High End / Lips / Makeup

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

full disclosure press sample disclaimer

On my Forbes.com blog: this very-cool-you-absolutely-need-to-try-it beauty service from Prescriptives that lets you mix your custom foundation online. Wild.

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

left to right: Dolce&Gabbana Classic Cream Lipsticks in Fire, Mandorla, Scarlett

There are certain, very specific things I want out of my luxury lipsticks.

I want them to be be beautiful, both on my lips and in the tube. I want them to have a nice heft in my hand. And above all, I want them to make that satisfying, soft click when I pop them shut.

Dolce&Gabbana must have read my mind at some point, because not only do their Classic Cream Lipsticks ($33) satisfy all of the above requirements, they are now the only lipsticks I’ve worn for two weeks straight. As a former Lipstick Bandit, this is a big freaking deal. I change my lip products as often as most people change…I don’t know, their clothes?

The brand just added 20 new colors this spring, bringing their total Cream Lipstick library up to 42 shades. The  colors are inspired by Sicilian roses, and they are incredibly gorgeous. Even the nudes, which I am normally not a huge fan of, are just lovely (no unnatural mannequin lips with this bunch). I was lucky enough to be sent a selection of six shades, and I can’t even pick a favorite. There are the three reds: Devil, Fire and Scarlett. Devil is the exact shade of red Monica Bellucci is wearing in the campaign, and well, it’s very Monica Bellucci. Fire leans warmer, while Scarlett is blue-based and super intense. The nudes are Petal and Mandorla (Petal, which is slightly more mauve, also appears in the ad campaign). I’ve tried both, and they’re really great on my coloring, definitely color-canceling but pinkish enough to look natural. As for Dahlia, you all know how I have a soft spot for purple lips. This one is dark and vampy, but has enough berry tones in it to keep it wearable.

The swatches below are indicative of the opacity; they’re moisturizing but pack a lot of pigment, although makeup goddess and D&G Creative Consultant Pat McGrath also suggests patting them on sheerly with a finger. While this is my usual route for everyday lip looks, I’ve been enjoying wearing these full-force so much that I haven’t tried it yet.

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

top row left to right: Devil, Fire, Scarlett

bottom row left to right: Dahlia, Petal, Mandorla

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

Of course, what’s on the outside also counts for this bunch. The packaging is classic Dolce&Gabbana, and that means some serious luxury. The bullets are all engraved with the brand logo and the gold cases are the kind of shiny that winks at bystanders when you pull them out of your makeup bag—no, I’m not even kidding here. Very serious about my lipstick. I also love the scent, it’s that nostalgic powdery lipstick smell, inspired by the wax-based lipsticks of the ’50s and ’60s.

Comment below if you want to see lip swatches, and I shall do my best to oblige. Annie of She’s In The Glow also has some cool product shots of the other shades. Those pinks, right? Too good. If you’re in the mood to treat yourself, I highly recommend giving these a look. They’re a luxury lipstick lover’s dream, and I don’t say that lightly.

I leave you with this quote from Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana, which just proves that they get it: “For us, lipstick is poetry and beauty. It can make every woman memorable.”

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

left to right: Dolce&Gabbana Classic Cream Lipsticks in Petal, Devil, Dahlia

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

Full disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided by PR for editorial consideration only. All opinions are my own. You can find more information on my review policy over at my disclaimer page.

15 thoughts on “These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

  1. Lip swatches please please please!! I am definitely curious about the nudes and how they look with your coloring. I am also eyeing Devil!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

