High End / Lips

Dolce & Gabbana Lipstick Swatches Part II: The Reds

What I’ve been up to elsewhere on the Internet: researching how lack of sleep can affect your beauty routine & getting the scoop on the easy breezy Stevie from DreamDry.

full disclosure press sample disclaimer

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

*ignore the one in the middle* #skills

See my review of the Classic Cream formula here and swatches part 1 (nudes & purples) here.

I’m back with my final installment of your requested Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick swatches, this time in three shades of red. If you’re looking for something subtle, I don’t necessarily recommend these; they’re beautiful, but there’s no getting around that in-your-face pigment. Theoretically, you could sheer them out and mix them with a touch of lipbalm, but in that case I’d recommend you just go buy yourself a nice lipgloss. Classic reds like these are meant to be worn full-force.

I apply all of my Dolce & Gabbana lipsticks straight from the tube. The swatches below reflect a single coat of color on bare lips prepped with balm. I didn’t bother applying these with a lip brush (although you could certainly try that for greater precision), but cleaned up the edges with a tissue.

These Classic Cream Lipsticks from D&G are Swoon-Worthy

left to right: Classic Cream Lipsticks in Devil, Fire, Scarletti

Devil is the red Monica Bellucci wears in the ad campaign, and it’s also the most easily wearable of the three I have. It’s a cool, blue-based cherry red that goes on super-smooth (as do all the options in this line). The Classic Cream Lipsticks all have this beautiful, half-gloss half-cream finish that doesn’t look too heavy on the mouth. If you’re looking for your first true red and can wear cool tones, give this one a try.

Dolce & Gabbana Lipstick Swatches Part II: The Reds via Makeup Morsels

Next is Fire, which is a bright, warm orange-y red. This one reminds me of one of the Ellis Faas Hot Lips, but it’s a toned-down iteration (read: not neon) with a slightly more hydrating feel and finish. I admit poppy reds like this one are difficult for me to pull off, but it’s an excellent option if you often feel the need to warm up your lip looks. Lovely mix between red and orange.

Dolce & Gabbana Lipstick Swatches Part II: The Reds via Makeup Morsels

My favorite of the trio is the rich, intense Scarlett. Like Devil, this leans toward the cooler end of the spectrum, but comes off darker and bolder. It’s also got not-for-the-faint-of-heart written all over it, so big thumbs-up from me.

Dolce & Gabbana Lipstick Swatches Part II: The Reds via Makeup Morsels

If you’re searching for a high-end lipstick, you simply can’t go wrong with this line. Each shade I’ve tried boasts equally impressive wear time and texture, and even the colors I wouldn’t have selected for myself ended up being incredibly flattering. These are $33 each, and you have 42 can’t-go-wrong shades to choose from.

Ending this massive love letter with a bonus swatch: somehow, Dahlia has become my go-to for summer (no, it doesn’t make any sense to me either). Some of you expressed an interest in this one in my last round of reviews, so I thought I’d also show you what it looks like built up to full intensity:

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Dahlia via Makeup Morsels

 Purple lips. Why not?

Full disclosure: The products featured in this post were provided by PR for editorial consideration. All opinions are my own. You can find additional information on my review policy under my disclaimer.

14 thoughts on “Dolce & Gabbana Lipstick Swatches Part II: The Reds

  1. Oh my these look amazing! I’m not much into reds so my favorite here is Dahlia but the formula of all looks beautiful. By the way, your hair looks fab!!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

