I have failed), but I love it smoked along the upper lashline with browns, golds, and purples.  Chopper is a shimmery golden copper shade with silver micro-glitter.  I usually stay away from warm-toned browns like this, but it wears beautifully on the lid, and the glitter is barely noticeable.

ammo-palette-swatches-top-row-011

Smog, Mildew, Oil Slick, Last Call, Chopper.  Wow, I just typed that all from memory.

The bottom row features much softer pastels.  Maui Wowie, the glittery shade, is my go-to eyeshadow for nighttime makeup.  To avoid fallout, I apply this in a patting motion, as opposed to blending it out.  A couple of additional honorable mentions go to Grifter and Sin.    I have no idea why, but I find Grifter makes some of the shades in this palette look more nuanced when used as a base.  As for Sin, I think I must have at least 5 pans of this stuff by now, since it’s included in so many of Urban Decay’s palettes.  It’s a pink champagne shimmer that works beautifully as either a lid wash or an inner corner highlight.

My sole disappointments in this palette were Shattered and Polyester Bride.  Shattered applied sheerer than what I’m used to from this brand, although the formula was by no means unworkable.  As for Polyester Bride, the formula was fine, but I think an off-white would have been a better choice, since I rarely wear pure white eyeshadows like this one unless I’m doing themed makeup.

ammo-palette-swatches-bottom-row-016

Maui Wowie, Shattered, Polyester Bride, Grifter, Sin

The palette also comes with an eyeshadow brush and a mini Primer Potion.  Somehow, I haven’t reviewed UDPP before, so the short version is it’s my staple primer.  As for the brush, it’s good quality, but on the flat side.  It works well with cream products, but the shape isn’t ideal for blending out powder eyeshadows.

eight-fifteen-final-decision

There’s a nice mix of shades for both day and night looks, and the compact size keeps this palette from feeling overwhelming.  Although there are two shades I probably won’t be using, the rest of the eyeshadows are pigmented, smooth, and most importantly pretty enough to make up for the ‘meh’ colors.  If you’re building your collection or just searching for a colorful shimmery palette (with some neutrals thrown in), this one’s worth a look!

The Urban Decay Ammo Palette retails at $34.  Find it at Sephora, ULTA, and select Macy’s stores.  It’s also available online Sephora.com, ulta.com, macys.com, beauty.com and urbandecay.com.

And P.S., for those of you who are interested, here’s the list of ingredients:

ammo-ingredients-click-to-enlarge-008

click to view full size

Anyone else tried Urban Decay’s reformulated eyeshadows yet?  For those of you celebrating Chinese New Year, hit me up with your traditions!  Everyone else, tell me your weekend plans :D

Full Disclosure: The product feature in this post was submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

15 thoughts on “The New Urban Decay Ammo Palette | Review & Swatches

  1. SO so pretty. I love the new formulation! So much easier to use with the glitter shades. I am actually going over to a friends’ celebrate Chinese New Year! Yay!

    • Me too, I liked their old formula for the most part but the glitters tended to be…kind of a mess. Do you have your eye on this, or did you already get it? Have fun at your CNY celebration!

    • Right? That one jumped out at me immediately too haha. I’m actually wearing it in the EOTD I linked in this post, it plays pretty well with the other shades in this palette. Thank you!

  2. I actually like their old formula as much as the new one, though of course the new one is EVEN more impressive! I already own 4 out of the 10 shades from my other UD palettes, so I don’t think I’ll be getting this one. I keep wondering if I need Maui Wowie. The color is right up my alley, though I normally avoid anything with micro glitter!

    Happy CNY to you, MM! I had a big lunch with my Belgian family and then passed out for a catnap. Now it’s time to write my blog post for tomorrow before I go back to bed LOL

    • Agreed, I thought their old formula was quite good already (except for the glitters), but I’m glad to see them improve upon it. I love Maui Wowie, I have a few beiges in my collection because I love the color, but none this glittery! You should swatch it in store and see if it floats your boat :P

      Happy CNY to you too! Sounds delicious.

  3. LOL that’s so funny–I just posted my review of LORAC’s PRO palette today and when I was typing out all the shadow names from memory, I literally stopped at the end and thought the same thing about being super proud of myself :P haha

    I don’t really get into palettes that much (much prefer a nice duo or something more paired down) but I hear SO many good things about UD’s that I am kinda wanting another one. The only one I have is the Naked and I don’t EVER use that thing :/

    • How is it that makeup names get ingrained in my head so easily when I had trouble memorizing the periodic table of elements in high school? You know, at first I was all excited about Naked just because everyone else was, but when I actually look at it, I don’t think I would use it much. I like some ‘colorful neutrals’ along with my browns, taupes, and beiges. Otherwise, it just gets boring!

  4. Ooh, this does look like a nicely balanced palette! I don’t have much experience with UD’s shadows (the only ones I own are in the Rollergirl palette), and none with any of the microglitter shades, but I’m glad to hear the reformulated ones are less prone to fallout. I like how versatile the colors are!

  5. I haven’t tried the new formulations for the UD shadows, but I’m pretty happy with the old ones so I’m not planning to run out and buy any anytime soon :P I already have Smog (LOVE) and Last Call (dig it), Mildew (on the fence about), and Maui Wowie (wish there was no glitter as it’s so pretty as a shade), so I’d probably skip this palette, but on the whole it does seem fairly wearable!

    • The old ones were pretty good to begin with, although I will say they’ve released some cool new shades lately. And the packaging is seksi as hell, I had so much fun photographing it LOL oh my exciting little life. Smog’s a bit on the warm side for me, but Last Call and Maui Wowie are great. I don’t think I’ve seen you wear Last Call on the blog before, have I? You should do a look with that!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

