Food!

Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 4/26

Back with more randomness for Monday (It’s morsels time!)

Welcome to my Little Tokyo spree!  I went this weekend with my parents, and bought a cartload of food.  Let the pictures begin!

Of course, I wasn’t about to leave without some Pocky.  I firmly believe that the best (and most reasonably priced) “fancy” Pocky resides in Asia, but I grabbed one of these almond chocolate ones anyways.  They’re pretty good, but not the best I’ve had.  Then I got 2 packs of your standard Pocky.  I am currently enjoying the strawberry-flavored one ^.^

Next up is something I consider to be the best salty snack food ever: roasted seaweed!  It’s healthy as salty snacks go, and although a lot of people say it’s an acquired taste, I think it’s just plain delicious.

There’s this little mochi shop somewhere in Little Tokyo (the name escapes me right now) that I stop by every time I go there.  I picked up cream bread (bread with custard inside), the straight up white rice mochi I use as a warm, pillowy rice substitute, and my usual pink and green mochi (I get these every single time).  They’re like the white rice mochi, but a little…I don’t know how to describe it.  In Taiwanese I would say kyu-kyu, but I guess soft is the closest word I can find.  The only flavoring they have is a little bit of sugar, and they just look so darn cute, probably the most important reason on the list.

There was some other stuff I picked up too, but these were the definite highlights.  Hope everyone’s having a good Monday.  I, for one, have totally got the rest of my evening planned out.  It’s going to go something like this: study, snack on Pocky, study, pass out, study, drool at computer, study, fall into bed.

12 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 4/26

  1. Haha, yay for Pocky! Strawberry Pocky is the best (in my opinion); I used to hate strawberry flavors, but now I’m totally obsessed with it. (I think I made the change when I ate a chocolate-dipped strawberry, haha.)

    I really like seaweed too. I don’t know if it’s the same one, but the one I’ve tried (and lurved) is some thin, long, rectangular strip that’s either salty or spicy? I don’t know how to explain them but I loved those. Haven’t had them in a few years, though; back in my elementary school, you were the coolest kid around if you had a couple mini packs of seaweed in your bag (to share, of course…or flaunt. LOL).

    • Chocolate-dipped strawberries are possibly the yummiest things ever. aw man I’m totally craving them now! ohh yeah basically there’s 2 kinds of dried seaweed. There’s that kind that’s more salty/sweet (I think they use some sort of soy sauce w/ a little bit of spicy something in nit) and then there’s these that are just roasted with some salt. I prefer these, but I used to eat the other kind all the time when I was a kid. hahaha I used to bring those to school, and people asked why I was eating such weird-looking stuff. Oh well, their loss right? Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Dude. I remember going to that same mochi shop. The one I bought tasted like an eraser. But other than that, your haul looks super yummy! I love Pocky. I didn’t know that it could get any better than the kind they sell here. BRING MEE!!!

    • Buy the pink and green ones! They taste nothing like erasers! hahah ok I’ll try to remember when I go to Taiwan this summer, but you have to remind me. You know how my memory is…

  3. Mmm… Pocky *drools*
    I live right smack in the ‘burbs, with middle-class white Catholics for about a twenty mile radius around me, so needless to day there are very few places to buy Pocky. It is a rare and valuable commodity in these parts.
    *runs away into the city*

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

