Eyes / Mid End

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows | Review, Swatches, and a Whole Lotta Glitter

press-sample-discaimer

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

Remember when I previewed these Moondust Eyeshadows back in April? The press release contained something along the lines of ‘sophisticated sparkle’ and ‘out of this world.’ Well, they got the second part right. As for the first bit, I’d say it’s more like someone whacked a pinata full of my favorite glitter-vomiting unicorns and they all exploded and fell into a pan. If that’s your definition of sophisticated sparkle, then sure, let’s go with it.

The packaging mimics that of the brand’s revamped singles, but with a paler gray casing than their regular eyeshadow line. Of the seven shades, I received Zodiac, Space Cowboy, and Stargazer:

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

Which I proceeded to swatch in the wrong order because that’s just what I do:

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

left to right: Space Cowboy, Stargazer, Zodiac. Swatched dry, no primer.

I must say this every other review, but my camera had a hard time accurately capturing the color and finish on these. While not entirely apparent from the swatches above, these contain more sparkle than anything else in my stash. The effect reminds me of sunlight hitting water, resulting in a rather ‘wet’ glitter. The formula might look like one of the many reiterations of the Giorgio Armani ETK eyeshadows, but feels no different than a powder eyeshadow. I’ve heard it likened to MAC’s Pressed Pigments, but don’t have those on hand to compare. Thankfully, the glitter particles are very fine, so there’s no sensation of grittiness here. These go on nice and smooth, just like Urban Decay’s regular eyeshadows. There is fallout, of course, but it can be controlled through careful application. Under no circumstances should you attempt to blend these out with a fluffy brush (as I learned one fine morning when I showed up to discussion with the remnants of Space Cowboy all over my face. And clothes). Instead, use a patting motion over primer or Pixie Epoxy to contain the glitter to the desired area.

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

As for the colors, here’s a more thorough rundown:

  • Zodiac, smoky black with blue-green shift and blue-green 3D sparkleOut of the three, this is the most complex shade. At some angles, it looks like a smokey black with a hint of green, while at others the green overlay really comes through. I assume ’3D sparkle’ refers to the holographic shimmers throughout the shade. It’s particularly stunning on the upper lashline (as I’m wearing it below), like a little row of Christmas lights twinkling above my lashes.
  • Space Cowboy, light champagne with bright silver sparkle: Gorgeous, gorgeous shade. It’s like someone crushed up a bunch of diamonds and dumped them on a pretty champagne eyeshadow. I’m slightly at a loss as to how to wear this one, though, since it’s much too eye-catching to be worn as a highlight. Suggestions?
  • Stargazer, metallic lime-gold with gold 3D sparkle: There’s a slight duochrome on this one as well. At some angles, it’s more gold, while at others it leans chartreuse. Definitely not for the faint of heart (none of them are, really), and looks almost molten on the eyes.

Again, I’m afraid I was unable to capture just how sparkly these are on camera, but here are a few shots of Zodiac (top row) and Stargazer (bottom) on my upper lashline:

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows Review & Swatches | Makeup Morsels

The Moondust Eyeshadows are one of those love-it-or-hate-it products. They are very, very glittery, so don’t think you’re going to be able to wear these subtly. Even when I use them as a liner, they still catch the light. Or to be more accurate, they grab the light and start throwing it around like a disco party while singing at the top of their lungs. That said, I absolutely love these for a party look, and Zodiac makes a killer smokey eye (and yes, I did wear it all over my lid in a cat-eye shape one time. I took pictures, but it was dark and I was dancing so it’s basically a blurry dark blob on a slightly less dark blob. Imagine it if you must). They’re also great for adding a bit more fun to your everyday liner & lashes combo, as demonstrated above. If you’re a glitter lover, do give these a look. And remember, pat! Don’t blend.

The Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows retail at $20 per .05 oz pan.

How much glitter can you handle? What’s your favorite way to wear it? Have you tried the Moondust Eyeshadows?

*Updating this post with a link to the lovely Christine of Temptalia’s swatches (she has 6 shades, including all of the ones I reviewed), where you can really see the spectacular finish of Space Cowboy.

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided free of charge by PR for editorial consideration and review. For more information, please refer to my disclaimer.

32 thoughts on “Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadows | Review, Swatches, and a Whole Lotta Glitter

  1. Wow, super pretty. I don’t think there is ever such thing as too much glitter, so these are right up my alley!! I think I need them all. And maybe backups so I can bathe in them.

  2. I really like the pink and purple shades in this line, but I’m thinking that I probably won’t be happy until I have them all. They really are so pretty. I don’t care if it looks like I’ve been vomited on by a unicorn ;) (I laughed so much) I just love the girliness!

  3. You and your unicorns with morning sickness. ROFL!
    I don’t have anything against glittery eye shadows, but some work and some don’t. These colours look gorgeous on your eyes though :-)

  4. Ahhh damn it, MM. They were pretty in the pan and all but I was thinking that i could definitely go without it. Then I saw how gorgeous it looked applied just on the upper lashline over the black liner with the lovely winged out shape. Now, I MUST have Zodiac!! Ugh…so pretty! So thanks…I think :P LOL!

  5. Haha vomiting unicorns? Really? :p

    I really like some of the shades, but glitter is really not something I’m prepared to deal with. If it’s in a relatively fallout-free formula (like ETK) then yes, gimme the sparkle. In a pressed shadow I’m afraid I’ll have to pass!

  6. “…someone whacked a pinata full of my favorite glitter-vomiting unicorns…” Ugh, you are my favorite. Favorite!

    I almost never buy glitter eye shadow. It’s just too much for me. It reminds me of high school or, like, raves or something. Not that I ever went to one, but I imagine there was a lot of glitter.

  7. Oooh those are gorgeous! Can’t wait to get my hands on Stargazer. All the people who don’t like glitter….it’s pretty if you just use a little bit like in the pics on this blog. It only looks like too much when it’s all over the entire eye area. I love using glitter as liner, it brightens up my eyes so much.

  8. The more I age, the more I find myself going “ewww” when I see glitter. But UD does a good job in incorporating glitter to their shadows, it actually enhances the whole finish. Gosh…!

  9. Glitter vomiting unicorns!! LOL! You are hilarious… I actually like UD’s glittery eyeshadows…they are just as smooth and buttery as their other shadows…

  10. These are NOT my kind of shadows – glitter shadows are at the bottom of my list, I hate fallout, and I’m too lazy for careful application! That being said, you sure do wear ‘em well, MM…you make me want to give the very small number of glitter shadows I have another chance (in the right setting).

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

