Lip Looks

Plummy Rose Lips

I hope everyone’s having a good weekend.  I started my day off with some studying, and then listened to Breakin’ Dishes by Rihanna.  Chipmunk Version 😀  Ooooh yeah.

I thought I’d share one of my favorite drugstore lip products with you today.  I’m guessing all of you have seen this by now, since they’re practically at every drugstore.  The Revlon Super Lustrous Lipglosses are generally popular as they’re often BOGOF, and have this cool texture that’s gel-like (not sticky) while still being moisturizing with decent lasting power.  I’m actually wearing one in my gravatar/sidebar image/header image (not the one I’m reviewing now, but I may review that one another day).  The colors are all sheer to moderate, but when I say sheer I don’t mean invisible.  No, I mean sheer as in looking much less pigmented than it appears in the tube, but still packing some decent pigment.  I’ve amassed quite a lot of these through those darned sales they keep shoving in my face (seriously who’s gonna resist?), and this is one of my favorites.

This is Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Pearl Plum.  Looks scary in the tube, but sheers out to a plummy rose color.  So lovely and easy to wear.  Here’s a swatch:

Sorry my skin is so dry and gross looking here, I didn’t put on lotion immediately after washing my hands because I figured I’d have to wash the swatch off later *shakes head reprovingly at self*  I know in this picture as well as in the tube, it looks like there’s lots of glitter in it, but as soon as it goes on the lips you can’t see the glitter unless you put your face practically against the mirror.  Click to see how this looks on the lips!

bare lips

gloss with flash

gloss, no flash

I know you’re probably all wondering which picture it looks like in real life.  Flash makes quite a difference, doesn’t it?  I’d describe the intensity of the color as exactly halfway between the two pictures.  You know those days when you’ve got bags under your eyes and as much as you may worship makeup, you don’t feel like doing anything crazy?  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I envy you.  Enjoy life while it’s like that).  On those days, I’ll do something simple and quick on the eyes, and draw more focus to the lips with this.  It just pulls the whole look together wonderfully (or if I don’t feel like gloss, I’ll use Revlon tinted lip balm in Berry, here and here).  Wow, gotta say as far as drugstore lip products go, Revlon’s the winner for me.

Quick facts: This gloss retails at all the major drugstores (CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens) as well as Target and Ulta.  Regular price is around $7 or $8 (it will vary by store), but you can usually count on Revlon having some sort of BOGOF, which makes it $3 to $4 = freaking steal!

9 thoughts on “Plummy Rose Lips

  1. Pingback: Best Bargain Buys: Lips « Makeup Morsels

  2. Pingback: Lip Gloss Magic « Makeup Morsels

  3. Pingback: Senna Double Dose, Double Your Fun? « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

