Lips / Mid End

Senna’s Summer Lip Lacquers | Review & Swatches

Miss your daily MM update? You can now find me over at LifestyleMirror, 5 days a week.

full disclosure press sample disclaimersenna-summer-lip-lacquers-review-swatches-620x525

Deer-in-the-headlights because I don’t know how to take a normal picture.

Lipstick bandit. Lipstick junkie. How many lipsticks do I own? (ok, that last one’s not even a thing).

I really like lipstick. And in my pursuit of the perfect red and the punchiest summer coral, certain things—namely, lipgloss—tend to get pushed aside. Because why risk getting your hair sticky and tracking lines all over your face when you could just whip out your favorite gloss balm and get the same shine, am I right?

Every once in awhile though, I make an exception for a truly stunning shade. And because Senna has been killing it in the lip lacquer department since the beginning of time, I wasn’t even that surprised when I found not one but two glosses to love from their summer launch.

senna-summer-lip-lacquers-review-and-swatches-620x686

The first is the aptly named Sunstone, pictured above and described as “sparkling golden amber.” It’s a stunner of a rose gold, a warm nude loaded with golden shimmers. It also translates beautifully onto the lips, giving them a hint of iridescent shine and warmth without washing them out. It’s perfect with the classic summer look: glowy skin, bronzed eyes, and a light application of liner.

Then there’s Bonfire, which I mistook for bright red at first. Upon closer inspection, it’s more of a tomato red meets coral, “blood orange shine” as they call it. What I love most about this shade is how easily buildable it is; I usually wear a light coat in the interest of saving time, but if you work with it a little bit you can get something closer to the promo look. Colors this intense (particularly when they come in cream finishes) tend to go patchy on the lips, so I was delighted at how smoothly this went on. And I must admit, it’s a nice change of pace from my usual, cool-toned berry red lips.

senna-summer-lip-lacquers-review-and-swatches-620x615

senna-summer-lip-lacquers-review-620x455

I’m wearing a very light coat of both shades in the picture below, so you can get some idea of how they look on people who are not models. I’m afraid the closeup doesn’t do Sunstone justice, but you’ll just have to believe me when I say it really is the perfect summer gloss.

For those of you who haven’t tried Senna’s gloss formula before, it is a little bit on the sticky side. While we’re not talking anything remotely near MAC-sticky, it’s certainly not one of those weightless formulas either. I’d describe it as more of a cushy gloss, something you can definitely feel on your lips but shouldn’t bother you too much. I’m sure it’s also part of the reason these lacquers wear forever, so I have no complaints.

senna-summer-lip-lacquers-swatches-620x261

Perhaps working at a luxury lifestyle magazine has skewed my perception of pricing, but at $20 per tube I think these are well worth it. The packaging is chic and simple, the colors are spot-on for summer, and they still sit a good $5-10 below the standard luxury gloss bracket. I can’t wait to see how the rest of the collection stacks up.

Have you tried Senna’s Lip Lacquers? What’s your favorite summer gloss formula?

xo,
MM

Speaking of Senna, I recently caught up with founder Eugenia Weston and we chatted about brows. Check out the story here.

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were submitted by PR for editorial consideration and review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please refer to my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Senna’s Summer Lip Lacquers | Review & Swatches

  1. Oh hello! A face! (Or did I miss a previous face? :) ) Looking lovely MM :) The formula doesn’t sound like something I’d like but the colour is pretty!

  2. MM FACE.

    I like the colors, but STICKY IS NOOOOOOOOOOO.

    And that is not a real sentence but I’m writing my dissertation (I feel like I’ve been doing this for years, everyone has to be tired of me whinging on about it, but seriously, this is my life right now) and I don’t have useful words left. T_T

  3. I’m a big fan of Senna glosses. A lot of people complain about the stickiness, but that’s what makes them last, and these stay put for ages, which I love. These new shades are very pretty, especially Bonfire.

    • I know, I love that I can apply these once and not have to constantly worry about them! And they’re definitely not the stickiest glosses I’ve tried so I’m fine with the formula.

  4. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOUR FACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D

    I like the sounds of these glosses, and you are wearing them EXCEPTIONALLY well my dear. Senna isn’t easy to get my hands on, but I always like hearing/seeing what they have coming out because it’s generally so pretty and wearable :)

  5. Eee, no to sticky glosses, no matter how pretty they are. You look gorgeous with them on though :-) Now that you’ve done a half face, you can proceed to full face now. The one on Instagram doesn’t count. LOL!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

