Adventures in the Kitchen / Food!

Kitchen Adventures | (Formerly) Healthy Banana Soft Serve

banana-soft-serve-avec-unhealthy-crap

This summer, the unthinkable happened. Writing beauty content for one publication (not Makeup Morsels, obviously) and interning for another did what 3.5+ years of blogging failed to accomplish. I am—would you believe it?—experiencing the symptoms of beauty fatigue. No, not the type you get when you’re actually sick of beauty (I’m a looong way off from that), but sometimes I’d just like to enjoy my free time sans Photoshop and WordPress. Of course, this is hardly a long-term issue. I still find myself refreshing my lipstick as I flip through my leisure reading, so I take that as a sign that my inner beauty addict is alive and well. She just needs a mini vacation, is all.

For those of you who do miss my ramblings on all things pretty, the post de jour happens to be related to beauty, in the way that ponies are related to narwhals (pony, unicorn, narwhal. Do you see?).

Hmm, better shelve this one under ‘food’ instead.

I’ve been curious about this 1-ingredient soft-serve-slash-ice-cream for quite some time now. If you have Internet, you’ve probably seen it already, the promise that frozen bananas thrown into a food processor will yield something akin to magic. Can you blame me for being worried that it would be one of those recipes that looks great on paper but ends with me crying on the kitchen floor, eating Nutella straight out of the jar?

banana-soft-serve

I first tried the recipe à la Top With Cinnamon. It was surprisingly good, but I wanted something richer, closer to the flavor of actual soft serve. After a few tweaks, I got something that was probably twice the caloric content (at least) of the original recipe, but so delicious I just had to share. The flavor of banana is far too strong for this to ever pass for real ice cream, but it’s a delicious summer treat that’s reasonably healthy. Well, was reasonably healthy until I got my hands on it.

Chocolate Graham Cracker Banana Soft Serve, verrryyy loosely adapted from Top With Cinnamon

Ingredients
*ok, I actually have no idea about the measurements because I just started throwing things in there. But based on my extremely scientific process of eyeballing the quantities…in my memory, this is what I got.

  • 3-4 bananas, sliced and frozen
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt (I used Fage 0%)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp Nutella
  • 3 graham crackers, broken into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Pour frozen banana slices into food processor along with baking soda, pulsing until you have something resembling the consistency of soft serve (see photo above).
  2. Add yogurt, cocoa powder, and Nutella, pulsing until incorporated.
  3. Add graham cracker pieces and chocolate chips. Be careful not to over-process, so you still get some texture in your soft serve.
  4. Pour contents into bowl or Tupperware, cover with parchment paper, and freeze for 1 hour. If you want something more like ice cream, freeze 4+ hours.
  5. Enjoy your wholesome(ish) treat!

Yields ~3 servings.

xo,
MM

20 thoughts on “Kitchen Adventures | (Formerly) Healthy Banana Soft Serve

  1. OMG I need a food processor! Well a new one anyways. My old one kinda broke and is extremely small. This looks so delicious!

    You must have had some exciting opportunities in the beauty-writing business! ;)

    • YEAH YOU DO. I love my food processor, it makes life so much easier. Mine’s pretty small too though, I barely managed to cram everything in here, and the soft serve was practically overflowing by the time I was done. Hope you can try this soon, let me know how you like it :)

    • Mini vacation over, time to get back into gear LOL. Will definitely have beauty content up by the end of the week, but mixing it up with some other non-beauty things too :)

  2. My bf picked up a Yonanas machine, it was great when he made it for the first week. I wonder where that machine went to. Ill have to pull it back out bc this looks divine. Glad to hear your beauty fanatic self is still intact :-)

    • I didn’t even know those existed! That’s awesome, you must find it immediately and make some banana ice cream :D I just tried a new version today with a spoonful of chai tea mix, honey, one graham cracker, and a granola bar. It was amazinggg

  3. OOOOOmg…excuse me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard. :P

    This is amazing, MM! I want it I want it I want it NOW! I love frozen bananas but don’t believe I have ever attempted a blended “soft serve” type of frozen banana recipe! I really like the sound of the Nutella…and adding Fage?? GENIUS! Did I tell you that I finally tried Fage a couple of weeks ago and I am in LOVE. I swear, the first thought that passed through my mind immediately after taking a bit was “DAMN–this is better than ice cream!” Seriously though, it’s sooo rich and decadent all on its own, I can’t even imagine that amazingness that would ensue once adding frozen banana goodness! :D I’m definitely going to try your recipe this weekend (though I may add cinnamon bc I really like the sound of the Top With Cinnamon version, too!). I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Speaking of drool-worthy things, I just made that ribeye with blue cheese caramelized onion sauce again tonight and OHMYGOD. That recipe is going to be the sole reason I can no longer fit into any of my clothes. Anyways, back on topic, you should definitely try it! So easy but very satisfying and not too bad for you compared to certain steak dishes…

      Also, YES. Fage is hands-down the best Greek yogurt I’ve ever tried/the only one I’ll eat. I heard it’s because they have a much higher ratio of milk in their yogurt than other brands.

  4. I DON’T write enough to experience ‘legit’ fatigue and yet I can entirely get where you’re coming from, MM! I’m still very much head over heels for beauty, but taking the time to write thoughtful posts just hasn’t been my #1 priority lately :( I’m still around though! Much like you are, and apparently whipping up some YUMMY treats! It’s like, 10pm here but damn it if I don’t want a lil bit of that RIGHT NOW.

    • Right now I’m just trying to mix up beauty content with some other things so I feel more motivated to write consistently. The thing is I still love beauty A LOT, I just don’t necessarily want to write about it all the time after I’ve just spent all day doing beauty things! And I totally sanction this as a late night snack, like cmon it’s fruit!

  5. Oh good lord, that sounds absolutely divine. Yowzers. And I don’t know what you’re talking about, this is SUPER healthy. Fruit doesn’t have calories, after all…

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

