Manicures & Nail Art

NOTD: Hot n Cold

Remember the mood polishes from last week’s haul?

Yes, I went to Claire’s.  And yes, it was completely worth it.

This is Bored/Excited.  When warm, it’s a lovely pink color with a hint of peach.  When cold (this is weirdly how it looks on me most of the time due to my sucky circulation), it turns into a hot coral.

The formula surprised me.  Despite the fact that they charge $5 for each of these (which btw, not cheap), I still expected the formula to be bad.  Well…it’s Claire’s.  I didn’t know what to expect.

I only had to use 2 coats, though.  The polish dried very quickly too, but it dried to this icky (IMO) semi-matte, rubbery finish.  Thank god for Seche Vite…

Ideally, you get a gradient effect when wearing these.  I only get the gradient effect right after I take a shower and I start to cool down.  Otherwise, my nails are too cold, and they just turn coral all over.  There is actually one other instance where I get a gradient, but I’m going to talk about that product another day.

I did, however, manage to procure some gradient pictures after dipping my hands in warm water, and letting them sit for a few minutes.  Click to see them!

Look!  It’s the dance of the disembodied thumb!  I lovee the gradient effect, it’s definitely noticeable.  It would probably look even better if I had long nails, but I don’t.  Actually, this is pretty long for me.

Oh, I might’ve forgotten to say this, but Claire’s always has a BOGO 50% off on polishes, so this was technically cheaper than $5.  Mine did start to chip by the second night, even with Seche, but that’s ok since I rarely keep a polish on any longer than a couple of days.

I can’t wait to try out the other colors 🙂

~Makeup Morsels

11 thoughts on “NOTD: Hot n Cold

  1. Oh, that’s really cool! Never seen anything like this before. But like you my hands are also always cold, so I’d only see the warm shade when I’m washing my hands 😛

  2. Pingback: Hokaty Hand Gel Brings the Heat! « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

