High End / Manicures & Nail Art / My Favorite Things / Nails

A Nail Polish Worth its $25 Price Tag

What I’ve been up to elsewhere on the Internet: talking scents with Francis Kurkdjian, interviewing the Ruggieri siblings & Darren Criss on their latest cologne (which FYI I love) and investigating the merits of a $220 toothbrush.

full disclosure press sample disclaimer

A $25 Nail Polish I'd Actually Buy: Dolce & Gabbana Gaia via Makeup Morsels

After seeing an endless stream of posts about the unnervingly spiky but fittingly fabulous $50 Louboutin lacquer, I’m almost tempted to call Dolce & Gabbana‘s $25 polishes a bargain. Obviously I won’t, because that would be ridiculous. But I do have to hand it to them for consistently churning out colors that fail to bowl me over at first glance—and then I get them on my nails, and suddenly I want to buy every single shade from the line.

Their Summer Glow launch includes three shimmering choices: Gaia, Maia and Daphne. I received Gaia, and I will freely admit that I didn’t have high hopes. In the bottle, it looked all too dupe-able. And after falling head over heels for Smeraldo, I just didn’t think this green could compare. And here’s where I tell you I was wrong, and if the rest of D&G’s polishes are anything like Smeraldo and Gaia, I think I’ve found my go-to high-end nail line.

So what makes Gaia so special? First there’s the color. When it comes to light green shimmers, I’ve seen cool shades mixed with silvery shimmer or warm ones mixed with gold. This has neither; it leans warm, but it’s more from the addition of a creamy yellow base than visible gold sparkles. It might be a summer release, but it’s the embodiment of spring—think corn husks, pea soup or fresh-cut grass, depending on the lighting.

A $25 Nail Polish I'd Actually Buy: Dolce & Gabbana Gaia via Makeup Morsels

Gaia also has the same finish I loved so much in Smeraldo, the one I called “a fine, flat shimmer that darkens beautifully at the edges.” The particles are so tiny and linear that that make nails glow. I’ve always had a thing for green polishes, but even those who don’t have been complimenting my nails, a sure sign that this is wishlist-worthy. The 2-coater formula flows easily across the nail bed and has the perfect consistency between thick and thin. It also holds up well, and comes in D&G’s always luxurious packaging. What more could you ask for? (don’t say a sale, let’s keep it realistic here)

A $25 Nail Polish I'd Actually Buy: Dolce & Gabbana Gaia via Makeup Morsels

According to the release, the summer nail lacquers are limited edition, so grab yours now. If you’re curious about the other shades, The Beauty Look Book has excellent swatches of Daphne and Maia, which are just as covetable. But if you can only buy one? Go for the green. You’ll love it.

What are you wearing on your nails today?

Full disclosure: The product featured in this post was submitted by PR for editorial consideration. All opinions are my own. For my complete review policy, please refer my disclaimer.

17 thoughts on “A Nail Polish Worth its $25 Price Tag

  1. Now that’s a pretty shade, love the dimention, not old school shimmer kind of thing. That Louboutin didn’t really wowed me, I mean it’s a classic (dupable) red in a fancy bottle but I guess for collectors it’s a must have. :)

  2. My nails are bare today as I decide on a polish, but this is sooo gorgeous! I love how it practically glows…I am kinda tempted by the Loub polishes though

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

