Eyes / Lips / Mid End

Senna Holiday 2013 | Do You Dare?

full disclosure press sample disclaimer senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x401

Are you wondering when my “best of 2013″ master list will make an appearance? Confession: it doesn’t exist. Nor will I be composing thoughtful retrospectives on the roller-coaster ride of the past year. And I except you all know how I feel about resolutions by now (2009-2013: wash your brushes).

Truthfully, December and the  first days of 2014 have flown by—actually, the past year in general has been a blur (the very best kind, but a blur nonetheless). I promise I did try to sit down and put together a mental tally of products I loved in 2013, but gave up after it started resembling the inventory of a mid-sized boutique.

With the holidays now behind us and a brand new year ahead, I thought—in my typical late-to-the-party fashion—that now would be the perfect time to mention Senna‘s Do You Dare? Collection. It’s heavy on the reds, but as I will continue to insist in perpetuo, red is not so much a seasonal anomaly as it is a year-round necessity. There’s the classic Crimson Lipliner ($18) and their signature Lip Lacquer formula in the deliciously bright Maraschino ($20). Best of all, though, is the Venetian Red Lipstick ($20), a soft creamy color that should serve perfectly for red lipstick beginners. It’s slightly warm-toned, ultra-flattering, and (miraculously) unique to my collection. It doesn’t hurt that I happen to adore the smooth, non-drying Senna lipstick formula.

Moving onto eyes, there’s the Voluptulash Mascara ($22, not pictured), previously reviewed here. The application technique takes some getting used to, but it’s one of my favorite formulas for fat, fluffy lashes. I’m somewhat less enamored with the Silver Lining Eye Color ($18); the shade doesn’t suit me and the formula, while smooth, lacks pigmentation. Luckily, the Pinpoint Microtip Eyeliner ($20) is a much more successful showing. The itty-bitty tip has just the right amount of give to glide across the lids, while the fine point makes drawing flicky cat eyes so much easier (where was this thing in 2012 when I nearly gave up on winged liner forever?).

This is a small but well-edited holiday showing, greatly helped by the fact that many of the products easily transition into the warmer (depending on where you live) months ahead. Overall, Senna remains one of my go-to mid-end brands, sporting a palatable price range that sits below the luxury bracket. Final verdict? Get the lipstick getitgetitgetit.

And maybe a few of the other things too.

senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x543

senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x222

left to right: Senna Cream Lipstick in Venetian Red, one coat & sheered out.

senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x214

swatched left to right: Venetian Red Cream Lipstick, Maraschino Lip Lacquer, Crimson Lipliner, Silver Lining Eye Color, Black Pinpoint Microtip Eyeliner

senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x480

senna-holiday-collection-2013-review-620x525

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? What’s your favorite starter red? Can we all agree that washing brushes is the greatest obstacle to wearing makeup?

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were submitted by PR for editorial consideration. All opinions are my own. Additional information concerning my review policy can be found under the disclaimer page.

13 thoughts on “Senna Holiday 2013 | Do You Dare?

  1. Oh this was a fun post! That lipstick is gorgeous, too bad we don’t have this brand in my area (or maby it’s a good thing? lol). I agree, washing brushes is boring but a must! :)

    • Glad you enjoyed it :) hahaha maybe a good thing, they always do at least one or two things I love every season.

      & for brushes, washing is bad enough but then I have to wait FOREVER for them to dry.

  2. I’m lucky that my brushes dry very quickly, so I don’t mind washing them. I like this type of easy to wear reds. I actually used up one similar to this colour. I rarely use up any lip products!

  3. I wash my brushes regularly, but in my world that means…about once a month. Which I think is pretty great, considering! :P I find it such a pain too!

    The fact that you found a red that is unique to your collection is quite the feat, MM! Almost all the reds I own I receive as a gift or through PR, but I have at least four near duplicates of the 6 shades I own – ridiculous! And they’re all that ‘true red’ colour…what I need now is a great blue-based red, and then an orange-based one. I like that the Senna one does lean fairly warm – and you’re right, it looks terribly wearable too! I don’t have any of those kinds of red – for me it’s always GBOGH :D

    Also – HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! :)

    • Ummm yeah don’t even remember the last time I washed mine so I’d say you’re super on top of things. And I know! It’s a Christmas miracle. Good luck on your red search, have you tried Dior Trafalgar or Lancome Miss Coquelicot? They’re nice coral-y reds, the Lancome is the last red left on my list (for now…)

      Happy New Year my darling!

  4. The lipstick is gorgeous! I’m trying to put an embargo on any more lippies for the time being, though––my unreviewed pile is getting ridiculous. I have yet to defeat the winged liner look, however, and the liquid liner looks fantastic! I’ll have to keep that in mind :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

