Bath & Body / My Favorite Things / Niche / Skincare

Rodin Olio Lusso | Review

press-sample-discaimer rodin-olio-lusso-trio-shot-032

If I told you how long I’ve been working on this post (and no, not in my head), you probably wouldn’t believe me. It’s partly because this week, just like the week before and the week that will surely follow after, has been crazy. I’m so numb to the world right now that I’ve been saying all sorts of ridiculous things. You should have seen the looks I got in class today when my professor reminded us of a due date, and I asked “what time?” Oh, and not just once. Four times. Bye-bye filter.

P.S. I still love college.

The other reason this review has been a long time coming has nothing to do with my personal life. You see, there are some products I simply fall in love with. And once I’m in love, I have this inexplicable urge to make the whole world follow in my footsteps so we can all jump off the cliff of beauty together, one after the other like joyful little lemmings. Only, how do I properly express all these feelings in words? It’s too difficult! So there’s my long-winded excuse of the week. Let’s get into the review!

rodin-olio-lusso-face-oil

Longtime readers have already heard my spiel on multipurpose oils, so in the interest of saving time today, I’ll spare you. For those who do dabble in oils, Rodin Olio Lusso should be a familiar name. Developed by Linda Rodin back in 2007, it’s achieved cult status in a relatively short period of time. The fascinating backstory, which you can read more about on ITG, makes a lot of sense when you look at the finished product.

When I first set about testing Rodin’s products, I was using Lierac Sensorielle as my benchmark. Compared to Sensorielle, Olio Lusso has a lighter, almost ‘drier’ finish. It sinks quickly into the skin, and leaves a healthy sheen behind. Very little is needed for one application, no more than 2-3 drops. I’ve been mixing this in with my beloved Mustela Stelatopia lately, and loving the results. Considering the multiple boxes of late-night carne-asada fries I’ve been eating and the all-nighters I’ve been pulling (don’t do it. Just don’t), my skin’s current state is nothing short of a miracle. I can’t tell you that using this product will instantly cure all your skin ills, but I’ve never used a moisturizer that makes me feel so happy before. I don’t know whether it’s the easy luxury of the product or its brilliant simplicity, but Olio Lusso imparts this feeling of…contentment? I know it sounds ridiculous, but perhaps fellow converts can chime in and let me know I’m not crazy.

Another thing I should mention is the scent. While Olio Lusso is made of 11 essential oils, the one I smell instantly upon uncapping the bottle is jasmine. It’s a very heady, raw sort of jasmine, so be warned if you’re not a fan of the flower. It stays close to the skin and isn’t a strong scent, but it’s a very distinct one. Good news is I love jasmine, so it’s a plus for me.

rodin-olio-lusso-trio-shot

The brand also offers several other things, all centered around the same philosophy. In addition to the face oil, I was sent sample vials of Rodin By Recine Hair Oil, which I mentioned in my haircare routine post, as well as the Rodin Body Oil. The ‘dryness’ of the formula is particularly evident in the hair oil; it feels so much lighter than Sensorielle, although I never thought of Sensorielle as heavy before using this. I just smooth 3 drops through damp hair, and it dries beautifully. As for the body oil, I like to mix a couple drops in with a generous pump of Aveeno right after I shower.

rodin-olio-lusso-prone-029

I’ll link the site here so you can take a look at the prices for yourself, but I’ll tell you right now that the face oil costs $150 for a 1 fl oz bottle (note that I’ve featured much smaller sample vials in this post). Nothing at Rodin comes cheap, but everything is incredibly luxurious, although not in the readily apparent way. When you use these products though, you understand why they’re priced so high. I once read an article in Food & Wine about Spanish chefs like Aduriz, who were trying to redefine luxury in food, moving from expensive proteins to local vegetables. There is a time for foie gras and caviar, but there is also something to be said for taking a potato from your backyard and finding a way to turn it into something that doesn’t scream ‘status symbol,’ that tastes luxurious in a much simpler, more straightforward way. That, to me, is what Linda Rodin has done with her line of products. And I love it.

Are you a fan of face oils? Have you tried Olio Lusso yet? Who else really wants to try Aduriz’s potatoes?

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided by PR for editorial consideration and review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please see my disclaimer.

24 thoughts on “Rodin Olio Lusso | Review

  1. I love this stuff!! My mom uses it and although I can’t really afford it, I take some of hers from time to time when my skin really needs it and it is lovely. Beautiful pictures!

  2. I haven’t tried any face oil that I’m in love with. I was curious about this, but once I read that it smells strongly of jasmine, ahem… no thanks. I don’t mind a hint of jasmine mixed with lots of other stronger scents (LOL!) but jasmine itself makes me gag. I have no idea why…
    Too bad… because this certainly sounds lovely :-)

  3. Oh God this is lovely…I have ALWAYS wanted to try…well, EVERYTHING from Rodin. The face oil, body oil, hair oil, lip balm…it all looks so impossibly chic and I’ve read nothing but good things! Plus I LOVE jasmine!! :D

  4. Dry oil? Did you say dry oil??? I’m a huge fan of dry oil, but I haven’t dabbled in the brand yet! You have created some major lemmings here, MM!

    • That depends, what exactly is a dry oil? hahaha, it’s a drier oil than what I was previously using, but I’m not sure if it’s a dry oil or not…but it’s lovely which is all that counts in my book :) Just doin’ my job LOL

  5. I REALLY wanted to try this oil but I’m very nervous due to my scent-averse skin. Maybe one day I’ll manage to score a sample to check out – in the meantime, I’ll keep having your fab review replaying in my head and taunting me, so THANKS MM. THANKS A LOT.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

