Skincare

Attack of the Sunscreens!

Wow I can’t believe I forgot to mention this on Monday, but I found out that I got the internship I applied for in Taiwan!  I’m seriously so excited, I go back there every single summer, but usually for school.  Now I’ll be doing something new, so I’m super super happy about that 🙂

Ok, I lied.  There’s actually one more spf post after this one (which was supposed to be the last one.  ehem.  Well, spf is a very important part of my life, so shhh).

This is La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios Ultra Light Sunscreen Fluid for the face.  It boasts a nice spf of 45, which is around my ideal number for a facial sunscreen.  It’s marketed for normal to combination skin, although I think it would work very well for those of you with oily skin too.

Click to read on!

The packaging definitely caught my eye when I first got this.  It’s so cute!  (no?  just me?).  I especially love the dispenser, doesn’t it remind you of those saline solution caps?

The consistency of this is very runny, and a little goes a long way, so the 1.7 Fl Oz bottle should last for a while.  True to its word, this stuff absorbs super quickly.  I’m talking serious speed, so don’t let this sit on your face while you finish your makeup.  Apply it, and then rub in right away.  Once it’s settled into your skin, it gives your face a great matte finish, so helpful for those of us with shiny t-zones.  I love how light this feels, and it never irritates my skin either.  One downside of the mattifying effect is that there’s no way that this could be used as a moisturizer.  Definitely don’t purchase this if you have dry skin, but otherwise it should be perfect for summer (woohoo!  summer!  so close I can almost taste it and yet…)

The price ($27.90) may seem ridiculously steep for something from the drugstore, and I’d agree that it is.  However, this is a quality product, so if you ignore the drugstore tidbit, it may or may not make the price worth it.  I’m willing to swallow the price tag since it does mattify my face quite nicely without drying my skin out (I still have to put moisturizer underneath, of course).

My rating: A-

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were sent to me for review purposes.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “Attack of the Sunscreens!

  1. Oh I soo wanna try this now. 🙂 Great review! I have oily skin that gets crazy oily in the summer, so this would be a great staple for the summer months.

    • thanks! Yup, summer is not a happy time for my skin. But come to think of it, neither is winter lol. Do you guys have LRP in Canada? I’m pretty sure I saw it under store listings on their website.

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!

    And great review! I’ve been thinking about picking this up for SO but I think the new Neutrogena liquid one is the same sunscreen formula for about half the price (so you might want to check out that one when you run out of this).

    And remember – even if a little may go a long way, you need to use a FULL 1/4 TSP to get the rated protection!!! No skimping with your sunscreen! =P

    • THANK YOU!!! I’m so excited 😀 blegh I haven’t had the best experiences with Neutrogena sunscreens in the past, so I tend to steer clear of them. They usually sting my skin like crazy or feel super greasy and gross. hehe will keep that in mind!

  3. Pingback: May Highlights « Makeup Morsels

  4. Pingback: Chic Enjoyed Reading! 6.06.2010 | Chic Profile

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

