EOTD (Eye of the Day)

Trend Attempt | Ombre Liner

ombre-liner-cover-006

As much as I appreciate a well-done ombré job (although I’m much more into balayage these days), I have a strict no-effort policy when it comes to my hair. Which, now that I think about it, is probably I like the balayage effect so much.

But this is not about hair. This is not even really about ombré, except in the loosest sense. This is actually about the great time-sucking black hole that is Pinterest, and the stunning blue gradient liner I saw on my feed the other day (or was it today? I’ve been running on four hours of sleep a night lately, so you’ll have to pardon my total lack of time awareness).

I’m all for edgy looks that don’t require much effort, so I was excited to try it out for myself. Until I realized that I don’t own any blue liquid or gel liners (guys, how is this even possible? I adore blue), which are crucial for the look. Can’t make that little flicky flick with pencil, after all. Now, I know you’re all probably thinking well, why don’t you just use another color, you dodobird? But don’t you worry because I got there eventually. After like, twenty minutes of thinking. I worry myself sometimes.

So here we go, the green ombré liner look that’s so fantastically easy even I couldn’t mess it up:

ombre-liner-009

  • Line your eyes with a dark green liquid or gel eyeliner (this is the only step that requires liquid liner, the other two shades work fine with pencil), winging it out at the end. I’m using my favorite, reviewed here.
  • Then create your gradient! I lined the inner third of my lashline with Milani Liquif’Eye in Gold, and then blended the two shades together with my Bourjois Duochrome Eye Pencil in 61 Vert Doré.
  • Curl lashes, add mascara, all that fun stuff. It’s that easy.

Will you be trying the ombré look on your eyes?

34 thoughts on “Trend Attempt | Ombre Liner

  1. Wow, this is such a pretty look! It’s fun but not all the way out there. Smog looks like an awesome eyeliner, but I’m really horrible with that type of applicator so I have to pass. Otherwise it’s really my type of color :)

    • Thanks Sunny! I agree, it’s very close to the lashline so it doesn’t overpower the face, and I can totally get away with wearing this to class. Mmmm, I don’t remember if it took a long time to get used to or not, I’ve had it for quite some time haha. But I love the brush now b/c it’s so tiny and easy to control.

  2. Wow…how utterly cool is this?! I’ve seen this done before, but never with this colour combination which is just fabulous! Love the sly & subtle kick this gives to traditional eyeliner!

    • Aw, thanks Eugenia! I haven’t seen this color combo with ombre liner either, but I happened to have these colors on hand, so I thought I would try it. Turns out the result is pretty cool haha

  3. This looks amazing! The way I make a flick with a pencil is to use a cotton swab to create the flick. In fact, I do that with all my liners – I often end up colouring in a significant portion of my eye area and taking off everything I don’t want =P

    • Thank you! And ah yes, somehow that never seems to work out for me haha. My cotton swabs are too…loose? Unraveled? I can’t speak english today hahaha. Not very good for making clean lines.

      • The only liquid liner I have is black, and I go through them one by one. I find they dry up too fast for me to stock up >.< I prefer pencils though… AND they're easier to use for lazy people like me. Hahaha!

        • Surprisingly, I haven’t had a liquid liner dry up on me yet! I used to use pencils exclusively, but ever since I discovered the magic of winged liner, I’ve switched over to liquid on the upper lashline.

  4. Um, this is AMAZING. Seriously, seriously awesome. I don’t have much in the way of eyeliner (I don’t like how hard it is to get off…), but you’re making me rethink my collection…

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

