Drugstore / Mid End / Skincare

I’ve Discovered French Baby Skincare & I’m Never Going Back

Pay attention, everyone.  I’ve found something I love even more than fancy French face oils. mustela-stelatopia-031

Did not have the mental energy to make this look good.  Use your imagination.

As a beauty addict who takes great pains to ensure a near-perfect complexion (so lazy when it comes to things like foundation and powder), I view any misbehavior on my skin’s part as a personal affront.  A month ago, I started experiencing severe dryness on my cheeks and around my nose.  While heavy-duty moisturizers provided temporary relief, I couldn’t seem to get rid of the flakiness no matter what I did.  Eye creams didn’t work.  Fougera A&D over eye creams didn’t work.  Sheet masks and exfoliators didn’t work.  My 100% Pure Argan Oil produced by a woman’s cooperative which shares profits among the woman of the Berber tribe in freaking Morocco didn’t work.  I went into shock when that last one produced no effect.  I’m sure you can imagine.

It was at that dark moment that I remembered this article, which prompted me to immediately board the bus to my nearest Target, where I made a beeline for the baby skincare section.

“Where are you going?” asked my friend, who at this point was used to me wandering off and getting lost all the time, and was probably worried that I was being my absentminded self again.  But I knew exactly where I was going and what I wanted, and I let out a silent scream (yes, they do exist) of joy when I saw Mustela Bebe Stelatopia on the shelves.

At $25 ($20 online) for 6.7 fl oz, it was hardly a gamble, although said friend was visibly taken aback at the price tag.  I should mention here that I had just introduced her to moisturizer a few months ago and she was using the $10 stuff, which I didn’t even know existed wow I’m terrible.

“No, you’re looking at this all wrong.  This is a good deal,” I tried to explain to her, “Price per ounce, it’s the cheapest moisturizer I’ve bought recently.”

She gave me an are you crazy look, but it went right over my head just as Stelatopia found its way into my shopping cart.  After the first application, the dry patches started to diminish.  A week later, they were totally gone, and my skin now feels baby-soft (when have I ever been able to resist throwing in lame puns?).  The moisturizer is fragrance and paraben-free, and you can view the full ingredients list here.  Best of all, it has a very light texture and sinks in quickly, which makes its hydrating prowess all the more impressive.

I can’t recommend this enough for those of you with very dry skin, or anyone who’s taken with the idea of using French baby skincare.  For the rest of the range, check out Target and Nordstrom.

How much do you usually pay for moisturizer?  Would you try something from Mustela Bebe?  I’m eyeing the Hydra-Stick with Cold Cream for my next purchase.  And is it just me, or do the French make the best skincare?  I mean, I love Liz Earle, but French skincare is just so good all the time.

P.S. I know I’ve been a bit sporadic with posting and blog commenting lately, and I’m blaming it all on my midterms.  Let’s pray for me to make it to spring break in one piece, shall we?

25 thoughts on “I’ve Discovered French Baby Skincare & I’m Never Going Back

  1. Ok I will just say that that I really dislike that Cat chick BUT those were some awesome products she recommended. I’ve actually been meaning to try Mustela for a while but keep forgetting. I do use Medicine Mama’s Gentle Nourishing Skin Cream though and LOVE it. I slather it all over my body and occasionally on my face and no breakouts (as long as use is kept at a minimum, I’m sure). It’s like the exact same thing as the much raved about Egyption Magic but its really nice and bonus is that it’s all-natural and I can use it on my dog :P

    • I feel like you either love her or hate her, there’s no in between. And ohh what’s this? I must check it out once I finish my tube of Stelatopia (if that ever happens, which is doubtful because this thing’s the size of a body lotion).

  2. LOL this whole post is hilarious! I’ve heard a lot about Mustela and I see the brand around all the time, but I haven’t tried anything yet! So glad to hear it helps! I would totally have suggested some kind of dry oil, but apparently your skin just wouldn’t have it this time ;)

  3. Ahaha, hahahahaha! $10 moisturizer! xD

    So great that you found something that works. French skincare is amazing (oh, to go to Paris and raid the pharmacie shelves!). Baby skincare is effective and gentle. So I believe you when you say that this really works! Love that it’s fragrance- and paraben-free.

    • I KNOW RIGHT. Like what?! Did I used to be aware of those and completely forget? Is this even real life?! *existential crisis*

      I completely agree with you there. I feel that French skincare is so reliable, you know? If I ever want a certain product and don’t have time to do research/find a favorite, I always turn to French pharmacy skincare first.

  4. I used to work at a baby store and we carried Mustela. I thought about using it on myself but never got around to buying it. I’m glad it works!

  5. I never would have thought of going to the baby section. Never ever!

    I’m so glad you figured out your skin problem. *insert something funny here as I’m too tired to think of anything witty or interesting to say like usual.*

  6. Yes first of all, please make it to Spring Break in one piece. Secondly, this is amazing. And tomorrow I am going to buy it. Your friend is slightly crazy, and I agree this is a great price (oh gosh does $10 moisturizer really exist??) coming from a girl who uses $50 moisturizer…this will be a steal for me. And it is French. And for little babettes. Love

    • I’M TRYINGG IT’S HARD. And YES! muahaha, how many things have I enabled you to buy at this point? Yeah, apparently it does…it’s like the makeup yeti or something. Right? What more can you possibly ask for than French moisturizer for little babettes that’s cheaper than your current moisturizer?

  7. In theory, I could probably stick to $10 face creams, but only if they were from Asian drugstore brands! I think Sephora carried Mustela products online at some point but never paid any attention until now.. I don’t know if I should be thanking you or cursing you for adding more to my wishlist ;P

  8. LOL MM – just LOL

    I’m glad you marched yourself over and grabbed what you needed like a total boss!

    Now, I need you to survive school and keep on blogging so that I can procrastinate on my school and read good blogs!

    • I knew what I needed and I wasn’t going to let a rational person’s perspective cloud my beauty addict judgment! Yup, on spring break now so I’ll do my best to keep those reviews coming :)

  9. AHHHHHH…BABY SKINCARE NOW I get it! This sounds effing awesome! I’ve never heard of the brand but I kinda want to hunt it down now! I don’t get many dry patches anymore *knock on wood* but it’s always great to have something like this in your arsenal. And definitely don’t let the ‘regular’ people talk you off the beauty ledge MM – it’s almost ALWAYS worth the crazy ;)

    • Yes, it wasn’t just me babbling! They have cleansers and all sorts of other fantastic things that I want to get my hands on. Should probably finish this stuff first though, which is going to take awhile seeing as its 3 times as big as my usual moisturizers. Oh, it’s always worth the crazy. In my head.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

