High End / Skincare

How to Look Well-Rested

What I’ve been up to elsewhere on the Internet: documenting the beauty evolution of supermodel Karlie Kloss, figuring out the right way to air-dry hair and chatting with celebrity makeup artist Fiona Stiles on perfect brows and her new e-apothecary.

How to Look Well-Rested via Makeup Morsels

The answer is “be well-rested,” but sometimes that doesn’t exactly work out.

I swear, my skin has never looked so plump, glowy and hydrated as it did the week I wrote my facelift-in-a-bottle story. I also swear to you that I was flat-out exhausted that week. Anyone who knows me can confirm this.

But the point is, I discovered that as long as I didn’t open my mouth and start spouting gibberish or fall asleep on my laptop, I at least looked like I was bright-eyed and ready-to-roll. Now I don’t necessarily recommend this (do as I say, not as I do) because getting your beauty sleep is super important.

Still, in the event that you’re having a busy week, it never hurts to know a few quick tips to faking sleep. These all have to do with skin, because I’ve found that as long as your base doesn’t look dull and tired, you won’t either.

1. Either make time to mask, or find one that requires next-to-zero time.

If you have a few minutes to mask, just do it. There are all sorts of offerings on the market that will instantly brighten your skin, and I could write a whole other post on my favorites. For now, I’ll keep it simple: use a sheet mask if you have time to spare and a wipe-off mask if you don’t.

2. Do something about those dark circles (unless you, like me, don’t want to).

I’m way too lazy to cover up my panda eyes, but I recognize that most people prefer to erase their dark circles. My go-to (before I ran out) was the Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer, but I’ve heard the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer is an excellent pick—and has a much wider shade range.

3. Omorovicza Rose Lifting Serum is the ($185) answer.

“Not cheap” would be a massive understatement, but this is the one thing that breathes life back into my skin no matter what. It’s supposed to have a Botox-like effect, only it promises to relax the facial muscles instead of freeze them. I can’t tell you whether this diminishes fine lines and wrinkles as I have none, but I can tell you it will make your skin look, feel and smell so good you’ll probably forgive its exorbitant price tag. Think incredibly dewy results and complexion contentedness that radiates out of your pores like sunlight.

4. I still believe in face mists.

My logic goes something like this: if you’re spraying your face with water-in-a-can that costs significantly more than the water you drink, you’d better get it together and wake up. My favorite is still the no-frills thermal water from French pharmacy brand Avène, but there are plenty of other options with added skin-loving ingredients like Caudalie Beauty Elixir or Tatcha Luminous Dewy Skin Mist.

5. Smile.

This is so cheesy I’m probably going to get my writing license revoked for thinking it, but smiling and laughing will instantly make you look alive and feel better. Just don’t be that person grinning vacantly into the distance because you’ve zoned out and are actually sleeping with your eyes open. This worries people.

Got any skin-awakening tips for me? Share ‘em!

Full disclosure: Omorovicza Rose Lifting Serum is a press sample from another gig. All opinions are my own.

18 thoughts on “How to Look Well-Rested

  1. Yikes! Now that’s expensive stuff! But if it works, it works. Someday when Marky is making loads of money Ima gonna make her buy me it. Pay back for college tuition lol.
    I just posted about something with roses too-I think they perk up skin real niiiiice. :D:D
    And smiling is ok, as long as you aren’t constantly smiling. I knew this girl who smiled like every second I swear, and it was ANNOYING. And made you think she was up to something….

  2. I totally agree with the smiling thing. And laughing. Find fun in every day and you will look naturally beautiful! I also am addicted to face mists. I love Avene and Evian as well, because I can’t afford to drink Evian but I can spray it on my face…I also feel like the girl in the Lindsay Lohan Parent Trap that was Dennis Quaid’s snotty fiancee who had to spray herself with Evian hahaha…

  3. OOO I’ve tried some Omorovicza stuff, but not yet this one! Might have to give this a go when they have their black Friday/Cyber Monday deal!

  4. Ooo that Omorovicza sounds dreamy! I wonder if drinking it too would help? Geeze I need a magic potion these days. *fingers crossed* the few days off I’m getting will help. Sleep & smile should do it for me for now oh and a hyaluronic mask I got! :)

  5. What an informative post, loved reading it! I’m such a firm believer of face masks: they deliver wonders. I have been wanting to try the Omorovicza Hungary Mist for ages but that price tag has kept me from buying it. I can’t even look at the price of that serum, it sounds like a real miracle-worker though … *wanted!*

    X Alice

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

