Adventures in the Kitchen

Photogenic Cookies | Recipe (& photos, duh)

photogenic-cookies-022

These are actually chocolate chip almond, toffee-stuffed cookies.  But I call them photogenic cookies.  For obvious reasons.

Every photogenic cookie begins with an equally photogenic soul.  Which, in this case, is a box of Trader Joe’s English Toffee with Milk Chocolate.

photogenic-cookies-008

photogenic-cookies-012

photogenic-cookies-016

Here’s a gratuitous quote from my friend: “The scattered almonds represent the fragmented discord of the baker, yet in a way they almost appear to be an organized chaos, like someone sneakily intervened to inject order into the baker’s life.”

He didn’t even see the cookies.  Or the toffee.  That’s how much I’ve been harping on and on about these.

photogenic-cookies-003

photogenic-cookies-001

See this ball of unbaked cookie dough?  There’s a square of toffee nestled inside, just waiting to become warm and melty and delicious.

photogenic-cookies-018

photogenic-cookies-023

And in case you were wondering, they taste good too.  Let’s make some, shall we?

Photogenic Cookies, adapted from Picky Palate’s Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients
½ cup softened unsalted butter
¾ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
5/8 teaspoon baking soda (so like, 1/2 teaspoon and then a lick more.  I’m a very technical baker)
3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
1 box Trader Joe’s English Toffee with Milk Chocolate

The Most Nonsensical Directions Ever
There’s a reason why this is “a beauty blog, with sprinklings of food.”  Not the other way around.

  1. Take toffee out of box.  Eat a couple pieces.  Decide you’re going to make cookies.  Strip the remaining pieces of their milk chocolate almond coating, and set aside along with all the almond chocolate crumbs at the bottom of the box.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Take each toffee piece and cut it in half.  Arrange on parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and photograph.
  4. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then mix in egg and vanilla extract.  Beat until well combined.
  5. Slowly add the remaining ingredients to your batter, mixing until just combined.  Add the chocolate chips and your set-aside milk chocolate almond crumb mess last.
  6. Scoop up a handful of dough (I don’t have any measurements here.  Eyeball it so you’ll have enough for 6 cookies) and divide in half.  Place a toffee square (or two, depending on how many you’ve previously eaten) in between the two scoops of dough.  Encase the toffee square, place on parchment paper, and press down slightly.
  7. Repeat until you have 6 cookies.  Bake for 9-13 minutes (I accidentally left mine in for 15-16), then let cool for 10 minutes.

You should be left with 6 very yummy, very camera-friendly cookies.  Enjoy.

27 thoughts on “Photogenic Cookies | Recipe (& photos, duh)

  1. I seriously just love reading anything you write. You make a recipe sound interesting and fun and I hate cooking…but this is baking, so I am down. I am TOTALLY making these for my grandma’s birthday. They look delish, and the pics have me salivating (not attractive, I know)

  2. Now MM, you have to SEND me some of those!!! I’d totally eat it for breakfast!!! No? K fine, I’ll bake my own (if I find chocolate with toffee that is. Toffee isn’t big here)!

    • LOL my mom did! I woke up and was like…where’d the rest of the cookies go?! She told me she shared them though, so at least I spread the cookie joy. And you should! If you can’t find toffee, I hear it’s pretty easy to make. And you can pretty much stuff it with anything you want…candy bars or marshmallows or biscoff spread maybe.

  3. So photogenic indeed! And I bet, pretty tasty too. It’s a shame, though, that every time I try to bake cookies, they end up turning into biscuits.

    • Really? Every time? That’s kind of hilarious hahaha maybe the biscuit fairies are hiding out at your house! I’ve heard that melting the butter instead of softening it results in a chewier cookie, so I might try that next time.

  4. OMG. C’MON MM, you’re killing me with these!!!! I want to make these RIGHT NOW but then since I’m alone I’d eat about ten all to myself and that would be bad news bears. THANKS A LOT. Sheesh. ;)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

