Eyes / Mid End

The Urban Decay Glinda Palette | Review & Swatches

urban-decay-glinda-palette-get-the-look-036

I’m completely food coma-d out right now, but I’m popping by to say Happy Monday!

Well, Happy Monday is the beginning of what I’m popping by to say.  I have so many exciting things to share with you this week, starting with my review of the Urban Decay Glinda Palette.  I just finished shooting two separate looks using these eyeshadows, which I’ll be sharing in an upcoming post.  For now, let me begin by telling you all about Glinda…

Urban Decay recently released two brand new palettes in collaboration with Disney’s Oz The Great and Powerful (more on that here).  And while I love the browns and greens that make up the Theodora palette, I found myself strangely drawn to Glinda’s light and airy color scheme.

ud-glinda-palette-pan-labels-027

The palette contains six pans, two of which are divided into separate shades.  Naturally, the split pans contain less product per color, but I don’t mind too much.  I can’t remember the last time I hit pan on an eyeshadow, let alone finished one.  That’s probably because it never happened.  Has anyone here finished an eyeshadow before?

The first shade, Tornado, is perhaps the darkest one of the bunch (it certainly has the darkest name).  It’s a deep eggplant shimmer with burgundy undertones, the requisite ‘depth’ shade to complement the rest of the palette.  It’s followed by Aura, one of the two duo-pans.  Aura features a pair of iridescent white shadows, one with red shift and the other leaning blue-green.  They remind me strongly of Fyrinnae’s Crimson Ghost and Jade Ghost, the first of which I own and would probably use a lot more if I could find a similar color in pressed form…and now I have!  Worn alone or layered over each other, they create a magical veil effect on the lids, which I’ve tried to capture in the swatches below.  Finally, there’s Magic, a pinkish purple shot through with a hint of gold shimmer.  I know it looks like an unwearable color, but it translates nicely on the eyes as long as I don’t wear it too high into the crease.

ud-glinda-palette-swatches-top-row-010

Torando, Aura, Magic

ud-glinda-palette-aura-swatches-004

Aura.  Gosh, it’s pretty.

Moving on to the bottom row, we have Illusion, a shimmery pale peach.  The shimmer is so subdued in this one I’d call it more of a satin, and from some angles it almost looks matte.  On the other side of the shimmer spectrum is Oz, the second split pan.  One side is a shimmery gold with flecks of silver glitter.  This is the one shade in the palette that gave me significant issues with fallout when applied with a brush, so I’d recommend patting it on with a finger instead.  The other side is a seriously intense, metallic silver.  I haven’t been brave enough to wear this yet, but I love the color.  Perhaps my next party look will feature this paired with tons of black liner.  Finally, there’s South.  I want to call it taupe, but prefer Urban Decay’s description of ‘warm gray.’  This shade, as well as the silver in Oz, both contain glitter, but it’s nowhere near as noticeable or problematic as the gold half of Oz.

ud-glinda-palette-swatches-bottom-row-015

Illusion, Oz, South

 ud-glinda-palette-lip-product-shot-033

The palette also comes with a mini 24/7 eyeliner in Rockstar (previously reviewed here, oh how my opinion on pricing has changed) and a Super Saturated Lip Color in Glinda.  Despite what the lip crayon looks like in the swatch below (and yes, that was supposed to be a heart on the right.  It’s…abstract), it’s paler than my natural lip color, resulting in a pretty coat of light pinkish-nude shimmer.  It goes on smoothly and wears for a comfortable 3-4 hours.

ud-glind-palette-eyeliner-lip-product-swatches-019

ud-glinda-palette-box-024

eight-fifteen-final-decision

Originally, my biggest concern with this palette was that it wouldn’t be versatile enough, considering the lack of neutral/dark shades.  After wearing this for a week or two, I’m happy to report it works very well for more than just the sweet pink look pictured in the promo.  Aside from Oz, the formulas were standard Urban Decay, which is to say very good.  I’m especially taken with the duo of shades in Aura, which complement every single shade in this palette beautifully.  At $49, it’s good value for 6 full-sized pans (all of which pop out in case you want to exchange one shadow for another), a mini liner, and a full size Super Saturated Lip Color.  Plus, I’m in love with the packaging.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch?  Who else is excited for the movie to come out?

Full Disclosure: The product featured in this review was submitted by PR for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please reference my disclaimer.

24 thoughts on “The Urban Decay Glinda Palette | Review & Swatches

    • Right? It makes a great base for other eyeshadows too, I’ve pretty much worn it under everything except my Guerlain palette this week (Guerlain is sacred. Although maybe I’ll try that…).

  1. Ugh, I keep telling myself I can resist these and then I see more reviews of these. I would consider myself a good witch, but I definitely want Theodora rather than Glinda. Great post!

    • Yup, quite impossible to resist once you start reading those reviews, huh? :P I can certainly see the appeal of Theodora, I just own too many similar shades already. Love the box on that one though.

  2. Thank you for the lovely swatches! You really captured the finishes well. I swatched the palette in stores and I was in love. I haven’t bought this yet but I just might.

    • Thank you, Janessa! I’m always so happy to hear I captured swatches accurately give my current lighting struggles LOL. Let me know if you do end up getting this! Would love to hear what you think, and how you wear it.

  3. Never finished an eyeshadow myself – though my MAC Arena will definitely get there someday – like even in the next year! YEEEEHAW!!

    As previously mentioned, these palettes didn’t do it for me – but then, palettes often don’t anyway because it’s too overwhelming! Nevertheless, I do like the aesthetic going on here – so springy and fresh :)

  4. Totes looking forward to seeing this movie! Awww…the palette is sooo purty…. Hmm…good witch I think…hehe ;)

    (Hi hi! Doing well. Thanks! Just kinda fell off the blogging wagon. Hoping to get back on but it is so hard! :P)

  5. wow! Such great swatches. I finally caved and received in the mail yesterday as all local retailers are sold out. My lids are ahem *mature*, so I will have to play with Aura some more. I may just relish gazing at it and your swatches. I think I’m replacing Oz with Walk of Shame. Seeing it in person next to Theodora, I am really excited to have it as I think the shades play nicely together. Oddly, I like Zero liner with Glinda and have envisioned Rockstar with Theodora. As a matter of fact, I ordered the palette because I wanted Glinda lip pencil and the Rockstar liner to go with Theodora. At that point liking 1 e/s made the palette a good buy.

    • Thanks Wendy! Hope you’re enjoying your palette :) If you don’t want to wear Aura on its own, I suggest layering the shades either under or over other eyeshadows. It’s a nice subtle way to add some depth and compexity to to your eye makeup!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

