High End / Lips

Dolce & Gabbana Thursdays: Nude & Purple Lip Swatches

What I’ve been up to elsewhere on the Internet: 31 times Taylor Swift’s hair & makeup impressed on the red carpet (yup, that’s starting in 2006), everything you need to know about laser hair removal, blonde lessons from legendary colorist Marie Robinson, and an epic bronzer guide (from veteran MUAs Sonia Kashuk, Pati Dubroff and Stephen Dimmick, who are all extremely skilled at their craft and very cool people to boot). Give ‘em a read if you’re so inclined!

full disclosure press sample disclaimer

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

One of the things I’ve always loved about lipstick is how beautiful it is on its own. For instance: while I love what mascara does for my lashes, it’s not really a product I ever look at and think wow, that’s gorgeous. But lipstick is something I can admire for its standalone shade and finish, not just how it makes my face look. And when a luxury brand like Dolce & Gabbana gets their hands on one, it’s like magic, from the engraved bullet to the smooth coat of color it leaves on the lips.

As many of you requested to see how these looked on the lips, I have swatched three out of six for you today in both warm and cool lighting (not the same ones pictured above, because apparently I lack the memory skills required to swatch what I shoot).

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

left to right: Dahlia, Petal, Mandorla

If you’ve ever toyed with the idea of trying a purple lipstick, I’d recommend starting with Dahlia, which sits halfway between a berry and a plum purple. While the color is definitely intense, I applied it straight from the tube over some semi-shiny lipbalm here, and the effect is gorgeous. For a super intense application like the finish displayed on my hand swatch, use lipliner first.

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick Swatches via Makeup Morsels

Next are the nudes! I don’t usually get too excited over nude lipstick, because in all honesty it’s kind of boring and tends to make me look like a corpse. These, however, are well worth a look. Petal is a rosy, pink-leaning nude that can be worn to tone down the lips (for a more dramatic eye) or to complement softer everyday makeup. The finish is creamy with the slightest bit of gloss, so that it doesn’t look heavy—or overly shiny. Super pretty.

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick Swatches via Makeup Morsels

Finally, we have Mandorla, which I always though was a word reserved for the pages of Art History textbooks, but apparently I am wrong! This is a much paler, concealer-esque nude. Because the finish is the that same cream-meets-slight-gloss hybrid, I still find that it looks ultra-flattering on me. This is my new go-to pale nude, which trust me, is not easy to find.

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick Swatches via Makeup Morsels

And that’s a wrap! See my original review of the Classic Cream lipstick formula here, and stay tuned for Friday’s story: a rare unicorn of a travel post.

What’s your favorite lipstick?

Full Disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided by PR for editorial consideration. For more information on my review policy, please visit my disclaimer page.

14 thoughts on “Dolce & Gabbana Thursdays: Nude & Purple Lip Swatches

  1. I really haven’t tried anything from D&G, because the brand is unavailable here (or in Taiwan! What’s going on, people?)! I like all of these on you, but I’d probably pick out Petal for myself. Not really in the mood for red in this heat!

  2. I need Dahlia and Mandorla (for obvious art history reasons) and just because they are both so pretty, especially on you. Thanks for the swatches!!

  3. Dahlia, Petal and Mandorla are gorgeous but they are not necessarily colours that I’d go for. I prefer something pink or even a red (I’m getting daring with my choices lol). How big is the Classic Cream range?

  4. I was hunting for a good vampy shade like Dahlia in Sephora yesterday. Came up empty-handed so far…too bad we don’t carry D&G in our stores here!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

