Drugstore / Lips / My Favorite Things

The Perfect Lippie

I’ve got an on-off headache right now, and when it’s on it feels like my head is going to explode, so I apologize in advance if something I say here makes absolutely no sense or I make some really stupid spelling errors.

I’m not that big a fan of tinted lipbalms.  They’re usually hardly pigmented, and not as moisturizing as a balm either.  But, if you read my stash post, you may have noticed a large chunk of my lip drawer is comprised of these lovely tinted balms:

I love these things so, so much.  They’re extremely moisturizing and pigmented at the same time.  I’d say the texture is somewhere between a lipbalm and a lipstain.  Kinda like a watery lipbalm?  I’m not sure how to describe it.  And, as a huge added plus, it’s got spf 15, which is why I tried these in the first place.

Here are some swatches (these are all the colors they have, I couldn’t resist):

left to right: Deep Berry, Rosy, Berry, Peach

left to right: Spice, Nude, Pink, Neutral Pink

Sadly, these are being discontinued (why must they always get rid of the good stuff?)  On the plus side, it means you can buy these supercheap, I got mine for $2 each.  My rationale for buying all the colors was that they used to be $10 each, so I’m actually saving quite a bit!  It’s getting harder and harder to find these though, so my guess is that they’re going to be completely gone soon.

A note about this, the top is rounded like a lipbalm would be, so it doesn’t have the shape of a lipstick.  This might make applying it a little harder for some people, but I personally don’t think it makes that big a difference.

Since this is a drugstore product, don’t expect it to smell lovely.  It’s got a synthetic berry-ish smell, but it’s not nearly as overwhelming or nauseating as a lot of other drugstore lippies out there.  If you have a sensitive nose, though, keep that in mind.

Today was a lazy day, so I kept the rest of my face clean, and just put some of this on my lips (in Rosy).  I think it looks really nice and natural, the finish is just ever so slightly glossy.   

My rating: a definite A+

9 thoughts on “The Perfect Lippie

  1. These look super nice! Unfortunately the SPF in it is probably chemical so I won’t be trying these out, but I’ll be sure to recommend them to my friends (who I’m always badgering about wearing SPF lol), especially since they’re on sale now!

  2. Aww I hope you’re feeling better, headaches are annoying :/

    Anyway, omg Revlon makes lipbalm?? I had nooo idea! I don’t think we have this where I live but it looks pretty good, I’m loving all the shades especially Deep Berry and Pink.

    Rosy looks gorgeous on you and since it’s being discontinued, it’s a great idea that you stocked up lol.

    Btw thank you so much for visiting my blog and writing a comment <33

    • thank you 🙂 I felt a lot better after a very long night of sleep. Yeahh they do, I think the only place you can find it now is Rite Aid though. LOVE Deep Berry, it’s such a gorgeous ‘stain-ish’ color. and thanks for visiting mine!

  3. Pingback: Nivea…I Had Such High Hopes « Makeup Morsels

  4. Pingback: Road Trip « Makeup Morsels

  5. Pingback: Lip Look: Berry Nice « Makeup Morsels

  6. Pingback: Plummy Rose Lips « Makeup Morsels

  7. Pingback: Back From Trip + Haul Confession « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

