Eyes / High End / Mid End

Feeding My Blue Addiction With Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils | Review & Swatches

press-sample-discaimer

This week has featured a lot of sitting around and gazing morosely at my bed as I type and type and then type some more. There’s been the slightest bit of studying and frantic textbook scanning in there too, but it’s mostly typing. So you may understand why I’ve been a little keyboard-shy in my spare time. I’m back today though, and finally finished editing the truckload of pictures I took for this review, most of which will never see the light of day. Ah, the life of a beauty blogger.

ud-new-pencils-cover-008

My fondness for blue eye makeup has steadily grown over the course of the year, and when this box of 24/7 Glide-On Penciles from Urban Decay landed in my mailbox last month, I was hoping they’d be as beautiful in person as they look online. While there always seems to be some debate on whether these are worth the hype or not, they remain my go-to for colorful pencil liners. They make a nice dash of bright color on the lower lashline, but look equally cool layered over a crisp cat eye. They also make fantastic (and long-wearing) cream shadows when the mood strikes, which is how I’ve been wearing them lately. Readers who remember this blog in its baby days may have read my previous review of the formula, which (and I can’t believe I’m doing this because yikes and many cringes for the pictures) I’ll link here. I stand by much of what I said in that previous review, namely that Urban Decay is particularly good when it comes to shades you won’t usually see at the drugstore. The only thing that’s changed is my opinion on pricing; I honestly can’t say the $19 price tag freaks me out anymore, and keep in mind it was $17 at the time of my original review when I was all egads! It costs a fortune. Probably not a good thing…

Some of the blues shown below are brand-new shades, while others are ‘revamped’ or previously exclusive. I’m going to go through them one by one, so prepare yourself for an onslaught of blue. Are you ready?

ud-247-blue-liner-swatches-012

From left to right:

  • Sabbathdeep navy matte: The texture on this one is particularly good. The 24/7 liners are known for being creamy like the best hummus you’ve ever had (just worked out and my dinner was oatmeal, so of course I’m thinking about food), but this is by far the smoothest liner I’ve ever used from the brand. The pigmentation is deep and even, and the finish is is so slick it’s borderline satin.
  • LSDnavy shimmer with bright turquoise micro-sparkle: My favorite of all the ones I tried. Isn’t it mesmerizing, with those electric blue sparkles against that navy base? I like to wear this one blended out on my lids like a cream shadow (see below).
  • Junkie, metallic teal shimmer with gold microsparkle: A mermaid-like liner if I ever saw one. I love these types of shades from spring and summer, especially with a bronzy gold eye.
  • Loaded, dark green shimmer: Although Urban Decay describes this shade as a shimmer, it looks more like a cream finish to me. Good formula on this one, but it’s not really my color.

ud-new-liners-eye-swatch-003

wearing LSD on the lid and lower lashline

ud-247-blue-liner-swatches-014

From left  to right:

  • Abyss, bright metallic blue shimmer with blue micro-sparkle: These swatches were done after I removed the first set of liners, and I’m afraid the colors are a bit faded. Abyss is much brighter than it’s showing up, as you can see in Temptalia’s swatch here. A vibrant, mid-tone blue.
  • Deep End, bright metallic peacock shimmer: This is lighter and brighter than Junkie, with a blueish metallic overlay.
  • Chaos, vibrant cobalt blue matte with slight floating pearl: I’m not even going to ask what ‘slight floating pearl’ means, but this looks entirely matte to my eyes (the shimmers are from the previous shades, I need to get better at this swatching business). It’s entirely unique to my stash, almost like a biro-pen blue. A close second favorite.

ud-new-pencils-closeup-013

from left to right: Sabbath, LSD, Junkie, Loaded, Abyss, Deep End, Chaos

ud-new-glide-on-pencils-014

If you’re a pencil-wearer, make sure you give these a look. They may not be the best of the best, but the incredible shade range and solid formula make them an easy choice. My personal recommendations are LSD, Sabbath, Chaos, and Junkie.

How do you wear colored liners? Which of these is your favorite? Let’s chat.

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided for my editorial consideration and honest review. For more information, please see my disclaimer.

32 thoughts on “Feeding My Blue Addiction With Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils | Review & Swatches

  1. I love all of them! I don’t have very bright ones, and the colours I pick usually lean neutral, like khaki, bronze, dark blue so I won’t go overboard. Conservative work environment!

    • Mmm that defintiely makes sense, I suppose I should enjoy color while I can pretty much wear whatever I want to class! I do love neutral liners too though, khaki sounds so pretty.

  2. I love all the blues, ESP the deep colored ones! I am always afraid of wearing colored liners/shadows but I think layering them with the black liner on top like what you did looks awesome! I need to try that with some of my bright liners that’s been sitting there.

  3. Sabbath and LSD are my favorite. I have been waiting for this post so I could finally make up my mind haha!! I love blue liner way too much, and wearing LSD as a cream shadow looks amazing, and it looks especially good on you!! Good luck with all that typing…and hummus…yummy

  4. I actually think those are a very good deal and I like that they have bright colours. I need some more bright liners and actually thought of UD or MUFE. Deep End and Chaos look like colours I would wear a lot, thank you for the swatches xxx

  5. Deep End might be my favorite! I like colored liners on my lower lash line, and 24/7 ones are my first love! They stay pretty well on too, and that’s always good news :) I have to admit the really glittery one intimidate me a little though!

    • Yes they’re one of those classics that have been around forever! Ah, I happen to LOVE glitter (you’ll see when I post the Moondust swatches) so definitely not an issue for me hahaha.

  6. They are all beautiful, especially LSD and Junkie. I love these pencils, they are creamy, pigmented and last fairly long on my waterline too. And they are available in so many colourful and unusual shades!

  7. I’m sure that I had one or two or some of these, but I had to give up on pencil liners completely as NOTHING will stay put on my eyes. Not going to waste my time and money with pencils anymore!

    • I know haha, sometimes I forget that a lot of their shade names are drug-related because I’ve gotten so used to it. I would like these even more if they named them things like…oh I dunno, landmarks inspired by Paris? :P But I agree, blues are the best for summer!

  8. I have a couple of the UD blues. I usually blend them into black liner, but today I wore Flipside on its own, and it wasn’t bad! They usually transfer all over the place when I wear them alone, though :(

  9. Even though I love looking at sparkly liners, I hate them in practice – not a fan on my eyes, sadly. I really like Sabbath though, and have thought about getting the liquid liner form before they had this pencil. Might have to give in to one or the other at some point, I love me a good navy liner!

  10. Sabbath and LSD are calling my name, but eyeliner is one product I still won’t pay lots of money for––$30 lip gloss, sure, no problem, but eyeliner more than $6? How dare they charge so much?! (It’s logical in my head.) Maybe I’ll get a gift card someday…

    • I love these liners. I got 8 new colors today & I’m already obsessed with the glittery blue LSD. I’ve never wore blue liner before but I think it’s my new fave!! All of them glide on evenly & stay put! I’m happy.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

