Adventures in the Kitchen

Kitchen Adventures | Cereal Cookies

cereal-cookies-620x613

Success! Just barely made it, but here you have (as promised) my second post of the week. Let’s talk about cookies today. While I’ve completely neglected my duties as designated chef since starting my new job, I did manage to bake this batch of cookies one weekend. And since we all know I tend to throw in whatever is at hand, you probably won’t be that surprised to hear of my cereal experiment.

Guys, cereal in cookies is amazing. I first got the idea when the genius Jenny of Picky Palate made these Frosted Flake cookies. I knew I wanted something much less sweet though, so I used my favorite cereal instead: Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds, then added some crushed-up Heath bits. You guys. I have not felt so strongly about a recipe since I recreated The Pioneer Woman‘s ribeye steak with onion blue cheese sauce. You have to try these, especially if you’re not fond of overly sweet desserts. They’re perfection, thin and crisp and a little bit chewy. You get texture from the cereal and melted toffee bits, and also the slightest hint of savory…like the heaven that is Momofuku’s Cereal Milk.

cereal-cookies-620x535

The good thing is that these are cookies are therefore impossible to mess up no matter your level of baking skill.

Case in point? Even when I accidentally added too much flour to this batch (which is why these look like cookies that decided they wanted to be scones halfway through the baking process) and added dried cranberries, they still turned out delicious. It’s the cereal, I tell you. It’s a magic ingredient.

cereal-cookies-620x354

Like no, I did not ok this decision. Go back to being cookies, you.

Cereal Cookies, veryyyyy loosely adapted from Picky Palate’s Frosted Flakes White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 large egg, beaten (or you know, one regular sized egg)
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup Honey Bunches of Oats cereal
  • 1/2 cup Heath chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a cookie pan with parchment paper.
  2. Cream your butter and sugars, and yes, you can totally do this with a spoon.
  3. Add your egg and vanilla, beating until combined. Slowly add in your dry ingredients (save the cereal and Heath chips for later), mixing until just combined.
  4. Place cereal in Ziploc bag, zip it closed, and just go to town crushing it. Approved methods: rolling pin, food processor, or just start hitting it with the cookie pan (guess which one I chose?). Pour crushed cereal and Heath chips into your bowl and incorporate into dough.
  5. Using a cookie scoop or regular spoon, drop dough in a uniform manner onto your cookie pan. Bake for 10-12 minutes, let cool, and enjoy!

Makes a dozen cookies.

Happy baking!

xo,
MM

P.S. Catch me on LifestyleMirror for 25 new stories a week. A couple of highlights from the week: I chatted with three industry pros on international beauty buys, and caught up with some of my favorite bloggers on their home fragrance faves.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Kitchen Adventures | Cereal Cookies

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

