EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Eyes / Product Reviews

KATE Gel Eyeshadow, A Glitter Explosion

Ok I know I said I was going to review the KATE concealer first, but I tried this out yesterday and just had to show you the pictures.

Click to read on!

KATE GY-1 is a super glittery purple-gray-taupe gel eyeshadow.  This is an extremely sheer layer on my eyelids.

Blurry picture to show you the spectacular amount of glitter.

I was debating between this or the KATE gel eyeliner, but this was cheaper so into my shopping basket it went.  The texture is a little strange (but in the best way possible).  I’m used to cream shadows, but this is something else entirely.  It’s squishy/bouncy, and instead of swirling my finger around to get some product, I sort of press down gently.  The main complaint I’ve heard about this stuff is that it dries too quickly.  Yes, that is true to an extent.  I apply one sheered out layer to my eyelid, and it’s completely dry by the time I lift my finger.  It’s easily buildable, though.  The important thing is that you shouldn’t blend it if you’re adding more.  That will cause the shadow to peel off/flake.  Instead, gently pat another layer of color on top, and you’re good to go.  It also causes a faint cooling sensation when it touches my skin, which I find kinda cool.  Staying power was excellent, I applied this on top of TSFI, and it looked the same at the end of the day.

The only thing I’m not so crazy about?  This jar is only 3 grams.  That’s tiny.  Miniscule. But seeing as it only costs $6, I suppose I can get behind that.

I’m wearing it with Sonia Kashuk gel liner in Ebony and Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus.

Anyways, case in point: GLITTER LOVERS REJOICE!

Erm…if you don’t live in Asia, you’ll have to get this off the internet.  *Please don’t throw things at me*

My rating: A+

10 thoughts on “KATE Gel Eyeshadow, A Glitter Explosion

  1. Oh my god that looks amazing!!! Sooooo pretty!!! And I don’t even really like glitter LOL. Love how your lashes are looking with the Majo Majo mascara too! 😀

  2. Hmmm, this sounds a lot like that YSL Fard Lumiere Aquaresistant Water-Resistant Eye Shadow, but much cheaper! It looks very pretty and sounds awesome! If I ever go to Asia, I totally need to check these out. 🙂

    *Chucks a tomato but misses* 😉

  3. So, you found that cooling sensation… cool?
    LOL this is sosososo cool. I don’t usually like glitter ness but this is super hot. And the texture sounds so awesomee mang.

  4. ******this is me throwing something at you, because I REALLY like this! hehe Now I am going to have to hunt it down online! 🙂 hehe Thanks so much for sharing!!!

  5. Great review btw, I just discovered your blog while searching for some EOTDs and glad to know you have plenty of EOTDs to explore through! Great blog btw, bookmarking it!

    xoxo Ana (Beauty Princess)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

