The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.73

Happy Wednesday, my lovely readers!  This week, I’m wondering…

1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?

“Love is helping mom” circa kindergarten.  I got major brownie points for that one.

2. Crepes, yay or nay?

I only ask because one of my friends does not like crepes, something I didn’t even know was possible.  I happen to love them.  With bananas, strawberries, and Nutella.  Please.

3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?

It’s a tough call between French and Russian, but I think I’m going to have to go with Russian on this one (bet you all thought I was going to pick French, huh?).  I love the way it sounds.

Come take part in TWW!  Simply copy/paste the questions, and answer them in the comments below.

1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?
2. Crepes, yay or nay?
3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?

Love,
MM &
the wednesday wigeon

17 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.73

  1. 1. Best Valentine: my boyfriend bought me gourmet cheeses and flowers. He sure knows the way to my heart :P
    2. Crepes, yay or nay? Definitely yay. You’d be hard-pressed to find something that I DON’T like. I love food :D
    3. I would instantly learn French–it would make my current French class go a lot easier!

    Happy Wednesday, dear MM! :D

    • ohh gourmet cheeses…sorry, what was the rest? :P God, I miss being able to buy cheese on a regular basis. I love food too! Must be why we bonded hahaha. You’re taking French? That’s awesome, I wanted to last semester but it just didn’t fit into my schedule. Happy belated Wednesday (what am I even saying, Happy Sunday!) to you, lovely!

  2. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?
    My boyfriend gave me a red rose and a small teddy bear holding a heart with the words I love you written on it the first time we celebrated this holiday. I thought it was very romantic.

    2. Crepes, yay or nay?
    Yay! love them!

    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?
    French.

  3. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?

    Humph. That’s a tough one. Can’t think of any on the top of my head to be honest ;)

    2. Crepes, yay or nay?

    Heck yeah! I made some a couple of days ago for pancake day. Ate all of them over a couple of days too (with Nutella and raspberry jam)!

    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?

    Russian. It’d be nice if I could finally understand why the boyfriend is laughing so hard at something on TV or when he’s talking to his parents. He has systematically refused to teach me too much Russian, but I also realistically know it’s a very tough language to learn.

    • Pancake Day?! What’s this now? mmm Nutella and raspberry jam, going to start salivating all over my keyboard soon. Your boyfriend speaks Russian? That’s awesome, and yes it does seem like a tough language to learn. Hope I can take some classes this summer!

      • Haha it’s typical to eat pancake on Mardi Gras. I guess that’s why the less religious people start calling it pancake day ;) My boyfriend is Russian. That’s what happens when you attend a Dutch class where I studied/he works. Everybody you meet is a foreigner!

  4. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?
    Uh. No idea, MM. Hahahahaha.
    2. Crepes, yay or nay?
    Yay! Both savory and sweet. I had amazing savory crepes in France… sigh.
    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?
    Well, I know some French, so I feel like that would be a waste. I’d go with…Russian is pretty cool. And hard, I know. And I already know some Korean, but it is also kind of hard, so maybe that, just because studying is junk when I don’t really like the language all that much, haha. But…ALL THE LANGUAGES ARE SO COOL.

  5. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?

    I usually receive the normal gifts – flowers, – so there nothing comes to mind haha.

    2. Crepes, yay or nay?

    Yay! If you follow my Instagram, you’d know how crazy I am for crepes.

    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?

    Korean? I’d love to watch variety shows/ dramas without subtitles!

    • What do you get on them? When I was in Taiwan I used to always stop by this one place that made honey, banana, and fresh whipped cream crepes OMG so amazing. I’d like to learn Korean too! But not as much as Russian and French.

  6. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received? Hmmm. probably something my kid made for me from school but I can’t remember! Kind of miss those yearly elementary school handmade gifts haha!

    2. Crepes, yay or nay? YAY. LOVE them!

    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose? French! Being Canadian I know a little and can understand most written things, but I’d love to be fluent.
    Being Ukrainian, Russian is ver similar, so I already can understand most of it and read it. I can’t believe you love the way it sounds though! It’s such a harsh sounding language to me. Full of hard Ks and Gs and lots of rolling rrrrrrrrrrrrssss :) Ukrainian is a bit softer sounding than Russian.:)

  7. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received?
    Ummmmm I always love the cards/chocolates I get from my family, and this year the boy gave me a beautiful bouquet and box of gourmet chocolates in all sorts of flavors, which was extremely awesome.

    2. Crepes, yay or nay?
    YAY! My mom actually made crepes this morning, ha! Some of them had parmesan cheese, ham, and a bit of mustard, and others had apricot sauce and sour cream. Super delicious. Nutella and banana was also an option (because I apparently live at a bed and breakfast?), but I just had 3 of the apricot ones instead. They were small, okay?!

    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose?
    Hrm, possibly Turkish, because learning Turkish is a rather vital part of my life plans, but I also kind of enjoy the process of learning the language, so…maybe Chinese or Arabic. Then I could freak out my students by chatting with them in their native language, heh :)

  8. 1. Best Valentine you’ve ever given/received? I don’t do V Day. :)
    2. Crepes, yay or nay? YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!
    3. If you could instantly learn any language, which one would you choose? French. Lot of well-paying and interesting bilingual jobs out there that I can’t apply for. *weeps*

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

