Lip Looks

Lip Layering

Sorry I’ve been missing lately, finals started today and continue until next Wednesday, and I’ve been frantically gulping down caffeine and tearing out my hair.  And studying, of course.

I originally planned to do some lip swatches with this post, but it’s incredibly hard to take lip pictures with my curren camera, so I’ll just show you some swatches on the back of my hand. 

I’m always happy to accidentally chance upon glosses and lipsticks that happen to match each other in my stash.  Such was the case with Stila Lip Glaze in Blackberry, and Clinique Lipstick in Tenderheart.  The only problem was…I don’t really like either of them.  Don’t get me wrong, the colors are nice, but for some reason neither of them show up on me.  They’re both decently pigmented, and I know that my lips are raspberry-ish, not plummy brown, so why this happens is an unsolvable mystery to me.  But that’s not the point.  The point here is that I’m not about to let two perfectly good lip products go to waste, so I have decided to do a little layering experimentation.

First, here’s a picture of the Stila lip glaze.  I can’t say this picture is very accurate, in real life it’s more of a milk chocolate color than the dark chocolate color it looks like here, and it’s also got this hint of plum.

I tried it with a lot of the lipsticks in my stash, and here are my two favorites.

Here, I  layered it over Revlon’s Colorstay Lipstick in Pink Indulgence, which I find a little too bright/pink for everday wear.  But layered under Blackberry, it becomes a pretty plummy raspberry color. 

The other color combo I liked was Blackberry over Rimmel Lipstick in Dare.  Dare shows up as an almost-red hot pink on me, and the lipglaze gives it a little push so it can cross the border into true red territory. 

I think I might try some layering with my Tenderheart Lipstick next.  I hope you’re all having a great week.

Back to studying for me!

6 thoughts on “Lip Layering

  1. I love layering lipsticks…especially when I have a couple of lipsticks which aren’t really flattering on me! The only way to save them from getting thrown away in the bin is to layer over another lippie or lipgloss over lol!

  2. I really like your idea of layering lip colors. I especially like the last one, the combo is so pretty!

    and btw thanks for stopping by my blog! i’m searching now for your eyelash tonic review 🙂

    • It saves all the money of having to buy more colors 🙂 Thanks, I really didn’t like the color much before I layered it with Blackberry, it was too bright for me. No problem, your blog has such a lovely design layout. Thanks for stopping by mine!

  3. Such a creative idea! As someone who has never done this before, though, I would love to know how well the different lip colors stay on, and does one fade out before the other? ^^

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

