Drugstore / Eyes / My Favorite Things

Urban Decay Quality at Drugstore Prices, Too Good to be True?

One of my life goals is to own all of the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils.  Of course, I should probably worry about graduating school and getting a job before I drop $400 for 23 eyeliners.

But for those of you who love the smooth, glide-on texture and staying power of these pencils, fear not!  There are some great drugstore alternatives out there for a fraction of the cost.  I’m sure there are many more than the two I’m reviewing in this post, and if you know of a good one, please leave it in the comments.

 

from left to right: (Top row: Carmindy for Sally Hansen Forever Stay Eye Pencils in Deep Jade, Blue Indigo, Pure Plum; Bottom: Prestige Waterproof Eye Pencils in Star, Granite).

These pencils go on the same as Urban Decay’s, with no tugging whatsoever.  They have good staying power (I don’t wear liner on my waterline, ever, so I don’t know how well they stay on there), and although the colors don’t get as cool as the 24/7 pencils, they still have a pretty decent selection.

As for which of the two brands I prefer, Prestige has a slight edge over Sally Hansen.  Why?

Price

Sally Hansen’s pencils go from $8-$9, depending on where you get them.  Prestige prices them around $5 each.

Selection

Sally Hansen’s colors are nice, but Prestige has a wider selection, and I prefer the shimmery finish (Sally Hansen’s pencils are not shimmery at all, which could be a good or bad thing depending on your preferences).

Quality

Both are very creamy, but Prestige’s pencils apply slightly better than Sally Hansen’s do.  It’s not really that much of a difference, but I think the finish of Prestige’s pencils are dead-on for Urban Decay.

Overall, either of these are great buys for someone who wants to get the most for their money.  Do I still dream of owning those UD pencils?  Yeah, I do.  But since I’d rather not live on the street with those 23 *so very gorgeous* eyeliners as my only friends, I think I’ll go for these instead.

13 thoughts on “Urban Decay Quality at Drugstore Prices, Too Good to be True?

  1. This is my favorite post by you so far!
    What sorts of stores stock these eyeliners? Common drugstores, or your average makeup shops?

    The picture is great too! so shiny and pretty! ❤

    • Common drugstores. I got mine at Rite Aid. I’m not sure if CVS carries Prestige or not, but I’m pretty sure Walgreens does. Ulta has them too, but it would probably be more convenient to get them at a drugstore. Thanks for all the comments 🙂

  2. Those Prestige liners look really pretty!! And, honestly, I don’t think 24/7 liners are as good as they’re made out to be… so don’t break the bank for them 😛

    • Thanks! I really like the 24/7 liners for their colors and textures, but there’s no way I could bring myself to pay that much money when I can just buy these. I’m probably going to head back to Rite Aid soon to pick up more colors 🙂

  3. Pingback: EOTD: Lavender and Gold «

  4. Pingback: December Highlights «

  5. Pingback: Road Trip « Makeup Morsels

  6. Pingback: EOTD: Toblerone « Makeup Morsels

  7. Dude. I love the silver! And the Sally Blue Indigo. I actually prefer the vibrancy of the Sephora brand liners to the UD ones. I think they have much better staying power too, although they are slightly less creamy. For me that helps, b/c then I can more easily achieve a very precise line. I so want to check out those Prestige ones tho. *dies*

    • If there’s one color I would reccomend you get, it would be Granite. I use it all the time in place of black now, it’s so gorgeous and goes with everything. I am in love with it, def check it out.

  8. Pingback: Back From Trip + Haul Confession « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

