EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Eyes

Customize Your Liner

In yesterdays 1 minute makeup post, I got a comment from the lovely Catherine saying she wished I liked the purple, because it’s so hard to find a good purple drugstore liner.  That got me thinking, has anyone else noticed that it’s a lot easier to find good drugstore shadows than it is to find good drugstore liners as far as color goes? 

Some people use shadow alone to line their eyes, but for me, it doesn’t go on vibrant enough when I do this.  Other people foil the shadow (basically just wet it), but I still think it’s easier to work with dry shadows.  If you have a favorite eyeshadow color, here’s an easy way to turn it into liner.

You will need:

A cream-based concealer.  Here, I used Max Factor’s Erace concealer.

And then, simply pick your eyeshadow of choice.  I used this really pretty teal (second from the left) from my CG Tropical Fusion quad

Now the steps:

1. Take an angled liner brush (you can use a push liner brush if you prefer, or whatever it is you use to apply eyeliner with), and pick up some of your concealer.

2. Apply to your upper lashline.  *Note: you can also use this on your lower lashline, but I wouldn’t recommend putting it on your waterline.

 

3. Now go over this line using the shadow you picked. 

…why is my eyeball always so red?

That’s it!  You’re done. 

To give you an idea of how much the concealer amps up the shadow:

Both are just one swipe with my liner brush.  Pretty nifty, huh?

I think this is a great way to expand your eyeliner collection, or create a liner with an eyeshadow color you really love, but can’t find in liner form.  Try it out, and tell me what you think!

5 thoughts on “Customize Your Liner

  1. Oh how cool! I so want to try this now but dammit I don’t have a cream concealer LOL. Maybe I could try using a thicker layer of my MAC Paintpot though? It’s kind of like a cream concealer. I’ll try it out and report back! Thanks so much for the idea! 😀

    • LOL well that should work, although it might be a little too creamy, and move around a bit. If you have a drugstore that carries Max Factor near you, the erace concealer has a really nice texture and coverage so it’s a nice dualpurpose thing to have (plus it’s cheap so woohoo!). I actually can’t use it because the shade I got is a little too pink for my skintone, but otherwise it would make a great concealer too. Let me know 🙂

  2. wow, so creative! ❤
    i love nifty little tricks like this, especially when they come so cheap! ^^ I will definitely give this one a try and get back to you on how it works!

  3. Pingback: January Highlights « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

