Hair / Product Reviews

Hold: The Hairspray to End All Hairsprays?

Sorry I’ve been MIA for a bit, I was nervously waiting for my grades to arrive.  Now that they have arrived, all I can say is that my nervousness was justified.  Fortunately, I can choose not to worry too much about that anymore because it’s summer!  And you know what’s really annoying in the summer?

Humidity.  That’s where Hold Flexible Hairspray comes in (like my little segue there, don’t you?)

Click to enlarge, image supplied by Living Proof

Hold hairspray claims that it is essentially a reinvention of traditional hairspray, using new technology called PolyfluoroEster.  It’s supposed to get rid of that sticky/hard feeling that you get from traditional hairsprays and hold your hair in a kind of flexible net instead.  So does it make all other hairpsrays obsolete?

Honestly, not at all.  Yes, it is a good hairspray.  I tried it with a number of hairstyles, and it kept all of them frizz-free and in place.  It held my curls, kept my ponytail intact, and smoothed my hair over when I had it down.  However, I can still definitely feel something in my hair.  It’s neither sticky nor hard, but it doesn’t feel like my natural hair either.  It’s like the description says, almost like a hairspray net that coats my hair and holds it together.  I guess I was expecting more of a nothing-at-all-in-my-hair feeling with this, though.

Another thing that didn’t really float my boat was the scent.  Yes, I know all hairsprays have strong scents, and that’s fine with me.  As long as I like the scent, I can deal with it.  At first, I thought the peachy-floral (to my nose at least) smell was nice, but a second later I detected this chemical-y undertone that made me gag a little bit.  That sort of broke the deal for me, as this hairspray costs $24 for 5.5 oz.  Is it cool that they created something that fights humidity while giving a more natural feeling to your hair?  Yeah, it is.  But for $24, I honestly expect a little more, and this hairspray did not completely blow me away, nor did it make my hair feel completely natural.

For those of you who like to spend your money on haircare items, this might be worth checking out (at Sephora).  Otherwise, I’d say it’s a no-go.

My rating: B-/C+

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were sent to me for review purposes.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Hold: The Hairspray to End All Hairsprays?

  1. Good review! Too bad I don’t use hairspray that much.. but I actually think that this one might work for me. Too bad I don’t want to pay that much… But with the grades thing.. we can finally let all that school stuff go now 🙂

  2. i barely use hairspray. i think i like to use mousse a lot more, just because it makes my hair define and less hard like hair spray.

    I’ve been MIA as well. I have so much catching up to do!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

