The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.78

Quick update: there will be beauty content coming toward the end of the week! But for now, let’s all indulge in this time-honored tradition.

1. Finds of the week:

This universal car mount from iOttie is quite possibly the best thing I’ve found all month. I just discovered the existence of phone mounts yesterday, and promptly overnighted one from amazon. I am so tired of glancing down at my GPS while I drive, and then looking up and being all hey, where did the road go? 

Just kidding, I’m actually a very good driver. Ask all the people who refuse to get in my car because they’re so intimated by my top-notch driving skills.

2. Whose voice do you hear in your head when you read or write?

Does everyone hear an inner narrator when they read or write? Mine’s female, but it’s not my voice. It’s not Siri’s voice either. It’s bizarre.

While I was reading my beloved ROTK the other night, I decided to uses the actors’ voices to narrate their respective characters’ lines (in my head, where else?). Benedict Cumberbatch read the rest. It was great.

3. CAN WE DISCUSS THIS?

*And before this turns into a full-fledged rant in the comments, I know. Legolas and Tauriel. I see them too, and it’s all very confusing. But I’m just going to say I’m not all that upset because at least the timeline fits with the events of the book. Tolkien just hadn’t created the character of Legolas yet, but his dad Thranduil was there and we know Legolas lived in Mirkwood so it’s not like he was studying abroad or anything. Although I don’t know where they’re going to put Legolas, seeing as he once told Gimli he hates caves with a passion. Does he get his own private tree house or something? Or maybe cave-phobia didn’t set in until later on in his life. I have no idea.

And while we’re on the subject, let’s talk about this too. Lee Pace flailing and Orlando Bloom in Legolas-gear doing a Smaug impression…I think my Internet just exploded.

Lots to discuss this week! To take part in TWW, simply copy/paste the questions and answer them in the comments below.

1. Finds of the week:
2. Whose voice do you hear in your head when you read or write?
3. The Desolation of Smaug! Everyone, chime in.

xo,
MM &
the wednesday wigeon

13 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.78

  1. 1. Finds of the week: I’ve found that I still indeed hate allergy headaches. Get out of here, pollen!

    2. Whose voice do you hear in your head when you read or write? I definitely hear a voice, and it’s pretty much mine. I read every word to myself in my head. I suspect speed readers don’t do this. They just look at the words and…absorb. Or something?

    3. The Desolation of Smaug! Everyone, chime in. Was that Kate from Lost as an Elf?! And her ex-boyfriend Dominic Monaghan was a hobbit in LOTR! Merry! Wahhhh!

    Or am I just totally wrong about who that red-headed elf was? My allergy headache is too annoying for me to look it up on IMDB.

    • Aw :( Allergies really are the worst, I hope you feel better soon! I’m a bit of a speed reader, so I did have to slow down a lot to do my great ROTK narration hahaha. But even when I look at the page and sort of absorb it…it’s kind of like a bunch of voices are picking different phrases off the page and voicing them all at the same time? But it’s like one overlapping voice that’s the same. Gahh I dunno, getting out of my head now!

      And yes, I believe that is Kate from Lost now Tauriel hahahah.

  2. HAHAHA I WAS FLAILING all over the place after the trailer. ONE because Kate is FROM MY TOWN so it’s like I have a connection to the movie now at least in my own head LOL. I like the invented character she plays so pfft. :)
    I’m kind of digging this new invented version of the story to tell you the truth-it makes it a bit more BETTER I think? I don’t know. I think I’m just so crazy excited by the movie-s I can’t take it anymore lol and LEE PACE OMG I AM DYING HE’S SO BEAUTIFUL did you see his BROWS

  3. 1. Finds of the week? All new level of violence because I just started watching GoT. I’m still processing it.
    2. I think it’s my voice… but I read really fast so it’s like my voice, fast forward x10??
    3. Uummmm…. Can I say that I know I’d hate waiting for the 3rd one? I wish they’d release all 3 at the same time. I don’t mind sitting in the cinema for 9 hours. Really. LOL!

    • hahaha how far are you into GoT? I remember being slightly traumatized by the first episode, even though I’d already read the books and knew what was going to happen. Man, they don’t hold back on the gore or the sound effects.

      And yes, I hate that too! Forget the third one, I already hate waiting for this one.

  4. LOLOL best comment in that Facebook video: “They are taking the fans to Isengard!” LMAO.

    Thanks for clearing up the Legolas bit. I’m actually really excited to hear that he’ll be one of the elves in Mirkwood. I think that has to be one of my favourite parts of the book. SO ENCHANTING.

  5. Finds of the week: I am obsessed with Coconut Water now!!!
    Voice: I hear Alan Rickman’s voice. I am so happy about that.
    AND OMG FLAILING AND DYING OVER THAT TRAILER EEEEK

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

